We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We stayed at Le Lagoto for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We were in a beachfront fale which was not cheap (we paid almost 3 times what we were paying at Virgin Cove) however the accommodation is definately a lot more luxurious than traditional Samoan fale. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. We didn't get a hammock for our room which was a bit disappointing - the hotel staff said something about it being broken when I asked. We were in fale #2 which was right next to the pool. I would not recommend this for couples without children as it was quite noisy listening to other people's screaming kids. We did ask to change fales however they were fully booked. I think it would make more sense for the people with the kids to stay here near the pool. Restaurant was more expensive than most places we ate and the food wasn't overly impressive however it was nice enough and they had plenty of vegetarian options. Cocktails were definately a highlight and they do a happy hour from 4-6 every day!! Overall the service was quite good. We had a couple of instances where they brought our meals out at different times or forgot to bring part of the order. If you are interested in diving or snorkelling this is a great spot as Dive Savaii are just across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coops83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2008

We saved 3 nights at Le Lagoto for the end of our trip after staying at a variety of types of accomodation (see my reviews for Aggie Greys Hotel, Virgin Cove, Tanu Beach). We had planned on staying 5 nights at the Stevensons Beach villas, but since they were booked stayed 2 nights at Tanu Beach and 3 nights here instead as a compromise. I am glad we did.

Although this was the most expensive of our accomodation (we had beachfront option and it was around 610 tala per night) we had a lovely time. The resort is not too big so that it is impersonal (like Aggies Resort - aargh!), nicely laid out on a nice beach, gorgeous rooms, lovely bed and linen, airconditioning, hot water (although we did have hot/cold/hot/cold problems on our first day). And the staff were lovely.

The pool although smallish was nice, and right next to the bar. The prices of cocktails here were great - around 15 tala - as opposed to 30-40 tala at Aggies Resort!! The food and other drinks were very reasonably priced too and we had some lovely meals. Tropical breakfast was included in the price and that was more than enough for us. Cats weren't so pesky here either...

There were loads of books to borrow, and options for snorkelling and diving available. I also got a massage, although it was ok, I don't think I would do it again.

We did the buffet and fia fia option here too, but preferred the Aggies one. There was no fire dancing and it was slightly smaller and more personal here.

You could probably walk from here to the turtles, and to the women's collective (handcraft stall). We did a tour with Le Lagoto around the island (didn't take us to the canopy walkway though - said something about it being closed???) which was long, but enabled us to see the island. I think in hindsight I would have preferred just to hire a car for the day and do the tour ourselves.

I guess the only downsides (apart from having to leave) was that the decks weren't quite large enough to string up the hammock provided! :-)

If you can't afford to stay here, at least pop in and spend some time at the bar and soak up the ambience! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountMJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Aloha from Hawai'i- Le Lagoto left a yearning in our hearts as we departed this Magical place. Although our stay here was for 6 days, we wished we could make Le Lagoto our home...The owners, the staff/workers are BEAUTIFUL! Seti, Fandy, Fa'afoi, Matalena and the entire staff of Le Lagoto is hands down the best "Hotel Staff in the WORLD". We were treated like Kings and Queens our entire stay there. Our Gramma is in a wheelchair & they made special accomodations for her by attaching a ramp to the entrance of her bungalow, and catered to her every need! We have traveled extensively, and have never experienced the 1st Class Service of any kind, anywhere like we have at Le Lagoto! Le Lagoto accomodated us every which way possible! Every time I think of Le Lagoto, my mind takes me off into a magical world...This trip had been 1 yr in the planning. Our Grandmother had not been home to Savai'i for over 60 years. There was 15 of us that traveled in our party! From hot water showers, fresh towels and clean linen, heavenly beds/pillows...and Quiet Air conditioning which was a GODSEND! The tropical fruit platters w/toast and "milo" coffee and tea were delicious, we mostly enjoyed the "ham and eggs"! There is not enough time in the world for me to express the magical time we all had at HEAVEN ON EARTH "LE LAGOTO"...Le Lagoto we miss you and we love you, and will hold you all close to our hearts forever!

All our Love-
The Kerisiano Savea Family

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Savaiikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on Savaii. The resort has been recently upgraded and beachfront fales are fantastic. Large and spacious with comfy bed and great aircon (which is needed). Owners are very friendly and staff are wonderfull. Location is right on a small calm cove with snorkelling just metres from your front door. Bar is great spot to watch beautifull sunsets and the restaurant food is excellent (which is hard to find in Samoa) - go for the Lobster it is superb. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Savaii if you do not want to stay in the open fales.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank szjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We spent 3 nights at this resort in May 2007. Out of a 12 day trip all around Samoa this was the best accommodation we had. There were 4 of us and we stayed in the downstairs apartment in the beach house. It was fully self contained with 2 bedrooms. Our tropical b/f was included inthe price. This place really has its act together. They have an Australian (Jane) working there who is really on to it - and it also means no communication barrier (she speaks the local language as well). When booking all our emails were replied to quickly and efficiently. The great service continued right through our stay. They obviously invest in staff training as the waitresses in their restaurant never got it wrong. They also have 3 chefs who make the most delicious food. Their restaurant would be comparable to a 4 star in NZ and their prices are about half what we would pay. The resort is set in a bay sheltered by a reef so swimming and snorkelling is right at the doorstep. They are putting in a swimming pool which should be finished around August/Sept? after which it will make it a perfect setting - and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of getting married in Samoa. While in Samoa we also visited SinaLei and Aggies Resort - which are both nice - but Le Lagoto has the smaller personal touch and their accommodation is of the same standard but cheaper. This resort is owned by a local Samoan family who have invested heavily and it shows. Will post some photos when I can. Right next door is Dive Savaii (?) the local snorkelling and diving people who do a daily trip out for snorkelling and dive trips as well. This is run by Flavia and Fabian who are a great couple who have excellent equipment and qualifications. We enjoyed a fab day out in their boat at the best snorkelling spots. The beachfront villas at Le Lagoto are very luxurious, with Panasonic whisper quite aircon, good quality linen and modern clean decor. Even a large hammock on your private patio facing the ocean. We went on to stay at Stevensons at Manase, but were so disappointed that we returned to Le Lagoto for our final 3 days. Cannot recommend them highly enough.

17  Thank leggesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bungalow plage, évidemment !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EKAMAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeLagoto, Reservations Manager at Le Lagoto Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Bungalows in der zweiten Reihe reichen aus, da sie ebenfalls Meerblick haben und es nur ein paar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMorisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeLagoto, Reservations Manager at Le Lagoto Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The St Therese Samoa Retreat & Accomodation
0.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagoto Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagoto Resort & Spa

Address: Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £123 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Lagoto Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa is located on the big island of Savai'i, Samoa, on a secluded white sand beach, fringed by coconut palms and crystal clear water. We are a boutique resort with 10 Samoan-style bungalows and two family rooms -- each offering the modern conveniences of a large resort in an intimate, idyllic setting. It is with good reason, and much pride, that we take the name Le Lagoto -- Samoan for 'sunsets' -- as ours are truly sensational! As we say here, 'you haven't been to Samoa unless you are in Savai'i'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Lagoto Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagoto Beach Hotel Savai`i
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing