We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome setting but probably one to miss.”
Review of Bayview Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayview Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Savai'i B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2013

beautiful lagoon for kayaking and set on cool lava fields.
water and internet functional and unreliable.
usually loud local guests staying - not a "relaxing" sleep/stay but fine if that doesn't bother you
website misleading - there is no pool.

all in all, fine for an adventurous person who can spare the money.

other places (eg satuiatua) are easily as lovely but nicer atmosphere.

Room Tip: best rooms are closest to lagoon, furthest from bar
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Talofa Lava B O of Wellington

Thank you for grading our place with "awesome setting" - "beautiful lagoon for kayaking" - "location 5" , "Rooms 4" , "Cleanliness 4" , "Service nearly there with 3".. Its always great to hear that we've got something that pleased you and worth stopping by for.

I would like to apologise for the water supply which i will follow up on why theres a shortage when we have 4 x 6000 ltr watertanks at the resort with a water pump on standby when the main water supply is off every 8 hours due to rationing. For our internet service we've put in Lava Spot WiFi connection instead as most guests bring their own labtops, but since the cyclone, service to our area has been off and on.

As for our local guests, please understand that we rely heavily on them to sustain our businessess when we have no bookings from overseas tourists. They are usually very nice people but unfortunately our staff must've failed to warn them to keep the noise down as we have overseas guests staying the night. Our website is not misleading about our "fresh water pool" its not the usual "european swimming pool". If you'd stayed longer, you would've enjoyed this pool as most of our guests have cooled off in it on very hot days and it also comes and goes with the tide.

I'm not sure whether you were walk-in guests that stayed for one night, because a fan-cool standard bungalow is WST150.00 for 2 which is NZD75.00 and we offer the best complimentary breakfast on the island.. The best way to ensure value for money is to book online and do not hesitate to enquire for a discount. We usually give discounts and specials depending on how long your stay is.

We thank you so much for your reviews, as it makes us see where we're failing with our services and work on them to ensure that our guests go away happy and satisfied.

All the best for your future travels.

Sesilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We took 6 graducates from Corinda State High School, Brisbane; n 5 parents to Savaii n stayed here for 2 nights; we absolutely loved it! Homely, friendly and the food was superb all local organic products! Thank u so much Sesilia for your hospitality and looking after us...definitely recommend your place to any visitor especially groups and have plans to visit you again with my big family sometimes in 2013.

Bancroft family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We visited in May 2011 - yes, I know a little late! Came for mum's 80th birthday, family of x7. Amazing time, had both the indoor and open fale experience. We were quite lucky as we were the only family there. Lovely staff and very quiet! Did the day trips around the island - looooooooved it big time! Especially mum, as she had not been back for 40+ years. Quite an emotional trip. Thank you Bayview Resort for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the water we stayed at as we were a large family of x7. x3 indoors and x4 of us sle...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teinesukalaki621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Talofa Teinesukalaki621 :)

Better late then never lol! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bayview. We try to setup our place to cater for both cultures and it is always our elders that want to come back home to a fale, as it brings back memories of the good old days, when there was no electricity and no falepalagi. Your visit must have been so enjoyable for you to share your experience to travellers. Thank you.

All the Best!

Sesilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a great 3 night stay here last week in one of the rooms which in addition to offering 1 double plus 2 single beds a l s o have an entire open Fale attached - which sleeps up to 2 persons. As there was 2 of us we could choose if we wanted to sleep inside our room or out in the Fale. Guess what we've done? Right, the Fale it was! And it was a great experience, our 1st Fale nights ever. Loved it!

Breakfast was as good as the accommodation, especially the 'Samoan Flavour of the day', 3 of which have been rotated between the days so everyone who'd stay for a min. of 3 nights could sample all of them. I loved the Vaisalo and the Supo Esy!

We even could pick our dinners which were included in the rate from the á-la-carte menu, Oka was ok, chef needs to learn that Tuna steak is usually not being served 'well done', but besides that the food was amazing.

Overall rateing 4.5 outta 5 I'd say....

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the attached Fales - especially if you've never slept in a Fale before!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolut_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Talofa absolut_thomas :)

I'm so glad that you tried the "Fale" area and enjoyed it. Theres a slogan for Savaii that says "You haven't been to Samoa if you havent visited Savaii Island" but I would change that to "You haven't been to Samoa if you hadn't experienced sleeping in a Fale" lol.!!. The other pride of Bayview is our food, which i sincerely apologise for. Thank you for your kind words and your advise for the betterment of our service.

Best Regards

Sesilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Bayview Resort. Fale 5 faces straight onto the water and the rooms are modest with both a double and a single bed as well as a fantastic covered balcony area which has a picnic table and outside bedding area. The food is reasonable and although on the lagoon not the beach the beach is only 5 mins down the road which is bikeable and 5/10 tala by taxi.Nothing was a hassle and staff were more than happy to help. I would highly recommend staying here as found the hosts to go the extra mile, very fast communication when making the booking and everything appears to work well. We caught the bus up from the ferry and that was no hassle at all. If you have a car I would recommend it is definitely worth staying here, using the lagoon and make the short trip to the beach. We stayed at three different places in Samoa and Bayview was by far the best. Enjoy your stay, I would definitely make a return visit :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANZAC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Talofa ANZAC79

It is always great to read feedback from our guests. It not only gives us directions, but also helps us upkeep and improve our service. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and its great to know that you're happy to stay at Bayview again in your future travels. Thank you for sharing your experience.

All the Best!

Sesilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This was a very pleasant place to stay, peaceful and quiet. Really enjoyed the large, cool Fale attached to the cabin, with day-beds with mosquito nets, looking out over the lava-gardens. The best breakfasts, including different delicious traditional dishes, and tasty menu for lunch and dinner. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff, happy to get you whatever you need. The swimming there wasn't very good, but its a short distance to good beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Talofa Elzie_12

Thank you for sharing your experience at Bayview. We built our bungalows so our guests can experience the open fale and still have the choice of the enclosed quarters for privacy, which i'm so glad that you enjoyed. I'm also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well as the service provided by our staff. Thank you once again for your feedback.

All the best!

Sesilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We returned to Bayview for a second visit and will be back again for another next time we visit Samoa. The indoor/outdoor fale were wonderful and we spent almost all our time in the outdoor half. It was lovely to sleep outside under the excellent protection of the mosquito nets! The staff were genuinely marvellous and it was great to catch up again with what is becoming a home away from home. We made the most of our time with some kayacking in the lagoon as well as a truly magical snorkelling trip with Dive Savaii. The geologist was especially happy in all the lava! The restaurant and food were also first rate.

Room Tip: Go for the attached fale option!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbrd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
0.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
0.0 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Resort

Address: Sale'aula Lava Field | Sale'aula, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Savai'i
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Saleaula Lava Fields fronting on to the ocean is this safe and peaceful haven. Built for your comfort and privacy, Bayview Resort offers beauty that is natural and untouched. The dramatic Lava surrounding and the islet opposite the resort is pure nature, with fresh water springs bubbling up in the midst of the lava rocks, and creates a fresh water pool to soothe you when you feel hot. A place to unwind and recuperate before you explore its historic surroundings. Comfortable, panoramic scenery, affordable and worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing