We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School trip experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanu Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanu Beach Fales
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“School trip experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We (65 teenagers, parents and teachers) stayed here for four nights. Basic fales and cold water showers. We had a great time, the hospitality was warm and the food..... Well, certainly the quantity was there. Probably had enough grilled chicken and breadfruit to last me a long while.
Swimming in the clear warm water and being able to watch the boys hand scrape and squeeze coconut flesh for cream made for good memories.
The fia fia night and the beach views are fantastic. It's not for travellers who want a resort experience but this place is worth the long drive in the bus!

Room Tip: Take a brush to get rid of sand from your fale. I took a silk sleeping bag liner for added comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FnP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    57
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
71
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came to Tanu for one night and stayed 2 weeks! It's very simple accommodation on a divine beach. You can even swim on low tide, which is rare in Samoa. The family who runs the businesses is lovely and very accomodating, and yes they live there and accross the road. This makes the welcoming family vibe. You get to know the kids and grandpa too! Special thanks to Frida, who is always there when you need something. I an really glad that the family is not upgrading to a luxury resort in any way. It's great to have a real dow to earth Samoan experience. Thank you all♡♡♡ Gisela and Michael

Room Tip: A fale streight on the beach is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our second time in this little piece of samoan paradise . Things don't change much in Tanu thank goodness . This place is not a flashy resort by any means , its a family run kind of beach fale set up .Always relaxing and friendly . I would rate it even higher but for a couple of simple improvements that could be made - a shower head would be good instead of a pipe straight out of the wall also a chair with a back on it might be nice but other than that every thing here is great

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thekingis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Well first off if you are a princess you wont like it here. This is a really hard place to review as it depends what people are looking for.
First off-This place has the most amazing location.The idyllic pacific Island beach. The best beach in Savaii I think. We had a beach front fale which pretty much had the water lapping at its step on high tide.
If you want to experience Samoa lifestyle in a village then try this. We missed the cultural night which is apparently good. If you include the meals it is value for money...but Beware you may a large Samoan having his afternoon nap in the empty fale beside yours which some people may not be comfortable with, but remember this is their village and the family run it.
There was plenty of food, basic but not gourmet. On our third night it seemed to be a repeat of the first.
The bed was just 2 mattress on the fale floor. My problem was the sheets were old and thin and mended and too small and there was no under sheet, and the mattress seemed a bit smelly .An
upgrade in that department would make the world of difference.
2 nights was enough for me especially as we managed to get mossies in our net and got bitten alive on our third night but other people were staying for a week.
A true Samoa experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watts-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

tanu's is awesome - haven't stayed here for years, but was awesome. could've been cheaper given it was off peak season (they charge $80WST pp per night), but does include breakfast & dinner which was good. the bar ran out of vailimas (not good), anyone running a resort should be fully stocked - they ran out every night. so may be useful to buy your own from the local shop before it closes. otherwise fantastic facility family-owned resort who will take care of you the samoan way. we stayed for four nights which was perfect, we went diving down the road & also to the afu aau waterfalls (seki a), but you'll need a car as it is on other side of the island.
tanu's was perfect for sleeping, eating, swimming and sleeping again :) lol - will definitely come back again soon & highly recommend. manase have the best beach on the island !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jay4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Tanu. Manase beach is beautiful. We stayed in "Lady Judy" fale which was right on the beach but also close to the dining fale, shop and toilets. This is a family run resort and we found good hospitality here, especially Nica and Java. They served traditional Samoan food and all the guests eat together which is nice. Free bananas! There was a lovely little bar, it could have stayed open a little longer, although it was their quiet season. Overall, a really good place to stay :)

Room Tip: Ask for a fale along the beach but still close to the dining hall/bathrooms otherwise its a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is where I fell in love with Samoa.
Lucky enough to have a fale right on the beach. It rained, didn't care, it was still warm. Slept with most of the sides and front up to savour the view every minute of the day and night. Woke up, as sun was rising, had a swim before breakfast - so relaxing. Dinner and breakfast is provided by the family and the food was very good! However, on check in day we went across the road to their restaurant and the food was very disappointing and I would not return.
Basic amenities, but great value for money.

Room Tip: Nearest the beach of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
25.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
32.5 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
18.0 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
32.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanu Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanu Beach Fales

Property: Tanu Beach Fales
Address: Tanu Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tanu Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Tanu Beach Fales Savai i
Tanu Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing