We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely secluded location outstanding staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lagoto Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely secluded location outstanding staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were outstanding and often completed tasks above and beyond call of duty. Fale were simple but location location location next to the water and a beautiful view to wake up to. Reliable air con and good bathroom. If you like simple, comfortable and private then this is your spot. Wouldn't recommend spa treatments, massage great but nails, make up and facials should done somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    104
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
125
171
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are thinking of having a wedding in Samoa that will exceed your expectations and those of your guests, then choose Le Lagoto. We recently got married there (26 March 2013) and it was everything we wanted and so much more…the only downside being we are now forever indebted to Gabriella (Le Lagoto’s Wedding Planner Extraordinaire) and her team for making our dream wedding into a reality. We don’t usually care for clichés, but we were very happy that this one applied, especially because it was all achieved from Australia.

The relationship started when we sent out a bulk email to every hotel and resort in Samoa on the Saturday, 25 February 2012, which included 15 detailed questions which we thought could inform our decision going forward. The first place to respond (on Monday, 27 February 2012) was Le Lagoto, which not only addressed the questions, but immediately provided a variety of deals that we could choose from, including a tailored accommodation special for us and our guests, should we want to stay at the resort. Other hotels and resorts subsequently responded, but responses were short and uninformative, and the delayed response was also not encouraging, as we were organising the entire wedding from Australia.

Le Lagoto’s quick, proactive and informed responses were something we came to rely upon, and we were never let down. Gabriella answered our many, many questions quickly, which made it easy for us to identify the tasks we needed to do at our end. Le Lagoto were extremely flexible when it came to integrating the things we wanted into the normal things they provided including:

• letting us perform the traditional Samoan sua ceremony
• decorating the venue with decorations we had brought (which included table decorations, settings, fairy lights and lanterns)
• helping us get a sound system for our DJ from Australia, and
• helping us arrange a sound system and mic for processional and recessional songs played and sung by family and friends
• allowed us to organize our own celebrant, as we wanted to be married by the groom's uncle
• accommodated special food and alcohol requests, which allowed the bride's family (who are Polish) to fulfill their cultural traditions
• the fantastic beautician who works at the resort's spa came to my (the bride's) villa to do my pedicure when I was too tired and short on time to have it done in the spa

which are just a few examples.

On the wedding day, absolutely everything organized by Le Lagoto came off perfectly. Our 124 guests were looked after in every aspect, the ocean-side ceremony - complete with my (the bride's) arrival via beautifully decorated canoe was truly magical, the staff were phenomenally helpful yet inconspicuous, our guests couldn’t say enough about the delicious food and plentiful alcohol served at the reception and the whole experience was truly unforgettable. The only component not organized by Le Lagoto – the flowers that we got from the main island - were the only thing that wrong and even in that Gabriella and her team saved the day by quickly rearranging the mess we had been given by our florist and also getting beautiful flower necklaces (ulas) made just hours before the ceremony.

Flexibility, responsiveness, calmness on the day, and an ability to think laterally were all much appreciated characteristics that were demonstrated by Gabriella, and her staff were always smiling, accommodating and provided excellent service throughout.

There were so many endearing features about having our wedding at Le Lagoto, but one of the strongest was feeling like we were family at the end of it.

A couple of very happy & thankful newlyweds,

Karolina & Kilifoti

P.S. have a massage at the resort's spa - they're amazing!!! I woke up from mine drooling....:)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were on our honeymoon and really should have stayed on Savaii first and finished up on the mainland as we did it around the wrong way. WE went from 5 star at Seabreeze Resort to this. Yes it's not a fancy resort, it's not overly tidy and REALLY needs a spruce up and thorough clean. I'm all about a nice bathroom, but these ones just need a bit of scrubbing and a refresh to make them a little bit more special.

In saying that, we still had a lovely time and it was a great place to relax and the dive shop is right across the road so was PERFECT for the dive trips we did. WHen something goes wrong (like you need a battery for the remote of the air con), you must remember you are in Samoa... it is island time. Just chill and go with the flow. People also need to remember there will be geckos and bugs around, Savaii is super basic and remote - you are in the islands!!

Overall, we wouldn't recommend this resort for a honeymoon - it was noisey with lots of families. But, our beachfront bure was a great position to watch the sunsets from. The food was basic but done well. Nothing fancy, but it wasn't overpriced at all. We went to the pizza place across the road a lot for their delicious pizzas!

Room Tip: I like the beachfront rooms, but ask for one not near the pool or restaurant so people aren't al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful beach
Great swimming and snorkelling
Pretty nice fales - clean, comfortable and reliable AC Unit
Well priced restaurant and bar
Amazing pizza across the road
Easy to hire a car at reception and they will sort drivers license for you ($20 tala)
Good pool area for kids or those not into beach swimming
Good location - close to glass bottom boat (next door), drive trips (across the road) and swimming with the turtles (2min drive away)

Aimed at families with not a lot of focus for couples - we were woken up every day at 7am by the large family groups on either side of our fale - they really should have been put next to each other, rather than sandwiching a couple on their honeymoon.
Request a fale far away from the restaurant if you want peace and quiet - probably quieter in the rooms that AREN'T beachfront (as people use the beachfront to walk to the restaurant).

We booked a tour 3 days in advance (that is provided by resort staff) we got up early, had breakfast in our room, went to reception to meet our guide, where we were told our tour was cancelled because they decided to take a family group instead.... so if you are a couple, you may get bumped for a family if you book a tour at Le Lagoto.

There are multiple signs in the room advising you to use the safe and that the resort will take no responsibility for stolen passports/jewellery - we were advised a safe key would be dropped to our room (as it was missing from the room when we checked in) - we chased this up 4 times but the key didn't turn up (despite each time being told it was on it's way). Not a big deal but not ideal - we carried our passports and jewellery with us on day trips because of this. Not sure why they didnt offer use of the office safe instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the restaurant if you want to avoid families trekking past your room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Le Lagoto eh? talk about laid back!!!it was all we could do to go for a swim. meals were great. The staff was courteous and cooperative. the resort is comfortable and welcoming. we had been to Le Lagoto before and the second welcome was even warmer than the first. the Samoan people are unfailingly friendly and happy. we will return to Samoa and Le Lagoto - the spirt of the country is intoxicating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were very happy with the lovely fale (the furthest one along the beach front from the pool/restaurant. Clean, cool, quiet with a great view from our 'deck'. The staff were all very charming and tried to resolve a couple of problems..with only the lack of lighting by the front door being beyond them.
There did seem to be a lot of people suffering from 'tummy' trouble including my husband and also myself to a minor extent.
I was pleasantly surprised by the amount and variety of coral though we needed to get out with the dive boat to reach some of it.
The day trip around the island was good value though I would suggest that if you have hearing problems and long legs you get in early and get seats at the front of the van. Our lovely guide tried hard to project her voice back to us but she struggled against the road noise and aircon.
For us this was the most expensive place we had ever stayed at but decided to try it out and realised that it probably would be only a 'oncer' partly because we like more activity and would prefer to spend our money on that.

Room Tip: Our room on the beach front at the far western end was very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillNorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

All looked ok on arrival but this hotel needs a lot of maintenance. First attempt to use the shower saw the whole unit falling off the wall, then the sink stopper got stuck and we could not empty the sink. It took a day and a half of asking to get it fixed, in the end the cleaners unjammed it but it was no longer useable. There were 6 of of us in three fales, 4 of us got a tummy bug so for the next couple of days we did not move far from the toilet. Then just to finish off on the journey back to the wharf the driver nearly fell asleep twice, overall a terrible not to be recommended

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagoto Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagoto Resort & Spa

Property: Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Address: Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Lagoto Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa is located on the big island of Savai'i, Samoa, on a secluded white sand beach, fringed by coconut palms and crystal clear water. We are a boutique resort with 10 Samoan-style bungalows and two family rooms -- each offering the modern conveniences of a large resort in an intimate, idyllic setting. It is with good reason, and much pride, that we take the name Le Lagoto -- Samoan for 'sunsets' -- as ours are truly sensational! As we say here, 'you haven't been to Samoa unless you are in Savai'i'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Lagoto Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagoto Beach Hotel Savai`i
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing