We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Samoan lifestyle”
Review of Tanu Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanu Beach Fales
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great experience, ideally try for one night, as it can be noisy if there are large groups around (avoid times with school clases) , more backpackers type, not much luxury, though great experience of true basic fale living - food very average, coffee connaisseurs to avoid, beer ok, lovely beach, great location, no free kayaks nor snokerling gear, very nice hosts, an hour away by car from the Ferry terminal in Savaii

Room Tip: if there are many people around, such as school groups, better avoiding the place as not much privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprinter_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Tanu Beach Fales isnt for everyone. If you dont mind sleeping on a mattress on a Fale floor with a slight breeze wisping through the woven blinds, then this is the place for you.Its camping Samoan style and it is a fabulous experience. My Husband and I have been here 4 times and will keep coming back. It is a lovely, simple, cheap way of holidaying and very relaxing.Yoy get breakfast and dinner and there are plenty of places around for lunch if you are hungry. Tanu Beach now has a Bar and they do a great Pina Colada!.The bathrooms are shared but always clean and tidy. For anyone who wants hot water showers you wont find them here but it dosent matter as it is so warm, a cold shower is always welcome. And the water actually isnt that cold!.
The family who run Tanu Beach are very friendly, lovely people and they do a great Fia Fia night. Everyone gets involved. Really good fun. It is a remarkably peaceful, tranquil place and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Beach Front fale for a lovely beachfront experience but all the fales are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novemberchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Tanu Beach Fales is situated on the beach of your dreams....! We had very nice and well maintained open fales. I spent most of the time swimming - it was wonderful! Breakfast and dinner was included and was good. Staff was very nice!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soeren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was my 4th stay at Tanu Beach fales. It is in a great spot right near the beach. The views are awesome! Frieda was very friendly and helpful. A family in Savaii gave our group some food and Tanu beach staff warmed it up and served it to us at dinner time. The family also provided our group with lunch and Tanu beach staff were at hand to help serve where they could. We had a coconut husk at our fale to brush the sand off our feet, but not many other fales had any. Bathroom has two toilets and a shower - and there are three ablution blocks on site. Bathrooms and toilets are cleaned daily. Lovely breakfast and dinner. Our van driver and bus driver were both very accomodating and took us around the whole island. I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Tanu Beach Fales at the beginning of August and I can't get it out of my head!
It was a truly amazing experience. From the warm welcome and cold coconut we received upon arrival, to the picture postcard perfect beach.
Our fale was perfect, very comfortable and with a view to die for.
We loved the communal dining. Fabulous food and interesting people to meet and talk to.
We had planned all sorts of day trips and activities, but Tanu was so perfect we just hung out at the beach and walked through the villages.
We had lunch most days across the road. Can highly recommend the Tuna salad. Washed down with a cold Vailima. Yum.
A huge thank you to Tanu's wonderful family. Perfect hosts and a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Fales 17 through 20 have the most shade and better beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhildaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at Tanu Beach Fales on a recent holiday to Samoa and would highly recommend it. It's like camping Samoan style and while we were a little dubious at first, it turned out to be fantastic.

Located right on a beautiful beach with amazing food and great service - this is a fantastic place to stay. It's also fairly close to some of the main attractions including swimming with turtles and the blowholes.

There are only cold showers but it's so warm that this doesn't even matter. The huts are very basic but have an authentic feel to them and are a fun option for a few nights.

I highly recommend staying here when in Savaii!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a great time. The family were lovely, the food was delicious, the huts were basic but that's what we were expecting. Shame there are only 2 female showers, cold water only, in 2 separate toilet blocks (same for men I think).
The beach is beautiful and the snorkelling is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helennjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
21.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
1.4 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanu Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanu Beach Fales

Address: Tanu Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tanu Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Tanu Beach Fales Savai i
Tanu Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing