We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
478
87
27
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
478
87
27
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the managers glass bottom boat across the road fish swimming hole local village separate bedroom low tide pizza filtered water electric frypan no air con self catering dinner menu barefoot bar other guests restaurant bar
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I first stayed there with my sister we're from American Samoa, me living in NYC and she lives in Arizona. I booked a second trip there with a friend he's from Hawaii but we lost everything during the tsunami when we stayed at the Coconut's Beach Club, to my dismay SLR wouldn't refund my money. But 2013 I told my partner it's the best place to stay in Savai'i so we stayed there for 2 nights it was the best experience he had and so did I.

Room tip: Book a year in advance to get the center front bungalow. Its the best!
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Senele M,
Thank you for your review. Best wishes from Savaii Lagoon resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thankyou Wayne and Sarah. Our second time a the resort and enjoyed every minute of it. We love Samoa and the beautiful people, but a stay at the resort is a must do. Keep up the great work and hope to see you again next year. Stayed in the studio and loved the privacy aspect. I think I said this in my last review, if you want a 5 star Hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want the best beach, a couple of metres from your front door, genuine island bungalows, great service and made to feel like your the only guest in the resort, then have a good look at SLR. Thanks again.

Room tip: If there is only two of you, have a look at the studio, great value. I've added a photo from the verandah.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iluvit292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a second review. We are happy that we came up to your expectations a second time. Best wishes from Savaii Lagoon resort team. - especially from Sarah and Wayne, managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We thought this property was very like a kiwi bach. Rooms were clean but very basic. .There were no real paths to rooms and steps were quite dangerous.Lovely setting but not at all what we expected of a resort. Had booked for five nights but moved after one night to another resort close by which had lovely fales at the same price.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear PJDTrish,
We do our best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable holiday, and so were disappointed to read your review considering that Sarah and Wayne did all they could to make your stay comfortable. Every request you made was met immediately, but it seemed that you set out not to be satisfied from the beginning. Before you booked at Savaii Lagoon your travel agent gave you the option of several resorts with details of all the facilities available, and you chose Savaii Lagoon.

At our resort, you were overheard saying that all the previous reviewers were “either crazy or friends of the resort” All those reviewers would definitely disagree with you. You failed to mention in your review that you had booked two bungalows and that despite our cancellation policy and the fact that we had not failed to perform in any way, we agreed to give your travel agent a refund of some of your stay because we do not wish to have any unhappy guests. You criticised the fact that we had no stein lager beer even though we had several choices of local and international beer from which to choose. You complained that you had to close the windows when it rained, you complained that the beds could not be queen size when in fact they are. You complained that there was no power socket in the bathroom and that you had to dry your hair elsewhere. You should have realised that due to the bathroom being partly open to the outside that it is a safety issue. Your list of complaints was endless. You spoke to Sarah and Wayne, especially Sarah, in a rude and offensive manner, behaviour which is totally unacceptable and not becoming especially from a senior person as you are. You complained in your review that we did not have concrete paths. That is not our style of resort. Why should we have concrete paths on a beautiful beach? Guests enjoy our ambience because of the relaxed and friendly atmosphere we provide with many returning year after year. We pride ourselves on our website which is accurate and shows the resort as it is. You said that the resort next door was the same price as Savaii Lagoon. That was because you were offered a very last minute “at the gate” rate which is not at all comparable with their normal daily rate. You said to our managers that at your age you expected quality accommodation. You are entitled to feel that way but do remember that If you wish five star accommodation, which is most difficult to find in Samoa, then you need to pay for it as obviously that is the style of holiday you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from spending 9 days at Savaii Lagoon Resort, we all had such a great time, we were welcomed by the resort managers Wayne and Sarah whom we feel made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. everyday there was something new, from snorking, kayaking, Crab Racing, Petanque, exploring the local villages, the daily changing menu, (food was amazing), the drinks, the service, bright and clean rooms, the prices were great, and the staff were all very friendly and great to talk too, make for some interesting and funny conversations. Wayne and Sarah also helped organise a few outings for us which included an Island Tour with Sam, which was a fantastic way to get our and explore the beautiful island of Savaii and get involved with some of their culture. We even had a Tattooist arrange to come to the resort and do some fantastic Samoan Tattoos for us. We also went out to a few other resorts and having seen them, Savaii Lagoon was our favourite by far, purely based around the Services, relaxed Atmosphere and the setting which was stunning. Having now been home for 2 days I am defiantly ready to head back, and I plan on doing so in the nearish future.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBrett1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear LBrett1984,
Thank you from the team at Savaii Lagoon. You definitely used every moment of your holiday for enjoyment which is most satisfying to us knowing that we provide what our guests need. We look forward to your return. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We only have one holiday a year and this was the perfect way to start our 10 day stay in Samoa. Sunny, warm and the water was fantastic. Accommodation was very clean and tidy and LOVED the outdoor shower rooms. Enjoy my hot shower one day with rain come down as well! The food was well presented and very enjoyable as was the cocktails and the company of the restaurant staff and managers Wayne and Sarah. Nothing was a hassle and five nights was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Perfect!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Northlanders.
We are very happy that we came up to your expectations for your one annual holiday. Thank you for your review. All the best from Savaii Lagoon Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews