We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Samoan”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Wainuiomata, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Genuine Samoan”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We loved it here! By genuine Samoan I mean the friendliness,casual atmosphere, and gorgeous surroundings. First, the staff are delightful, because I was looking for some traditional Samoan food, Elisabeth organised a special dish to be cooked for us on our last night, and it was no problem for the restaurant to provide something different to the menu if you ask,my husband just wanted plain battered fish and chips, asked and recieved! The accommodation was fabulously comfortable and beautifully cleaned everyday. The swim-up bar is luxury on a hot day (every day in Samoa) and the barman Joshua did a little extra decorating on our last afternoon, very glam tropical style :) We stayed for 6 nights, thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor showers and easy access to the beach which is so calm and safe for anyone to swim or snorkel in. Samoa is in its infancy as far as tourism goes, it is refreshingly simple and laid back, for those who want uber-sophistication perhaps this wont suit, but you'd be missing the most wonderful relaxing holiday, these people are so beautiful to be around and so willing to accommodate your needs, we will return again and again. Thank you Siufaga Resort staff xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    44
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
76
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We would definitely come back here. Worth getting a deluxe room. These are well built, spacious and clean with a shady verandah. Outside shower is gorgeous. are slightly elevated with glimpses of pool/sea in a beautiful botanical garden. The large pool had space for swimmers and for those sipping at Joshua’s bar.
Restaurant above office with stunning view out over road to the lagoon.(and the food was fine). Actually a plus that have to cross road (not busy) to get to beach, as this connects resort to village life. We enjoyed watching the traffic, especially the buses and getting to know the locals. Sweet little sandy beach with waves, (we preferred this to the almost too calm beaches further north). Beach below and hidden from the road.
Resort staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and they became good friends.
Come here if you want very pleasurable r and r with authentic Samoan hospitality and a connection to village life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fultons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We took our 20mth old twins and 6yr old. They loved the huge pool, which we had to ourselves most of the time. This place was very quiet over the 3 nights that we stayed. Nice staff, Betz and Loi were very helpful. The only downside to this place is the food and the restaurant wasnt that suitable for our kids - up some steep stairs with railings that were a little flimsy. We ended up eating at our fale which was fine.
Loved the outdoor shower. We would return to this place. There is a safe beautiful lagoon reef across the road to snorkel in where there is coral and fish. We would suggest taking your own snorkel and mask. Breakfast was - fruit, toast, juice, coffee, which was fine for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem close to the pool. We were in Room 11 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanice18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for only one night but wished we'd book here longer.
The rooms are large,lots of room for a family of two adults and two teenagers. Bathroom is modern and clean and outside shower an oasis.
The pool and swim up bar an excellent area to relax. Bar staff friendly and cocktails very well priced.
Food is not their strong point, but adequate. Beautiful views of the beach across the road and kayaks to paddle out on the crystal blue water.
Comfortable place to stay while you explore beautiful Savaii.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyBAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Siufaga despite it's short-comings. The room was basic but comfortable and quite spacious. Beds and pillows were a bit lumpy. Outdoor shower was fun - but don't go there at night or you'll be sharing it with the mozzies! Right across the road from a gorgeous little beach with stunning turquoise water. Food was mainly good, although a lack of variety in vegies was obvious. The coffee machine was never on in the morning, the safe in the room didn't work and they ran out of wine one night! People were lovely and happy to help wherever they could. Perhaps a little over-priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiChic2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our stay at this resort was very pleasant, a great experience for the family. The swim-up bar was definately a plus, whereas the quality of meals offered at the restaurant was a downside. The rooms were lovely, and had a quaint outdoor shower. The proximity to the beachfront was wonderful although the environment is clearly still recovering from the recent tsunami that affected the area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at this resort. The beautiful gardens and the very clean and large pool area are a real plus. Our original bungalow had some shortcomings but we were upgraded for no additional price. It was clean,very roomy with king size bed, good air con and small fridge. There was a porch with table and chairs. Unfortunately there is no cable tv or Internet despite advertisements to the contrary. Admittedly the breakfast was basic but unlike a previous reviewer we did not experience any rotten or stale food. The lunch time sandwiches were deliciously fresh and there are no complaints about the quality of the lattes. Although the evening menu food was perfectly acceptable, it was limited, so we chose to eat at other resorts some nights. This meant going by taxi unless you were fortunate enough to get one of the few rental cars that are available on the island. We used the local buses during the day but they stop at 5.30.The restaurant and reception staff were polite and helpful when asked but were not proactive with suggestions for daily activities given that none of those listed in the room booklet were available. There was no attempt to link guests up to make a party to do anything local like a village tour. The standard response was that 2 people were not enough. We discovered other couples got the same response. We recommend checking out the options at Savai'i Travel before using the taxi drivers suggested by the Resort. We made friends with Umu, who owns a plantation behind the resort, and took us on a reasonably priced tour in his family taxi.Admittedly the beach is across the road and there are no chairs etc but we swam in the clear water,used the kayak and the snorkelling gear to see some beautifully coloured fish. We enjoyed our stay but had to work quite hard to make the transport options work and were disappointed that some of the expected facilities no longer operate. Having read some of the other reviews, people need to take into account that this is a Pacific Island so spiders, geckos and less than perfect beach access come with the territory.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the top range bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
10.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
379 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
508 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Property: Amoa Resort
Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing