We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived tired after the long journey from Wellington and were immediately made to feel welcome. The chalet was simple but comfortable with all amenities clean and ready for use, and (importantly) it was located just thirty seconds from the warm sea. Who could ask for more?
We particularly appreciated the care that had been taken to exclude mosquitoes from the chalet, including in the private shower area which was, refreshingly, open to the sky.
The small restaurant which is part of the resort, is built overlooking the sea. The food was excellent with a menu which changed daily. A breakfast of fresh fruit and muesli (as well as tea or coffee) was included at no extra cost. One detail that impressed us was that the water purification system for the resort had been designed so as to supply fresh water to the entire village. Now that shows genuine care.
We would recommend this resort without hesitation. The gentle slope of the beach meant that children could play in the water safely while - for the more adventurous - small kayaks were available at no extra charge. All in all, a splendid place to relax and forget the winter.
Phillip and Nonnita Mann

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hello Phillip M,
Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed Savaii Lagoon. It was especially nice to chat with you on a few occasions and to hear that you are the author of some interesting books. Hope the bus trip was enjoyable on your return to the ferry. Best regards from all the team at Savaii Lagoon Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Thiis was our second visit to Savaii Lagoon Resort and it confirmed why we had returned. It would have to be our favourite spot in the South Pacific. Sarah and Wayne were excellent hosts and the rest of the staff were friendly and very accommodatig too.
The addition to the restaurant is great and the food matches it. Fresh produce sourced locally and cooked beautifully was delicious and meals were very reasonably priced.
The accomodation was clean and spacious and being right on the beach is an absolute bonus. The only thing I think could be improved is the lighting. It's very low at night and unless you want to go to bed there is not enough light to read by. A standard or table lamp would be a great addition.
We had ahalf day trip out with Sam, who is an excellent guide, which was close to 7 hours and cost 200 tala. Excellent value and loads more info than we would have got if we'd gone on our own.
Dive Savaii did avery nice 4 hour snorkelling trip out on the lagoon and we were lucky enough to find a pod of dolphins.
It 's really worthwhile doing the plantation tour that Sarah has organised withone of the villagers. We were privileged to have an umu lunch with him and his family in their own fale and find out how the local people live. Taro and pulisami! Yummy.
All in all a fabulous holiday and we'll be back. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenysthatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We loved Savaii Lagoon Resort ! This gem retreat offered us a slice of heaven beyond our expectation. This is way better than those big commercial resorts, it so personal and family orientated. We stayed for 8 days with our two kids age 5 and 4 who absolutely loved playing in the safe lagoon where they were able to see fish, swim with their goggles and we could relax on the beach - so easy to keep an eye on them.
The bungalow (2 bedroom) we had was very comfortable, had everything we needed. It was clean and spacious and right on the beach!
The food was really of excellent quality - fresh, produce and cooked with love. We found the prices to be very reasonable and excellent portions (value for money).
The water is UV treated so you can drink from the taps - great bonus !
The staff were wonderful and took care of our every need - they are so friendly and got to know our names - this is the sort of personal touch we loved about Savaii lagoon.
Margaret and Bruce were on site at the time we were there and were lovely and helpful - Thank you! We would love to come back to this very special spot on earth !
Mark, Desiree, Gabi and Adam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hi Mark H and family, Thank you for a great and encouraging review. It was good to have you as guests abd equally good to know that you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to your return. Looking forward also to the photos being posted on Facebook for SL. Warm regards from all our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in the honeymoon suite, and wished we'd booked for longer. The managers, Wayne and Sarah were great. The owners, Bruce and Margaret, were visiting from NZ, and were particularly friendly and helpful, and a delight to talk to. The food was excellent, even for vegetarians, and the accommodation was extremelycomfortable. The snorkeling was good and the coral and fish compared well with many of the places we regularly visit in the tropics. We recommend booking transfers with Sam as the bus from the ferry was packed to capacity. A laid back and relaxing place to visit. Would love to go again. Great value. The neighbouring rooster adds to the charm of the place. We slept well, and we're light sleepers.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank jeff031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Guys,
It was great to meet you and so good to know that you enjoyed your stay, You were a lovely couple. Remember to advise that you are returning guests if you decide to holiday with us again. Warm wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a great holiday at the resort but I must add a warning don't use Polynesian Explorer as their charges are over the top, we were charged 227.50Tala for transport from ferry to Resort one way could have got Taxi for 70. Tala The resort beach fantastic went snorkelling every day, just sit back and relax at this resort food wonderful. A must to book Sam for his half day tour, great value.

Room Tip: front units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pommyjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Look I'll be honest, this is not a bad hotel. The rooms are spacy and well appointed, they're ensuite with what pretends to be an outdoor shower (but the mosquito covering means you might as well be inside as you can't see the promised stars). The resort is clean and has a reasonable beach.

This is not however deserving of its rave reviews - it's epically over priced (although this isn't that unusual for Samoa) and the restaurant is desperate considering the massive price. They have a good policy of local and fresh which I admire but the chefs are young and inexperienced based on the poor food they're producing. Very disappointing for the price. Breakfast was equally poor - the fruit plate was brown bananas, 2 tiny pieces of watermelon and some unrecognisable and inedible white fruit. I love fruit and general devour it so for me not to like it is saying something.

The reef off the beach is marked as a non fishing zone which is good and the reef is accessible at all but low tide. However it is an unremarkable coral area with little diversity. This is not uncommon in Samoa but in comparison to to those in nearby Fiji the reefs are disappointing.

Personally I don't think the hotel is worth the price tag, but it is better than most you'll find on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear travelling Turtles,
Thank you for your complimentary comments about Savaii lagoon resort. It is good to hear that you consider the rooms to be spacious and well appointed and that you think that the resort is clean with a reasonable beach. Our beach is looked on to be one of the nicest in Samoa, all part of the reason why our resort is fully booked for the greater part of the year with guests returning each year.
To address some of your concerns, we feel that our restaurant is fairly priced . We offer meals which are inclusive 0f side veges - ( many restaurants charge extra for side dishes) - at a price ranging from NZD17.00 to NZD 25.00 the latter being eye fillet steak locally grown.
Perhaps also you are not aware that many commodities have to be shipped from New Zealand adding greatly to the cost of accommodation in Samoa.
Our outdoor showers are advertised as outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalows and the insect screen on the roof prevents guests from being bitten alive by the marauding mozzies.
Your review appears to say that you are disappointed in what Samoa has to offer which is regrettable. Samoa has a wealth of warm hearted, smiling people. We do our best to ensure that our gueats are happy, so we have read your review with a tinge of sadness that in this case we did not achieve our objective. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Amazingly this place lives up to and exceeds all of its reviews. The owners and managers have clearly been doing this for a long time and do it very very well.

As well as being able to safely play in the water by himself, our two year old particularly loved being able to help himself to the banana safe (haha not safe enough from him!) and the toys and books we could borrow from the office.

Our tips: Even if you snorkel the glass bottom boat is definitely worth a ride plus the fare helps the local village. There is some noise overnight from the roosters in the village next door which our toddler found very exciting but if you won’t bring along some ear plugs. And make sure you catch a big ferry to and from Savaii, the trip in the small ferry was stressful, uncomfortable, and very long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi LeahS
Thank you for a lovely review. We remember you and your happy little man who loved to play with the toy cars from our toy box. It has encouraged me to increase our selection of toys. Great to know that you enjoyed Savaii lagoon. We enjoyed having you as guests. Best wishes. from Margaret on behalf of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £93 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing