We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lauiula Beach Fales
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights with my family 6 adults and a child (aged 10). We had 3 fales and it was a great experience. The aqua ocean, snorkelling, fishing, canoeing, food and best of all our host Richard and his wife mafa. They made us feel welcome and took a genuine interest in us. They gave us some good tips in terms of sightseeing together with cultural demostrations and most of all gave my daughter Jaymee her favourite coconut buns in the morning for breakfast.

To sleep so close to the ocean and watch the sunrise and sundown were amazing. A great simple place to escape from everything. Toilets and bathrooms are very clean. If youre looking for a Samoan experience with excellent service then this place is for you. Lauiula is value for money.

This was our third time here and we will never stay anywhere else. If you are fortunate like us to watch their Fiafia night, I would highly recommend you attend..

We are already planning our next visit. Keep up the great work Richard and Mafa, Faafetai ma ia manuia! Luisa

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you decided to go to Samoa, every experienced traveller would recommend to go to the “Big Island” Savai´i. If you accept this there´s only one choice where to stay over there: this place!
The combination of place, services and people is unique. The fales and facilities are right at the beach front, authentic and clean. The kitchen is local and really good. The staff treated me like family and took care of me full of the typical kindness and warmth Samoa stays for. But at this place you have additionally the best chance to learn about Samoan culture like preparing an Umu (natural oven) or making of coconut products as well as listening to the myths of this proud people. I also really enjoyed joining these people celebrating their traditional dancing and fire dancing. Forget about those shows for tourists in the expensive places of Upolu!
I also enjoyed doing short trips to attractions like making of traditional Tapa (fabric from trees bark) or diving in a waterfall at the north shore.
I stood here for 6 weeks in March/April and further 6 weeks in July/Aug. 2013 and travelled all over Upolu and Savai´I and stood at many other accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volker_W45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Lauiula Beach Fales were awesome. We stayed there 3 nights. If you are looking for a 5 star resort and being pampered at a spa like facility, this might not be the place for you. If you want to have an amazing simple vacation with a great opportunity to learn about the Samoan Culture with a GREAT location, Lauiula is the place for you. Richard made our stay so good. We traveled with 4 adults and 2 small children (5 and 6). The kids were in the water before the sun came up. It was a highlight for them to have the ocean 10 ft away from their bed. The food was great, they fruit was refreshing and the dinners were plentiful. Hopefully when you go, you can catch a fia fia night. They put on a great show! Make sure you when you stay, ask about the waterfall. YOU NEED to take the trip to the waterfall.

Our fale was next to the neighboring fale resort. They looked like a big step down then what we were in. We are already talking about coming back. We love camping here at home and staying in those fales was like beach camping with amazing dinners. WE'LL SEE YOU AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: One side of the main building has only 2 fales. Try to get one of those!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in a beach side fale for 5 nights and had a great time. The fale was cool and comfortable (big mosquito nets) and right on the beach. We had breakfast and dinner available and could order lunch as needed. The food was good and the dining area was very social and friendly. We met lots of fun people and the staff were outstanding, always helpful and friendly. The umu preparation and dancing were great and very interesting. Well worth it. Overall an excellent place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaninePaekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here 1 night, and it was the best fale I stayed in. I had a place all to myself, its right on the beach and the owners are very friendly. I turned up just as they were serving lunch, so had lunch & dinner there. They even made breakfast at 6am for me as I had to get back for the ferry. In the evening they made a traditional meal and we had a show, was an amazing night. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilive4travel4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Three of us - couple and 14 year old son - enjoyed the warm hospitality at Lauiula Beach Fales for 4 nights late in July. The staff are terrific - a warm family feeling led by Richard. We had great food - just knock on the door and ask for lunch if you want sandwiches or fish &chips - its no trouble. The umu and cultural evening a great treat - entertainment as well as enriching; and we made the most of the opportunities to tour the island and see and learn more; as well as snorkeling in the safety of the lagoon and just relaxing with a drink and a good book in our private fale or joining new friends in the communal dining room. Nothing was a problem and Richard went out of his way to involve us in activities and make sure we had what we wanted. Look forward to going back and having enough time to fit in some fishing for Tyler.

Room Tip: The large enclosed fale - great for family - we enjoyed the outdoor veranda and our son the slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jvp321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had two fantastic nights at Lano at Lauiula Beach Fales. Lovely place to stay, great food and if you happen to be there on a night of the Umu feast it is incredible - great seeing the food prepared, then to eat it, and then the fantastic dancing at the end of the night. Great place to stay - thanks Richard and team

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayaker_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
6.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
0 mi away
Bayview Resort
Bayview Resort
#1 of 5 in Savai'i
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
30.5 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
10 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauiula Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauiula Beach Fales

Address: Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally built Samoan beach fales on a white sandy beach. Beautiful spot for snorkelling in crystal clear water and watching a stunning sunrise in the morning. Together with honestly open-hearted hospitality and locally produced fresh food, there is no doubt in indulging in a pure pleasure and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauiula Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing