We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant surprise”
Review of Bayview Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayview Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Savai'i B&B and Inns
Sorrento, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

we stumbled on the Bay view resort and stayed three night in a fale overlooking the bay.
Don't let the drab entrance put you off. Stay here and wander through the local village and meet the locals. Paddle in the bay and take in the great sun rises from your balcony.
Great restaurant that cant do enough for you, but the best part is the people. We couldn't of been looked after better by Becc and her family. the beach resorts are just up the road but this is what we were looking for when we went to Savaii

Room Tip: Get the fale overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We, my Mum and I, spent two nights at Bayview resort when we went to Savaii, Samoa for a wedding. The fale, we had one without an open outside part, was basic but functional and comfortable. We had aircon and a small ensuite. I booked online six months before our trip and we were charged only $200 tala per night (I see someone else paid $300 a night... maybe for a bigger room or more guests?) which I thought was reasonable as it included an extensive breakfast.

Bayview doesn't have a nice beach area, but you can swim and kayaks are free to use. The food was really good and we found the staff were very friendly. I would also recommend that you hire a car as it is a few minutes drive to any other resort or a good swimming beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We isolated ourselves from the outside world so we didnt access the internet etc.
The staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.
Just a tip, hire a car to drive here. The resort picked us up from the ferry but then we were isloated without transport. Because we were not on a tight schedule we caught the local bus back to town and hired a car there.
Not really a resort by western standards but still worth the stay. Very quiet with only one other cabin occupied while we were there,
This is not a chain resort and is family run so at least the money stays in Samoa.
We didnt sleep outside in the fale because it was a little windy but it was good to lie around on

Room Tip: ask for the lagoon facing room with fale attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I picked it because we love volcanoes and lava, we were not disappointed. They gave us a self contained air conditioned unit with a fale attached with our own private lagoon! Quiet, no barking dogs and the breakfast amazing, we loved the free range eggs, fresh fruit. and mango and pineapple puree! Did I mention the free use of Kyaks and snorkelling in the lagoon. So relaxing and the staff made me feel so welcome, flowers on the beds! Bathroom basic with no hot water but we didnt find this a problem as Samoa is hot! Like a village on the moon! Felt like we were part of the family, such friendly staff and so romantic! Great location and fantastic memories! The colourful flowers and shrubs were everywhere ! No t.v if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Near the lagoon is preferrable as you get the million dollar views try and get one with the fale att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Bayview Resort. It was incredibly welcoming and catered to our families changing needs. We couldn't understand why this isn't one of Savaii's 'hot spots'. The location is perfect with turtle swimming down the road, a lovely rocky beach with a pontoon at your doorstep, more tourist beaches 10 mins away, delicious food, free use of snorkelling and kayak gear, air-conditioning, your own fale extension and the list goes on! This is a perfect place to stay with the family, we had babies and this set up worked wonderfully for us. A portacot was provided which made life so much easier. Some things to note, the 'single room' can actually sleep three (a double and a single' and the double room can sleep four/five people (a double, 2 singles and a 1 single in the fale). We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Request waterfront with fale extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roimata31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We booked online via email for 300 tala a night, which in hindsight, wasn't a good idea: Every hotel we went to on Savaii that previously told me via email that they were booked, had rooms available when we asked in person once we were on island.

I was told in the email that the only room available was the air conditioned waterfront villa, so I booked, as it was the only hotel I could find with availability. When we arrived, they took us to the one that was farthest from the water and in poor repair. Sesilia told my husband that they had to give ours to the pastor (in Samoa, pastors are very highly respected). They offered to move us the following day. I was disappointed, but very tired, so just agreed to stay put. They don't tell you ahead of time that there is no hot water, and as my husband was taking his shower, the water just quit. No water at all. We also noted that the water from the tap was white. It had the appearance of skim milk, so we were careful not to get any in our mouths. There was a nice porch that was fale style with a bed and mosquito net, but the unit itself was in need of repair.

The bay where they are is not good for swimming. It reminded me of a very rocky lake. We went down the street to go to a beach: The first place (Janet's beach fales, I think) tried to charge us 50 tala just to use the beach. A little further down, we paid 10 tala each to use their beach.

There was a nice meal with good food and a fia fia (dancing sort of show) that night, and I have to say that the people on staff are very nice, and probably very good people. But again, the bait and switch thing really turned me off. We had booked for 2 nights, but left after 1 and went back to Upolu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed 4 days and we were pleased we had chosen Bayview. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel 'special' by Sesilia and Leo and their wonderful staff. A special evening was put on for my birthday that included a surprise cake and some lovely Samoan dancing. It will be a treasured memory for us both. The different Samoan food on the menu was very well presented with breakfast being a real treat. Our beach front villa with an ensuite and attached fale was roomy with all we needed and had a lovely view over the lagoon.Every day the sand area around the villas and beach was groomed and the flower gardens tended by the lovely lady helpers ( who also make wonderful lei's). The beach area may not be large but the snorkelling around the rocks can be very enjoyable. If you want somewhere that is super friendly, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced ,this would be it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifestyle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
0.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Resort

Property: Bayview Resort
Address: Sale'aula Lava Field | Sale'aula, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Saleaula Lava Fields fronting on to the ocean is this safe and peaceful haven. Built for your comfort and privacy, Bayview Resort offers beauty that is natural and untouched. The dramatic Lava surrounding and the islet opposite the resort is pure nature, with fresh water springs bubbling up in the midst of the lava rocks, and creates a fresh water pool to soothe you when you feel hot. A place to unwind and recuperate before you explore its historic surroundings. Comfortable, panoramic scenery, affordable and worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing