We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Plenty of Sunblock, Nibbles and Fruit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take Plenty of Sunblock, Nibbles and Fruit”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had four nights here with our three children (ages 4, 6 and 8) after 6 nights on Upolo. We had a hire vehicle so drove ourselves to Savaii Lagoon from the ferry terminal, which took about an hour. There is a huge concrete market around the corner from the ferry terminal (to the left as you come off the ferry) in Saleloga which closes around 4 o'clock. We bought fresh pineapples, bananas, cucumbers etc for very cheap. Very friendly lovely people. (We couldn't buy fresh veg or fruit anywhere else so stock up here.)

We had a beachfront bungalow at Savaii Lagoon Resort which was fantastic. We'd just spent 4 nights in fales on the beach at Lalomanu, so it was nice to have proper beds and big fluffy towels - plus a hot shower and our own toilet. The hosts, Christophe and Patricia, were lovely and have established a little restaurant there where they use the freshest local ingredients.

The kids had their own beds with fresh clean bedding, and we had a queen size bed in the next room. There was a large fan on the ceiling and a TV with a DVD player and movies available to hire. We also had an electric frypan, fridge, toaster, and tea and coffee making facilities. We were able to get a load of washing done for $20 tala which was delivered to us the next day clean, dried and folded. There were a pile of magazines and Reader's Digests available to read from the office free of charge.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was served in the restaurant. It consisted of a platter of fresh bananas, pawpaw and coconut. We also had cornflakes, fresh toast and jam. More then adequate for us. We took our own peanut butter, marmite and weetbix for the kids. We were also given the option of a hot cooked breakfast at extra cost. We had one meal here the night we arrived which was delicious. Freshly cooked fish for us and fresh creamy pasta for the kids. There was a night watchman who was on duty from 9 at night until 6 in the morning which was reassuring.

The lagoon was great for snorkelling with lots of fish and coral. The water was warm and clear and the sand white. We could stroll next door to La Legoto Resort for cocktails and dinner, and for a small fee the kids could swim in the pool.

We found a brilliant cocktail bar called "Raci's Beach Club" around the other side of the bay in Manase which we drove to. It would be about a 30 minute walk, or you can hire bikes. It's owned by a Swiss couple who make the BEST cocktails. We'd been told about the Pina Colada's which were delicious, but my pick were the Margaritas. Happy Hour was between 5 and 6.30 so we made the most of it. The kids had strawberry dacquiri "mocktails" and played happily on the beach out the front of the bar.

Another gem was "Sekia Pizza", just next door to Savaii Resort. It's a little fale run by an Austrian who makes fantastic pizza's. Great value. We bought fresh bread and noodles from the shop for our lunches.

We cooked dinner ourselves one night as we'd taken some supplies and hadn't realised the restaurant at Savaii Resort was up and running. We also met people who had dinner at "Stevensons" Resort in Manase which they said was great. There were certainly plenty of options for dining out.

Swimming with the turtles is a 5 minute drive down the road which is well worth doing. The turtles were in a lagoon, in a small village, which was blocked off so they couldn't escape, but it was a large area they swam in. My husband and two of the kids got in and swam with the turtles which was amazing. Beautiful gentle creatures. We paid a small fee to the villagers for the privilege.

It was at Savaii we felt the earthquake and were able to get straight into our car and drive up the hill where a lot of villagers and tourists congregated at the school. When it was safe to come down we spent our last day sitting on the beach, unaware of the complete devastation down south. There were a few surges in the bay but nothing major. Sadly we discovered the glorious beach at Lalomanu had been hit by the tsunami, and that the fales in which we stayed at Litia Sini had been completely destroyed.

We had brilliant weather for our entire 10 day stay in Samoa and went through heaps of sunblock. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GisbornePartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    69
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
149
276
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Loved the resort but was shocked to find it hard to purchase fresh fruit and veges anywhere- no roadside stalls- well worth stopping at markets at lower end of Island in taxi and stocking up on what you may need. Take wine/alcohol too - and expect to eat tuna for lunch in toasted bread from breakfast- canned foods available in store across the road. Would be good to have a car- was far too hot to cycle and walk far. Snorkelling trip was awesome. Snorkling was superb.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaciouaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Had 3 glorious nights here & it was the highlight of our 2nd trip to Samoa. Unfortunately the cook was ill , but it was only a 50m walk next door along the beach to Le Lagoto Resort, where we opened a tab & were treated as if we were staying there.The facilities at Savai'i Lagoon are quite new, & are kept in very good nick. It is only 15m to go for a swim in the lagoon , & snorkeling, swimming & diving are all possible - Dive Savai'i is just across the other side of the road.
Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We arrived welcomed by a warm Samoan hug. It made us feel welcomed that instant. The bungalow was clean and modestly sufficient. The master bedroom was adorned very nicely. The only issue I had with the bungalow was the cramped kitchen area. However, it has a complete kitchenette with microwave and electric pans, etc.
What is most striking about our stay here, was the warmth of the hotel staff, and the location of the resort. As soon as you open the bungalow door, you are welcomed by the beach with gorgeous sand and a wide expanse of blue blue blueee waters perfect for wading and shallow-water snorkelling.
Barbecue facilities were provided, all you have to do is inform before-hand if you want to use it. The staff willingly accompanies you to look for a place to buy your bbq needs. And any other needs, really ^_^ Breakfast is served fresh with local bread and local fruit daily.
However, as much as this is a slice of paradise, there is no bar or swimming pool provided (who needs a swimming pool when u have the whole ocean before you! Truly, it was fantastic). You can go over to the bar on the hotel next door, but it does cost a dear fortune when u have friends who love their drinks ^_^ And if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is the place. Loud music and raucousness after hours are frowned upon, buuut, feel free to inquire as to where the beach party is!
Snorkelling facilities are provided across the road and a mini-market for basic foodstuffs. I would definitely recommend this place to other travellers :)
PS. Their website have a fantastic 360degree view of the bungalows!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr4gonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Excellent accommodation and services, great being next to pizza place, local shops, bar next door, diver and snorkel shop across the road. With young children it was good to be able to cook some meals for ourselves in our bungalow. Location is fantastic, perfect safe beach for children and enough depth to still be able to swim at low tide. Good to find a top place in Samoa at a reasonable price. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

As I had never been to Samoa before I was a little apprehensive about the quality of accommodation, amongst other things. When we got to the resort, we were pleasantly surprised how comfortable, spacious and clean everything was. The fale faced directly onto the lagoon, which was only about 10 metres away. There aren't many options for eating out in Fagamolo, but the resort is only a few weeks away from completing their own restaurant, which will certainly increase the quality of local food available. The hosts were so lovely, and totally accommodating in anything we requested. This is the MUST STAY resort on Savaii...without a doubt !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Very welcoming and knowledgable hosts. A lovely clean room with good facilities, fantastic location, right on the beach!!

Handy pizza place next door and dive shop right across the road - great!!

Loved the outdoor bathroom and the included breakfasts were ample and very tasty!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandBelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
220 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing