We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Savai'i Lagoon Resort is a wonderful relaxed placed to stay. The resort is situated perfectly on the stunning blue lagoon, and the people are amazingly friendly and wonderful hosts! We travelled as a family and stayed in one of the separate bedroom beach bungalows. It was perfect in its simplicity, and had a good kitchen, always handy with children - and often hard to come by. The food at Savai'i Lagoon resort is actually very good - the best we had during our whole 10 days in Samoa. We loved it, all our thanks to Wayne & Sarah our kiwi hosts.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Savaii Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

This resort is situated about one hour from the ferry by road on a beautiful small beach, adjacent to the Le Lagoto Resort next door. We stayed for three nights in mid July. We had a separate bedroom beach bungalow and these are like someone's bach which has been tastefully decorated, with basic amenities for cooking (elec frypan and microwave). I loved the relaxing atmosphere on Savaii, and at the resort. However, we found sleep quite difficult as the resident rooster crows intermittently throughout the night, beginning at about 11. There are three kayaks, two with working paddles. The glass bottom boat trip is worthwhile and ticket purchases partly support the local village. In the time we were there, the petanque and volley ball advertised on the website were not apparent. We enjoyed delicious open sandwiches for lunch at the intimate resort restaurant. The dinner menu changes daily and you order what you want for dinner, and the seating time, around about midday. I recommend the pina coladas as you watch the sunset. There is also a delightful pizza restaurant directly across the road- and a small shop with basic supplies.

Transport: Getting ferry tickets on the Upolo side is a pain and you have to queue on the day no later than an hour before departure. Cash only and you cannot buy a return ticket so you have to do the same thing over again from the Savaii end. We were met at the ferry although we weren't expecting to be- and the taxi ride to the resort is WST70. Ignore the touting taxi drivers who harrass you as you exit the ferry and if there is noone to meet you, walk to a taxi and choose your own otherwise you end up in any old vehicle. Also ensure you agree to the cost of the fare before you start as taxis aren't metered in Samoa.

The resort is on land leased from the local village and the owners clearly work hard to build good relationships with those who live in the vicinity. The resort owners, non-resident, are New Zealanders and the two managers- who appear extremely busy- are also New Zealanders- as are most of the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwitravellerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 6 nights in June this year and found it a very enjoyable resort. We stayed in a beautifully sited bungalow set apart from the others making it very private and looking right out over the lagoon. Sarah and Wayne who manage the resort are extremely helpful and they really went out of their way to make our stay special and they also resolved some transport issue for us as well. The food is based on fresh fish and produce and was always enjoyable. We were there to relax and this is a perfect place to do so - the snorkelling straight out from the beach is wonderful and there is a great variety of fish to see. The library is well stocked and we made good use of it.
We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A traveller may search long and hard and find better value on Savaii, but they will be hard pressed to find a better resort to unwind at. Young Wayne, Old Sarah, and their staff will help you overcome any first world issues and ensure you enjoy a perfect break. Other reviews pretty much cover the basics and they deserve their number one rating.

People staying at La Lagoto next door should consider eating at Savaii Lagoon Resort once or twice and vice versa. They would also be well advised to try Leilina's pizza place once or twice for a bit of variety. If you are travelling over by ferry pick a day when both ferry's are operating and take the newer ferry. The older ferry will get you there, but you will find the trip slower and more uncomfortable. When you arrive at the wharf look for the taxi which Wayne and Sarah usually ensure is waiting there. The going rate as at July 2013 is $70WST. The only other generic advice for Samoa would be to ensure you have reef shoes and snorkelling gear.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Not sure what we can say to add to all of the other accoldaes that Savaii Lagoon has received, other than that they are all well deserved.

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon for two nights in July 2013 and hosts Sarah and Wayne were just wonderful and could not do enough to make the stay enjoyable. Large rooms and the best snorkelling right off the beach that I have experienced anywhere! World class!

Breakfast was generous enough and we ate dinner at the restaurant one of the nights we were there and the food was very nice.

We also ate at the reastaurant at the resort next door and at the pizza shop right across the road - and all were able to provide great quality food - so there are many choices.

The other thing we would recommend is a half day tour with local man Sam, who is a lovely bloke and very knowledgable about the area and the culture.

Already planning a return trip - thank you Wayne and Sarah

Andy and Sharon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed it here. Clean water to drink? Tick! Calm clean sea for swimming, right out the front, with lots of coral and fish to see? Tick! Gracious friendly hosts who were happy to chat and open to feedback? Tick! We enjoyed the meals, the deck at the restaurant means you are almost right on the water as you eat. The lounges on the beach under umbrellas were great for afternoon book reading. Free kayaks a bonus. The actual buildings of the accommodation are a bit bunkerish from the outside but clean, spacious and comfortable from the inside. Nice walk up and down to neighboring villages and Dive Savai'i just across the road offer a great service. Local Tour guide Sam did a great job of showing us the island and was really friendly and down to earth. The only downside on the tour was the captive and manhandled endangered sea turtles in a neighboring village, i personally would be happy to see that dropped from the tour.
As a destination though, thumbs up to Savaii and to Savaii Lagoon Resort, and surrounding businesses, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greencouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

to express just how truly amazing SLR is. It epitomises what everyone dreams of when thinking of staying in paradise. Savaii Lagoon continues to work tirelessly in improving the resort itself, the facilities, customer service, food, management, just everything. The wonderful beach is at your doorstep where you can swim, dive, snorkel or just chill. Management is very humble in letting guests know how much they do to improve the life of the villagers of Fagamalo but they never stop giving and every improvement to the resort is also an improvement to the village. My absolute favourite resort in Samoa. PS: Don't miss the fantastic ride in the glass bottom boat.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views but the best is the Superior Ocean Bungalow
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debdestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Debdestiny,

We do focus on the comfort of our guests while at the same time making efforts to ensure that the villagers receive benefits from our resort. To follow such a glowing review, I can only say a heartfelt "Thank you" from all the staff at Savaii Lagoon.
Alofa tele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £91 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing