We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savaii Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

The biggest mistake we made in Savaii was not staying a second week! My wife and I had the most amazing time in Savaii, due in no small part to our awesome beach front fale. We can't say enough good things about our overall experience. The staff at the resort was very helpful and friendly, the fale was clean and comfortable, and the location was excellent. A few steps to the beautiful snorkeling, and only a few seconds from great food and drink next door at La Lagoto. On Friday night at the restaurant they had a Fia Fia(?) show and buffet, which was delicious and entertaining... but so much more genuine than anything I've experienced in Hawaii.
We found the people of Savaii to be extremely welcoming. We really enjoyed ourselves, especially diving with Fabien, he and his captain really made the trip special. They went above and beyond what I expect in a dive shop.

We hope to visit again soon, Truly an unforgettable vacation!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TucoTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    62
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
139
261
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

We spent 7 nights at the Savaii Lagoon Resort and truly enjoyed our stay. The fales are basic, but they include hot water showers, mini-refridgerators, a kitchenette, drinkable water, and an awesome beach front location. For the money, Savaii Lagoon Resort is the best place to stay on Savaii.

Each day we were delivered a pipping hot loaf of bread along with a basket of local fruit. We also had maid service each day which was a nice bonus.

We had the good fortune of meeting Margaret and Bruce, the co-owners/builders, of the property. They are super people!

Savaii is a very primitive and beautiful island. It is a great place to get away from it all. All that is needed is a good book and a swimsuit!

The snorkeling was also very good just off the property. Savaii does not have a lot of choices for accomodations. There are quite a few rustic fales in Manese, the Le Lagoto resort next door, and Savaii Lagoon. We thought Savaii Lagoon was a good "middle point". Not to expensive, but we had nice western amenities.

You can see our entire trip report on our sunnytripreports web site.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OpusTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

We have just returned from 18 days at the Savaii Lagoon Resort, and God willing, we will be back next year. Great place for R & R and a quiet vacation.
We found the web site representative of what we found with the units well designed and comfortable. Good value for the money.
The beach was great as was the snorkeling, best to do towards high tide as the water is too low and one can scrape your tummy on the coral. Also advise having reef shoes if you don’t use flippers: just don’t leave them outside at night, as the village dogs tend to wander and may take off with one.
It is very safe to walk, but advise doing so in the early morning as the heat and humidity get a little overwhelming as the day progresses. Villagers are welcoming, but curious.
Recommend you take the 0800 (blue) bus into town, as it is the newest and most comfortable. It will be crowded, but it is only 3.85 tala. You pay when you get off. Also, they don’t run on schedule. The 11 o’clock bus will often leave at 1020 or so, so be sure to let the runner know that you want to be on the 11 and he will come looking for you in the market.
The only real problem was food. You have a microwave, toaster, fridge and electric frypan to work with. The bread you get with breakfast is enough to cover lunch as well, if you have something to make a sandwich with. You can buy bacon, eggs, cheese slices, juice, coke and beer in the office. The shop across the street does take out French fries, and sometimes chicken and fish. Frozen chicken legs are readily available, but lamb, when available is really mutton and even in a curry wasn’t too exciting. Canned cornbeef, salmon, spaghetti sauce, beans, that sort of thing was available at all the little shops, as well as tomatoes, cukes, and other vegetables at the market.
The restaurant next door was very good, but tends to get a little pricey if you are eating there all the time.
You don’t need much in the way of clothes, so my recommendation is to take fewer clothes and more food. I took package soups, curry mix, shake and bake type of things, and suggest canned cheese. I can’t comment on customs, but suspect you can get anything that is vacumn packed in. They do have a dog on patrol at the airport.
Most of us won't suffer if we have to snack for a few days, so go and enjoy the wonderful scenery and the simple lifestyle.

  • Liked — location on a great beach
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

Can highly recommmend this resort, loved the option of self catering, took a while to find food to cook, but we didn't ask enough questions. Found simple vegies etc and loved eating 'at home' so relaxing. Snorkelling was fantastic, like an underwater garden, beach clean, with little shade houses to protect from hot sun, and so close to our cottage. Staff couldn't do enough to help. We had 5 days here & 6 on Upolo, should have booked the lot at Savaii. We felt we saw the traditional Samoa on this Island,
and hope it remains unspoilt. Would love to go again. The round the island tour offered by Hotel next door was fantastic, but a little promotion wouldn't hurt.

Helpful?
1 Thank acford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2007

If you've stumbled upon this place go. It's amazing. Super mellow and somewhat basic accommodations in one of the most perfect locations in the world. Snorkeling is top notch but available at high tide only. The rest of your day should be spent relaxing on the beach and drinking Valimas. Good food available next door at Le Lagoto. Staff and owners are great. Enjoy the bread.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank njroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Savaii Lagoon Resort very much. The surrounding jungel is beautiful and the people are very friendly. The bungalow was comfortable and clean. It also had a kitchenette where we cooked some of our meals. Some groceries were within walking distance and others were a quick bike ride away. You can rent bikes from the Resort by the hour. When we didn't cook the two of us went to the excellent restaurant next door for our meals.

We spent most our time relaxing on the beach or swimming and snorkeling in the bay -which was just great! Do be careful not to snorkel at low tide or you will get cut up by the coral which is almost everywhere. We also went scuba diving with Dive Savaii. That was wonderful as well. In addition to being just great people Fabian and Flavia run a very competent and safe outfit. They are certified to provide instruction if you want to learn how to scuba dive or to advance your skills.

All in all we had a great time and look forward to returning again in the near future. W e highly recommend the Savaii Lagoon Resort to any one looking for a beautiful place for a "get away".

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean and with kitchen
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dorje51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

Staying 7 nights at Savaii Lagoon Resort was VERY easy. The team were wonderful, welcoming and always making sure you were comfortable.
The weather was divine. The beach fale is all self-contained, so privacy is not an issue. Breakfast consisted of fresh bread each day, along with fresh bananas and papaya. Fridge/freezer/microwave ... not without some of the basics, which came in handy.
Very homely feel beach fales, with views out only to the ocean. 10 seconds walk from Le Lagoto restaurant which had beautiful meals.

45 mins from the wharf, however taxis were available on booking.

Definitely worth at least 5 days stay. 7 nites was wonderful and enough to really relax and appreciate everything.

Snorkelling straight off the beach is amazing. Wonderful sized fish with beautiful colors. Coral city.

Two things I will remember the most: The people, the beautiful staff; AND the water/ocean life. WOW

Thank you to the Savaii Lagoon Resort management and team. Booking the accommodation was a great and easy experience, with lots of tips included.

xx Nicole & Stu (NZers)

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Beach76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing