We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Savaii but that's not saying much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Savaii but that's not saying much!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Look I'll be honest, this is not a bad hotel. The rooms are spacy and well appointed, they're ensuite with what pretends to be an outdoor shower (but the mosquito covering means you might as well be inside as you can't see the promised stars). The resort is clean and has a reasonable beach.

This is not however deserving of its rave reviews - it's epically over priced (although this isn't that unusual for Samoa) and the restaurant is desperate considering the massive price. They have a good policy of local and fresh which I admire but the chefs are young and inexperienced based on the poor food they're producing. Very disappointing for the price. Breakfast was equally poor - the fruit plate was brown bananas, 2 tiny pieces of watermelon and some unrecognisable and inedible white fruit. I love fruit and general devour it so for me not to like it is saying something.

The reef off the beach is marked as a non fishing zone which is good and the reef is accessible at all but low tide. However it is an unremarkable coral area with little diversity. This is not uncommon in Samoa but in comparison to to those in nearby Fiji the reefs are disappointing.

Personally I don't think the hotel is worth the price tag, but it is better than most you'll find on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear travelling Turtles,
Thank you for your complimentary comments about Savaii lagoon resort. It is good to hear that you consider the rooms to be spacious and well appointed and that you think that the resort is clean with a reasonable beach. Our beach is looked on to be one of the nicest in Samoa, all part of the reason why our resort is fully booked for the greater part of the year with guests returning each year.
To address some of your concerns, we feel that our restaurant is fairly priced . We offer meals which are inclusive 0f side veges - ( many restaurants charge extra for side dishes) - at a price ranging from NZD17.00 to NZD 25.00 the latter being eye fillet steak locally grown.
Perhaps also you are not aware that many commodities have to be shipped from New Zealand adding greatly to the cost of accommodation in Samoa.
Our outdoor showers are advertised as outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalows and the insect screen on the roof prevents guests from being bitten alive by the marauding mozzies.
Your review appears to say that you are disappointed in what Samoa has to offer which is regrettable. Samoa has a wealth of warm hearted, smiling people. We do our best to ensure that our gueats are happy, so we have read your review with a tinge of sadness that in this case we did not achieve our objective. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    65
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
142
268
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Amazingly this place lives up to and exceeds all of its reviews. The owners and managers have clearly been doing this for a long time and do it very very well.

As well as being able to safely play in the water by himself, our two year old particularly loved being able to help himself to the banana safe (haha not safe enough from him!) and the toys and books we could borrow from the office.

Our tips: Even if you snorkel the glass bottom boat is definitely worth a ride plus the fare helps the local village. There is some noise overnight from the roosters in the village next door which our toddler found very exciting but if you won’t bring along some ear plugs. And make sure you catch a big ferry to and from Savaii, the trip in the small ferry was stressful, uncomfortable, and very long.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hi LeahS
Thank you for a lovely review. We remember you and your happy little man who loved to play with the toy cars from our toy box. It has encouraged me to increase our selection of toys. Great to know that you enjoyed Savaii lagoon. We enjoyed having you as guests. Best wishes. from Margaret on behalf of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our family of six, including 4 teenagers, had the most wonderful six days at the Savaii LAgoon resort. We were made to feel so welcome and that nothing was too much effort. The staff were also so friendly, engaging and helpful. Our two fales were excellant value and included a seperate, unique bathroom with a lovely hot shower, separate master bedroom and cooking facilities. We were right on athe most beautiful beach with white sand, coral reefs and coconut trees. What more could you ask for as a get away in winter! We will be return visitors!

Diane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Savai'i Lagoon Resort is a wonderful relaxed placed to stay. The resort is situated perfectly on the stunning blue lagoon, and the people are amazingly friendly and wonderful hosts! We travelled as a family and stayed in one of the separate bedroom beach bungalows. It was perfect in its simplicity, and had a good kitchen, always handy with children - and often hard to come by. The food at Savai'i Lagoon resort is actually very good - the best we had during our whole 10 days in Samoa. We loved it, all our thanks to Wayne & Sarah our kiwi hosts.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This resort is situated about one hour from the ferry by road on a beautiful small beach, adjacent to the Le Lagoto Resort next door. We stayed for three nights in mid July. We had a separate bedroom beach bungalow and these are like someone's bach which has been tastefully decorated, with basic amenities for cooking (elec frypan and microwave). I loved the relaxing atmosphere on Savaii, and at the resort. However, we found sleep quite difficult as the resident rooster crows intermittently throughout the night, beginning at about 11. There are three kayaks, two with working paddles. The glass bottom boat trip is worthwhile and ticket purchases partly support the local village. In the time we were there, the petanque and volley ball advertised on the website were not apparent. We enjoyed delicious open sandwiches for lunch at the intimate resort restaurant. The dinner menu changes daily and you order what you want for dinner, and the seating time, around about midday. I recommend the pina coladas as you watch the sunset. There is also a delightful pizza restaurant directly across the road- and a small shop with basic supplies.

Transport: Getting ferry tickets on the Upolo side is a pain and you have to queue on the day no later than an hour before departure. Cash only and you cannot buy a return ticket so you have to do the same thing over again from the Savaii end. We were met at the ferry although we weren't expecting to be- and the taxi ride to the resort is WST70. Ignore the touting taxi drivers who harrass you as you exit the ferry and if there is noone to meet you, walk to a taxi and choose your own otherwise you end up in any old vehicle. Also ensure you agree to the cost of the fare before you start as taxis aren't metered in Samoa.

The resort is on land leased from the local village and the owners clearly work hard to build good relationships with those who live in the vicinity. The resort owners, non-resident, are New Zealanders and the two managers- who appear extremely busy- are also New Zealanders- as are most of the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwitravellerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 6 nights in June this year and found it a very enjoyable resort. We stayed in a beautifully sited bungalow set apart from the others making it very private and looking right out over the lagoon. Sarah and Wayne who manage the resort are extremely helpful and they really went out of their way to make our stay special and they also resolved some transport issue for us as well. The food is based on fresh fish and produce and was always enjoyable. We were there to relax and this is a perfect place to do so - the snorkelling straight out from the beach is wonderful and there is a great variety of fish to see. The library is well stocked and we made good use of it.
We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A traveller may search long and hard and find better value on Savaii, but they will be hard pressed to find a better resort to unwind at. Young Wayne, Old Sarah, and their staff will help you overcome any first world issues and ensure you enjoy a perfect break. Other reviews pretty much cover the basics and they deserve their number one rating.

People staying at La Lagoto next door should consider eating at Savaii Lagoon Resort once or twice and vice versa. They would also be well advised to try Leilina's pizza place once or twice for a bit of variety. If you are travelling over by ferry pick a day when both ferry's are operating and take the newer ferry. The older ferry will get you there, but you will find the trip slower and more uncomfortable. When you arrive at the wharf look for the taxi which Wayne and Sarah usually ensure is waiting there. The going rate as at July 2013 is $70WST. The only other generic advice for Samoa would be to ensure you have reef shoes and snorkelling gear.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing