We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I spent 6 days in this resort. Samoa is really a place to be visited, especially Savaii.
The resort shares a silent picture perfect beach with neightbouring Le lagoto resort, it's probably one of the best beaches in Savaii, perfect for snorkeling. Location too is excellent, in the Fagamalo village, it has on the other side of the street Dive Savaii (organises snorkeling tours on the bay for a reasonable price), and a rather good pizzeria. In terms of dining options you can dine too at the le lagoto (especially on sunday and on thursday when Savaii lagoon restourant is closed). The managers are two very friendly persons who do the best to help the tourists to enjoy their stay, also the other people of the staff are friendly, (who is not in Samoa?). Breakfast was a special way to start your day with fresh tropical fruit (ok after 6 days you want a change, but now I would love to have that breakfast again).
The room was large and as anyone else wrote before with that very nice open air shower.
The only thing I would have changed is the bed that wasn't very confortable, perhaps it needed to be changed. I would stay there again surely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucio_rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Savaii Lagoon Resort was our favourite of the three places we stayed in Samoa. Managers Melissa and Tony knew it was our honeymoon and provided a complimentary basket of local fruits and a bottle of sparkling wine! The room contained a kitchenette and bathroom with open-air shower (with mosquito net to stop the bugs!). Savaii Lagoon Resort was the only place we stayed with hot water. They were also the only place that provided flannels and beach towels, rather than just bath towels alone.

The ceiling fan and pedestal fan provided ample breeze for sleeping. The windows were all louvers with mosquito net. There were plenty of seats in our room, and our own private area of seating outside. It was a short walk to the sun loungers on the beach.

The lagoon is quite shallow and gets deeper slowly. There is a deeper swimming hole by a rocky outcrop in front of Le Lagoto Beach Resort right next door (on the same beach). Coral and fish were abundant in the lagoon. Shoals of little fish swam in the shallows and occasionally had little fights and would leap out of the water at times.

Breakfast was great, with cereal, a fruit platter or fruit smoothie, and toast and jam. Restaurant meals were affordable, and a pizzaria just across the road provided a different meal option. We attended Fia Fia night at Le Lagoto Beach Resort which is situated right next door.

We went on a glass bottom boat tour and the plantation tour into the nearby village. Both were excellent. The plantation tour ended with tasting a variety of local fruits.

Savaii Lagoon Resort UV filter all their drinking water and supply this to the local village. This has reportedly reduced disease rates in the village. We felt happy to support the resort since they were assisting the community.

We didn't want to move on from Savaii Lagoon Resort, but we had to! It was such a relaxing relaxed place that we hope to visit again some day (this time for a longer stay!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apoxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Will most definitely try to come back here - very relaxed and friendly - everyone knows your name from the start of your stay. other "campers" were most friendly too. Food at the restaurant was the best we tried in Samoa.

Room Tip: Room 8 or the Studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanner23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We received a warm welcome from Melissa and Tony who are managing the resort, but only until Feb 2013, when they will be setting up their own photography business in Upolu. They could be the key to a great stay here. The Superior Beachfront Bungalows were spacious and really nice, light and airy, with a fully equipped kitchen, dining suite, nice bedroom and sitting area and lovely shower, attached and private but open air. Good TV, two fans but no air con so it was rather hot each night, 28 degrees. No pool here but the beach is lovely, with loungers and chairs right outside each bungalow. We had superb food here and wished we were staying longer than two nights. The staff went out of their way to serve us whatever we wanted. The restaurant is closed Thursdays and Sundays but there is a pizzeria across the road with great pizzas delivered to "our" restaurant/bar - the barman having ordered them and he even brings cutlery and plates! He also delivers cocktails and fabulous fruit smoothies to you as you lie outside your bungalow. Also over the road is a bakery baking delicious fresh bread each morning; we took picnics out. There is a new glass bottom boat at this resort - has a daily cruise at high tide - well worth the ST40 each. Amazing brain coral, deep sea caverns, parrot fish among many others and we even saw a turtle. We also enjoyed using the free kayaks on the idyllic, still and clear lagoon. Good snorkelling. Aqua shoes are a good idea as there are some sharp rocks and coral. Beautiful sunsets here too. Smaller than the big resorts and so much nicer, friendlier and intimate.

Room Tip: Apparently the small studio is fine for a couple and they can sit at a table and gaze out to the lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorNor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Tony and Melissa run a good ship!
This is without doubt the best place to stay in Samoa. Great people, great food, great service and all on top of the best stretch of pristine sandy beach on Savaii.
Fabulous snorkling and Kayaking straight out from the resort.
Glass bottom boat for those who don't love flippers.
Perfect deep swimming hole to cool of in between cocktails from the friendly bar staff.
You can take an easy stroll down the road to swim with the turtles too.
We only stayed a few days. Could have stayed a lot longer if we hadn't had to come back to reality! We will return, only wish it was tomorrow.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed. Room 8 would be our pick as it is right on the beach front overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We enjoyed a brilliant 4 days, wishing it was longer! We can happily endorse all the other positive reviews, genuinely friendly managers, thanks Tony and Melissa, and kiwi owner/ builder Bruce for your hospitality. Also, your lovely staff, Tuli, June, Mosa and Lava were attentive and friendly but not overbearing, keep up the good work. We plan to return! Best beach in Samoa in our opinion, great food, comfortable units, all you need to wind down and recharge.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy and Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayslong, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thanks for a great review. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

If you are travelling to Samoa then trust me, you would not find a better place to stay.
Dont let the extra travel involved put you off, you really can't beat what you will find waiting for you at Savaii Lagoon Resort.

The hospitality was second to none. Tony, Melissa, Tele, June, Tuli, Tui and all of the other staff will make you feel like part of the family and they are all a part of what makes the resort so great. Even when things didnt quite go to plan for us, we could not speak more highly of them. (even if June kept calling me James and I didnt have the heart to correct him)

The rooms were perfect. Flowers arranged on the bedding and in the bathroom upon your arrival were an awesome touch. The outdoor shower was a hit especially with our 3 year old daughter. Clean, spacious, cool and airy even without aircon and no matter if you get a oceanfront or not, none of the rooms are really that far from the beach.

A beach that was probably the best in Samoa, at the very least, the safest for children. After staying at Lalomanu and here at Savaii lagoon resort, we reckon the beach here was better. The water is so calm, clean, clear and full of curious tropical fish. Snorkelling was amazing! And take a trip out into the lagoon aboard the glass bottom boat (Samoas only) to see the huge coral formations. Whilst low tide means its a bit too shallow for swimming or snokelling, only a few metres down the beach, in front of the nextdoor resort is a perfect deeper "swimming hole" with more curious fish.

The food options were good aswell. The resort has a perfect little beach restaurant and the meals we had there were delicious! Grab yourself a large Vailima and sit out on the deck and take in the best sunsets you will probably see anywhere in the world. Do i need to mention the rock lobster or Oka? If there isnt an option on the menu to suit you that night you can order a pizza across the road, again probably the best you will find in Samoa. (note the ongoing theme here??) They will deliver to your room, the beach or u can even have it delivered to the resorts own restaurant. Or you can head to a few metres along the beach to le lagoto for a meal aswell. Thursdays fia fia night there was awesome and the buffet meal is great!

To quote my daughter "i never want to leave Samoa Daddy, I want to stay here forever". Well a stay here at Savaii Lagoon Resort will have you feeling the same way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaneo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £90 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing