We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night not enough”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“one night not enough”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

WE stayed here briefly while visiting Savai'i but sadly for not long enough to appreciate the place.
I was initially surprised that we were not actually on the beach front. Nor do you get a view of the beach from your room. The pool looked clean and inviting but sadly we did not get to use it due to lack of time.

Meals were lovely, especially the fresh fruit for breakfast.

Rooms were clean and ample room with tea coffee making facilities and fridge. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    45
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
85
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a good place to stay. The rooms are large, well air conditioned. The open air shower, just outside the room, with the lava rocks is the best I saw ever! Fantastic. The pool is nice and warm, and sipping from from your decently priced cocktail is a luxury you should enjoy.
Food from the restaurant is average, it's actually takes too much time to serve and the quality is nothing special. My partner and I got a food poisoning from mouldy toasted bread we had, before we found out and send it back. Fortunally the kids didn't have this.
We found the place great, perfectly located, but the service could need a "red bull".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maklijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We found this place by surprise after a long drive around the island. It is very cheap compared to the other more upmarket places on the island. We stayed in one of the garden villas and were very impressed by the size if the room and the wonderful outdoor shower. The beds were comfy and the aircon was good for a change.
The pool bar was great fun and the cocktails were good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and well priced.
Ended up staying three nights instead of one.
It's places like this you wished you'd be on holiday forever!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed in Siufaga Beach Resort in Sept 2012 on a much needed vacation away from work. It is absolutely beautiful - the Vila that we stayed in was beautiful. The rooms were stunning, spacious and the shower - AMAZINGLY TO DIE FOR.. I was there for two nights and enjoyed the tranquility of the place - you will easily forget about the busy lifestyle while you enjoy the beauty of the exotic gardens, the pool, the swim up bar and the friendly hospitality of the staff. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth NZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Siufaga in July this year, our 3rd stay at this beautiful small resort. It is not actually beach front but the rooms especially the Pool Villas arfe spacious and clean and set in the most beautiful gardens filled with tropical trees and flower. The pools is wonderful with a swim up bar and then the small but lovely beach just a few steps across the road with soft sand and perfect for swimming. The restaurant is on the upper floor of the reception and has wonderful views of the ocean and beach and we love to sit having a delightful tropical breakfast and wave to the children walking past on their way to school. The pizzas at Siufaga are the best and relatively inexpensive but do ask the friendly waiter to sample a little of tradionaly Samoan food for breakfast such a supo esi which is a sort of delicious soup made of rice and papaya, then Kokoaraise which is again a delicious soup made from rice and Samoa cocoa. Then of course a visit to Samoa would not be complete with sampling Koko Samoa made from Samoa cocoa which is a very mild cocoa and not bitter as we are accustomed to in NZ, it is strong and served without milk and very sweet (not at all recommended for diabetics) but simply lovely to drink. The staff espedcially Malia are friendly and always willing to assist. We can recommend this resort very highly and often wonder why the resort do not sell themselves better as it is a privilege to stay at this lovely very quiet resort and also an inexpensive place to stay compared to some others.

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are always our favourite being spacious with a King size bed, an outside shower big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iansnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Nice size villas with outside showers you can watch the stars whilst you shower. Comfy beds, good air con, great pool and really lovely staff.

Samoa coastline is volcanic rock with not a lot big beaches. The resort has a tiny beach across the road in the lagoon which is delightful and relatively free of rocks and coral. There is not much else in the town of Faga but the next village is a short walk and has a supermarket.

The bus into town is cheap and an experience, you can flag the bus down from outside the hotel.

There are few restaurants on savai'i so you tend to eat a lot at the hotel. The seem to make each meal from scratch so it can take awhile, the fish with eggplant was tasty, the spaghetti and pizza OK. Desert seemed to be an issue with ice cream the only thing available but we were there late in the season and not a lot of guests. The next closest restaurant we found was at the savai'ian hotel about 10 -15 mins away by car or bus.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed in poolside villa 12 which easily accomodates 4 people with plenty of room.Its divided into two areas by a step, top area contains double bed and separate bathroom with an outdoor shower which is wonderful,then you step down into another area containing a double bed and your lounge.Aircon is effective but a little noisy and the TV reception is not that great but these were so minor.If they fix these it would be perfection, also be aware no cable TV.
The pool is fantastic and the swim up bar is great as we spent alot of time here.
The beach is across the road and is lovely and we had use of kayaks and snorkel gear,it was bliss.
The staff were friendly,helpful and service was fantastic, food is great and I admit food can be a bit slow coming out by Western standards , but whos in a hurry, and when we got our food we loved it.
I admit to arriving in the Taxi and first impression was difficult, very deceptive,until you get further into the hotel, its lovely.The grounds are immaculate and its a shame the hotel doesnt sell itself more, we were the only guests for 5 days and we enjoyed our stay.We went up too Manase and looked at other hotels like Le lagoto, its newer but pool looks smaller and the beach distance seems the same,even though ours is across the road.
Catch the local bus to the market in Saleloga and its great to see the difference in Savaii to Upolu.The history of the hotel is interesting also.
We enjoyed our stay at Siufaga resort, picturesque ,and recommend this lovely resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
10.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
521 reviews
19.0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
396 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Property: Amoa Resort
Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing