We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blow it did!”
Review of Afu Aau Waterfall

Afu Aau Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.88*
and up
Half-Day South Coast Savaii Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Blow it did!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We took a Full Day drive tour and this was one of the stops along the way. The scenery to get to the Blow Holes was fun to see along the way. Local villagers were collecting sea creatures along the reef as we went by. We threw coconuts into the blowholes as watched them be spit back out. That was neat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond & Valer... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    63
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Oasis found!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Visited with our 2 year old as part of a tour around Savai'i and it was probably our favourite spot.

Here you will find a very peaceful, relaxing and beautiful setting. One large powerful waterfall dropping into a large, wide and deep swimming hole then continuing on into tumbling rapids downstream. The water is fresh, clean and very crisp, making it greatly refreshing. The whole area is shaded by towering vegetation that surrounds the falls making it a great spot to take some time out from the sun.

The falls are easily accessed by car and the entry fee is a mere 5WST per person (infants/young toddlers free).

We were fortunately to have the falls to ourselves for most of our visit, making it extra special.

Our two year old had a ball and so did we. Definitely make a stop here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank koizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous falls”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful waterfall close to parking area. Easy swim to the fall. Great place to cool off and take some stunning photos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodyBAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gippsland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our new happy place”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You that place you go to when you need to realx. Your happy place. Well this is our happy place. The big water fall was going, which probably helped the look of the area. The water is crystal clear and very cool. Ok, there is a bit of mud on the track, but this is a river in a rain forest area. Highly recommend visiting this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing break”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Water was pleasantly cool after halving cycled for 3 hours but warm enough to remaking in the water for an extended period without getting cold. Water extremely clear. Water fall stunning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick and Caroly... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afu Aau Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Afu Aau Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing