We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Savai'i Lagoon Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Savai'i Lagoon Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is an extremely late review of an extremely good resort. My husband and I along with our 10 month old daughter stayed here for a week in May. Tony, Melissa and their staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. They tracked down baggage that we had left in the taxi. When our little girl got quite bad heat rash they gave us a tube of their own ointment. We stayed in the studio room which was perfect for us. It was really clean and had its own little balcony with a table etc.

We loved the lagoon and spent alot of time I the water with our baby. The food was great and it was nice to have options of other places to eat at. I would definitely recommend Junes plantation tour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgieHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    64
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
141
264
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel was awesome, the location is good as well very close to the beach. The only bad thing was we were going to get a bus to the hotel (would of cost 3 talas each) but there was someone waiting for us at the ferry terminal standing with the hotel name. Thinking it was complimentary shuttle to the resort we hopped on. Next day we found out that it was 70 talas! The driver didn't say anything about the charges and obviously didn't want to ask at the end and had to get the resort to ask us the next day! If we knew it was going to cost, we definately would of taken the bus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReynaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
I am surprised that this guest did not inquire as to whether the transfer was complimentary. Surely she should have asked the obvious question before she stepped into the vehicle.. It should not have been taken for granted.The driver who runs his own transfer business normally does transfers for our resort because he is reliable and trustworthy. There have been a few occasions recently where the resort has not been informed of a booked transfer by the travel agent, and this has left guests looking for means of transport at the ferry terminal. To avoid this happening again, the transfer company decided to be there just in case there was anyone heading to Savaii Lagoon with a booked transfer that we had not been advised of. This guest knew that it was not a part of her booking at any stage. We do not advertise complimentary transfers. Obviously when this guest did not offer payment. the driver thought that it was a booked transfer which would be paid for by the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This place & the hospitality are awesome. Totally organised & the ideal place to stay in Savaii.
Snorkeling is awesome & the Sunset(Damn!). Tony is born to be a Hotel Manager(Ask for his guide around Savaii). The Mataii has banned dogs!!!!. (:-))A bonus is on Wed you can book to get the full Samoan cultural experiance at the Resort next door & the Food is good as well. Bloody great actually.
You pre-order your meals at Savaii Lagoon so you can keep to a schedule. Even though the Island is larger than Upolu the roads are well maintained & you can pretty much do everything in a Good day.
The BEST drinking water on the Island by the way. So save some coin & take some bottles to Load up on.

Room Tip: Who gives a crap about a swimming pool - The beach is 10 meters away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason255113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated. Good to know that you appreciated our safe drinking water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We didn't realise that our travel agent had changed our Savaii accommodation to the Savaii Lagoon Resort (which was different to our original quote) but on the day, we were so glad to have ended up there instead!

Our room was beautiful and welcoming with flowers on the bed, towels etc. No air con but the breeze flowing through and fan did the trick. The snorkelling was amazing, glass bottom boat was interesting and informative, meals were good (Melissa's Aioli is the bomb!), Fiafia evening at the neighbouring resort was awesome, sunsets were beautiful, beach was sooo nice and the staff were super friendly.

Tony and Melissa were super friendly and helpful - we loved Tony's personalised map of the sights to see for our day trip exploring Savaii, and Melissa gave us the recipe for her aioli :-) Tui was also amazing, going out of his way to make sure that Jase got to fulfill another one of his 'must-dos' with the use of a traditional outrigger canoe...

Thanks so much for making our stay amazing. We will definitely recommend you guys to anyone we know travelling to Samoa and hope to be back one day :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
It was good for us also to have your travel agent change your booking. It is always a pleasure to take care of nice guests. Thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was our first trip to Samoa ... we arrived at the airport and headed straight to the ferry wharf by taxi. Be careful, the taxi drivers are very cheeky and tried to charge me $40 Tala for a 5 minute drive ... Only pay $10 Tala (I paid $20 Tala - first timer caught out), plenty of taxi drivers will take you for this amount. The ferry trip to Salelologa Savai'i is a comfortable 80 minute trip, Lady Samoa III has Lavaspot (wifi Internet), you can buy "1 - 20 hours" online at http://www.csl.ws/lavaspot/index.html before you arrive in Samoa. Once in Salelologa, we went to the Digicel shop to get prepaid sim card then off to the local markets, it is a 3 minute taxi ride away from the wharf and they have wonderful lava lava's, souvenirs and fresh fruit. We got a great taxi driver - Laki (Lucky) - $3 Tala to the markets and $70 Tala to Savai'i Lagoon resort. He even waited at the markets for us while we shopped. Laki's number is 7274536. We arrived at Savai'i Lagoon resort at 11.30am and were amazed to discover that our room was ready so we checked in straight away ! Tony and Melissa could not have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly. Our room was basic BUT PERFECT. Everything we needed was in our room, super comfortable beds, louvred windows with mosquito screens and fans. The restaurant is amazing, sitting on the beach with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean and the sunsets were stunning. The complimentary tropical breakfast was delicious, lots of fresh fruit, thick toast and brewed coffee plus amazing views, wifi Internet access to read the newspaper online! Tony even found us to loan us a pair of flippers for my daughter as we only brought snorkeling gear and pointed out the best snorkeling spots ... what more could you ask for! The best thing about this resort is that you dont need to travel too far to have a busy but relaxing holiday. We went swimming with the turtles at Satoalepai village (20 minute easy walk from the resort), loads of snorkeling, Leilina's pizza across the road is delicious and they do a great spaghetti bolognaise, Fia Fia night at Le Lagoto Resort (next to Savai'i Lagoon resort) on Thursday was amazing ... $65 Tala for the buffet which was delicious and the amazing show. The resort's kayak's are available on the beach whenever you want them, Dive Savai'i is also just across the road so you have lots to keep you busy ... or just grab a book and sit under the shade shelter's along the beach. The only negative is we ONLY stayed 2 nights ... we travelled to Apia and Lalomanu Beach which was great BUT Savai'i Lagoon Resort was OUR favourite. Tony and Melissa did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing ... and they SUCCEEDED, they even gave us valuable information for the rest of our trip, this place and the staff are brilliant. We rung Laki again and he came to pick us up for our trip back to the ferry wharf - WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK SOON!

Room Tip: The 2 rooms near the restaurant can connect to wifi from your room so ask Tony and Melissa before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Manager at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
The Savaii Lagoon team thank you very much for your great review. Our managers Tony and Melissa are indeed excellent with what they do for our guests. We look forward to your return visit and we hope that it is as enjoyable the next time. We have guests returning each year, some have just left after the fifth time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

If you want the ideal getaway, sun, sea, sand and snorkelling then this is the place to go. None of the pressures of the usual holiday beach resorts. This little piece of paradise gives you time and space to recharge your batteries. You get there by flying to Apia and then taking the ferry (12 SAT) across to the island of Savaii and then a 40 minute taxi ride to the resort (70 SAT)The fales are comfortable and well appointed whilst retaining a semblance of homeliness. Your home away from home. The resort restaurant provides fresh food in a casual Al Fresco environment with personal care and attention - supplemented by another eatery option of pizzas across the road and an A la Carte menu at the resort adjacent. There are kitchen facilities also for minimal food preparation and refrigerated storage in your fale. Pricing is equivalent to *** hotel proces in NZ but service here is *****.

We amused ourselves by driving around the island - visiting the Dwarf Caves, numerous churches (3 per village), plantation walk, canopy walk, lovers leap, the blowholes, swimming with the turtles and the market. There are also a couple more attractions which we are saving for next time.. all are very low key and inexpensive.

You don't need to take much - swimming togs, sunscreen, sunhat, sandals and a couple of sarongs. Take photos and leave footprints would be my advice. The Samoan people are kind and gentle and look after visitors well. It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay the extra to have a fale right on the beachfront although all fales are no mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53jennyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your review. It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved our time here. The managers, Tony and Melissa, are outstanding and have created a great atmosphere with very customer focused and happy staff.

The units do not have air conditioning but with the seabreeze and fans that was not a problem. We took our own food for lunches and had everything we needed - except for a sharp knife.

It was great to see what the owners were doing for the local village with the UV treated water and the amount given from the for the trip in the Glass Bottom Boat; half of the cost - which was only $40 Tala - is given to the village. when of our daughters wasn't that confident snorkeling out too far and the boat offered and excellent opportunity to see the amazing coral straight out from the resort. We even got to see a turtle.

Tony and Melissa have also supported one of their staff members to start up a tour of the villages plantations and his home. June does and excellent job and his mother provides a lovely authentic morning tea in their home. I would definitely recommend the 'Plantation Walk' while you are there.

A big thumbs up for Savai'i Lagoon resort :-)

Thanks again Tony, Melissa and June

All the best
Cinnamon & Shaun

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinnamonHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for a great review. Our team always appreciates the time taken to write these reviews. I need to clear up a slight misunderstanding. The resort gives a percentage per head to the village to assist them financially and to say thank you for their support. The percentage is not as much as half as that would not be viable taking into account all our expenses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing