We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Siufaga Beach Resort. Firstly the hospitality of the staff was commendable, Elizabeth at the front counter was a gem and all the rest of the staff were very professional and courteous.

Our Bungalows were fabulous with a double bed and 2 singles in each, my favourite part was the outdoor shower, very islander experience, but very secure so you didn't have any creepers trying to watch you shower:P

It was very quiet when we stayed there as Elizabeth sadly told us that alot of their bookings had been cancelled due to tourists being too scared to travel to Savaii because of the Tsunami. So we had the pool and facilities to ourselves practically the whole time we were there. The nightlife in Savaii is very quiet but if you're going on holiday to relax then Siufaga is the place for it.

Our next trip to Samoa next year Siufaga is on the list for a few nights DEFINITELY!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

Always a great time here with the beautiful beach, friendly staff, great food & a superb pool & surrounding area. Would highly recommend to everyone. What's sad is all the negative comments written regarding this resort. I've lived in Samoa, Australia & live in NZ now so i know what to expect from all three countries. For a start, people have to realize that certain food isn't as accessible in Samoa as NZ or Aussie. E.g. Fresh veges etc. The prices in the market or food in general in Samoa are rising all the time causing people to raise prices on there menus just to break even or to just make a living. The locals because of living on a tropical island are obviously laid back & cruise. That explains their disappearing act at times from reception or other areas. Mind you, looking at the average wage workers in Samoa make, it's no wonder they cruize. How would you like to work your butt off for around $5 or less an hour?? You wouldn't even get out of bed!! So chill out on your negative feedback & understand the facts before ruining the good reputation of one of the best resorts in Samoa. The prices might seem excessive, but they are in Samoan Tala & that is nothing to the NZ or Aussie dollar. My chicken & chips & salad or (steamed veges) was 20 tala. Thats around $10 NZ. I couldn't get that at a restaurant in NZ for $10!! Loved my stay, loved the people & would go back anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazeyboy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have just returned from Samoa after spending 5 fabulous nights at the Siufaga Beach Resort. We were travelling with a group of 10 celebrating my birthday, when the Tsunami struck on our 2nd day. The staffs regard for our safety was amazing, evacuating us to high ground, staying with us during the night to ensure our comfort despite not knowing whether their own families were safe. I cannot commend their actions highly enough. The island of Savaii escaped the travesty virtually unscathed and the best thing people can do to support Samoa in this time of need is patronage. Siufaga Resort is a beautiful place with a magical team of people. Samoa is not Fiji Denarau - it is tranquil, lush rainforest, with idyllic white sand beaches and turquoise waters. It is a slower pace of life and one must adjust their time clock and their expectations to truly enjoy the magic of Samoa. The Siufaga Resort's location is perfect distance just 20 minutes drive from the ferry terminal, central to both the Southern and Northern coasts where the main attractions are situated, there is a good Supermarket up the road if you require supplies and a beautiful lagoon across the road if you wish to snorkel and swim. I would like to add a big thank you to the fabulous Elizabeth (Resort Liaison) and her team who even managed to rustle up a birthday cake all the way from Apia at short notice and make what potentially could have been a disastorous holiday into one of our most memorable. My children, friends and extended family all had an awesome time at Siufaga Beach Resort and we highly recommend it to anyone who wants an intimate Samoan experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roving_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We ended up at Siufaga after being bumped from Le Vasa. We had no idea what we were in for but were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. They were huge with a modern bathroom and outdoor rock shower (which was great!). They were air conditioned, had a TV and fridge and were cleaned every day. The only problem was the food. Every day, at least four or five dishes were unavailable on the menu and when you are eating at the same restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you need some variety. The menu was very basic and most of the food was deep fried (ie frozen). We spent a lot of time on the toilet. Unfortunately there is really nowhere else to eat so you are stuck for choice. Luckily there is a shop up the road (across from the hospital) which stocks all the basics (and has some great ice cream cones). We bought our lunch supplies from here. There is a small beach across the road which you can only lie on at low tide. There are rocks in the water and it is a bit choppy, so not really good for swimming. The resort has a good pool. Hire a car but organise this before you arrive as there are only two companies and they only have six cars each. The blowholes and waterfall are worth seeing. But that is about it. There isn't much to do on this island. Especially if it rains.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMillerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I have to agree with the recent reviews, meals not good and breakfast was an insult- a
few slices of fruit and 2 pieces of toast,the "famous" coffee machine was usually not even turned on.The coffee supplied in the room was so old it had turned into a hard greyish lump. The fale was a good size, but difficult to unpack with no drawers. The
outdoor shower melt, and made it impossible to seal the room- and in flew the
cockroaches!!. The pool was great. The lagoon opposite was lovely -but(there's a lot of
these!)- a lot of broken glass on the sand.
The location is beautiful, and this place has so much potential, shame the owner doesn't appear to be interested.
Most of the staff tried hard to please, and were very friendly .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Like a few of the other recent holiday makers we found the place reasonable but lacking in some departments. On the up-side, the pool was great and the beach across the road was very nice. The staff were friendly.

The rooms (beachfront deluxe bungalows) were good, fairly spacious and nicely appointed. The aircon worked well and the room had a nice outlook onto the pool from the front and the lagoon from the back. The TV didn't really have many recievable channels and the showers were very average in their temperature. But good pressure. My wife found them too cold and I found them marginal. From what I could tell they run solely on solar heating so if the sun is behind the clouds for most of the day like it was on a couple of days we were there then you get just a luke warm shower.

It seems the reception is only sporadically attended by staff but whenever we wanted to speak with someone there was someone in the restaurant above the reception who could help.

I thought the worst part of the resort was the restaurant. In Samoa it seems traditional that most places supply breakfast. I would have thought that a place costing as much as Siufaga (I think we paid about ST$450 per night which is about NZ$300) would put on a really super breakfast however it was the worst out of the three places we stayed. I also do not think the resort is worth the money overall when compared with other places we stayed. We tried the restaurant one evening for dinner and again found the food average for the price. We then went down the road to the Saviian Hotel, paid almost half the price and got really, really tasty food.

It has potential but they need to sort out the restaurant and charge less for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The best thing about it is the bar that you can swim to. When we arrived,there was no one at the reception and my partner had to go on a hunt to find someone. We were also really hungry, (it was at lunch time) and we were told we could'nt get anything from the resturant as the chef was busy... and to walk down to the little shop. We had bags of chips for lunch. Only had ONE hot shower out of the 3 days we were there, and when I asked was told this was normal. Cable didn't really work and none of the remote controlls worked. The Air con was a pain in the bum. The workers there looked like they'd rather be somewhere completely different. Except one, his name was Barry and really helpful. We were told the night before leaving there was a 12pm ferry, so checked out at 11am only to be told on Wednesdays there is no 12pm only a 2pm ferry. That was really annoying. and the food is a bit hit an miss too.... I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
3.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
562 reviews
19.8 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £115 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing