We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful beach, great food perfect for travelling with children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband and I and our 10 month old infant son have recently travelled to Samoa and enjoyed a wonderful holiday, staying for 10 nights at Savaii lagoon resort. We made this our base and explored the island from here. We were so impressed with our stay here, that I am attaching a copy of the letter we sent to the owners. This destination is perfect if you are travelling with children and they accomodated our needs exceptionally well.
Dear Margaret
Patrick and I have now returned from our wonderful holiday in Samoa. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Savaii Lagoon and wanted to write to you to let you know how impressed we are at the management of your resort.
Our wonderful hosts, Christoph and Patricia, were professional, open hearted, never too busy to share with us their extensive knowledge of "everything samoan" and extremely friendly, making us feel valued and very much at home.
They are wonderful people and they made our holiday very special and memorable for us in every way.
The food that Christoph served, was completely first class and we know that to try and match the quality and taste hear locally to us, back in Australia, would be impossible. We feel that our holiday was given a definite luxourious quality, by the food we ate at the resort and all the finer details that Christoph and Patricia bring to their management of savaii lagoon.
We will be highly recommending a stay here to everyone we meet who is travelling to samoa and we will endeavour to return for another holiday.
Thankyou to a wonderful team, from a family who has been more than happy with the service and stay at Savaii lagoon

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missyNewSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Savaii Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2009

Visited Samoa at various times but only 2nd time on savaii.. Wife samoan born. Resort tops. German managers Christoph and Patricia very friedly and helpful. Christoph very good cook mainly fresh fish served in his restauant Ti' otala. Try Masimasi and his cheesecake and his Guglehupf! Food so good that guests from the resort next door dine there. Breakafast fresh fruit etc served as always by bretty smiling young ladies. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We rented the Garden Bungalow. Lovely could quite easy live in it. Full kitchen , bretty flowers decorating the bed, and a sexy outdoor shower/wc. TV coud only get TV 1 but who needs it! Less than 10 secs to the white sandy beach. Lots of shady places to hide from the sun. Snorkeling great. Plentyful beautiful marinelife nibbling on your legs. Sunset is something else! Take plenty of sunblock! Easy to get around by taxi or hire a bikef rom next door. Andy next door also makes the best pizza (Pizza Hut watch out). If you are after a drink pushbike to Racis Beachbar a swiss owns it, about 30mins walking or 5 mins taxi. Experience tought us to let the resort order the taxi! Internet is only about the same distance away but note its only dialup. Suggest to take your own nibbles chips etc, hard or not able to get them. No newspapers and if you want to cook your own meals bring your own food from Apia or oerseas. All in all the best holiday for a very long time. Another tip, Christoph has a tip box for all the staff on the counter of his restaurant kitchen. Will be back! Hope and Eric

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwiswissAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in the superior waterfront bungalow (if you can afford to I would only book this one as it's really so much better) and we felt like we were in heaven. It was incredibly hot and air conditioning would have been a bonus, but to be literally several footsteps away from the most delicious beach and lagoon was magical. The location is truly superb and I thought the snorkelling was really good - you just had to time it right with tides etc.

The new managers are definitely quirky and putting their own spin on the place. They were very helpful and friendly, and the owner cook is doing a good job in general with the meals. The breakfasts are great, dinner a little overpriced but very fresh and tasty. The pizza place next door is well priced and delicious too. And as many have said the cocktails at the Le Lagoto next door are a nice treat. And the ice-creams from the shop across the road were a welcome relief on many an afternoon , oh and morning and evening!!!

The only negative was that the German managers discouraged too much interaction with their local staff by the guests. It wasn't overt but was definitely obvious. We felt uncomfortable on several occasions when we were chatting to staff and the owners came by and subtly pushed the staff away and took over the conversation.

But overall it is definitely worth staying and I hope that as the new managers make more of an impact they don't lose the intimate magic of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We also had a lovely time at the Savaii Lagoon. The beach was lovely and the snorkeling pretty good, (though not fantastic). The superior bungalows were spacious and clean with great bathrooms. But, most of all, the friendly, slightly eccentric, German hosts and the other interesting people we met over meals made this the highlight of our trip. We felt right at home and felt a sad and genuine affection saying good bye to our hosts, after only three days. The manager was also a great cook and there was also a good pizza place one side and internet access and more good food at Le Lagoto on the other (no need to go to Manase for internet either) .

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Our first time to Samoa an excellent place to stay. We were staying on the southern part of Upolu when the tsunami hit and as our accommadation was destroyed we rang the owners to see if we could stay there and where gladly excepted. When you arrive the German owners give you a fantastic welcome and show you around. You rooms are clean and spacious and 3 steps from a beautiful beach. You are very isolated and the area is extremely unspoilt. If you are looking for a white sandy beach in an area unspolit by tourists this is the place for you. The only down side is you are a long way from shops and i would adivce you take some snacks and drinks as your accommadation has a kitchen. Take a hammock as well as you can hang it up between the palm trees and it is a great way to spend your day. Also bring plenty of books! We will return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angusgoodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arretron, owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Thank you for this review.
This resort has been built and is owned by my husband and I and we are New Zealanders. The German couple mentioned in this review are our managers. The focus of our resort is to create a casual and private atmosphere with self contained faclities on a beautiful beach, in contrast to a resorty type of holiday which could be found anywhere in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had four nights here with our three children (ages 4, 6 and 8) after 6 nights on Upolo. We had a hire vehicle so drove ourselves to Savaii Lagoon from the ferry terminal, which took about an hour. There is a huge concrete market around the corner from the ferry terminal (to the left as you come off the ferry) in Saleloga which closes around 4 o'clock. We bought fresh pineapples, bananas, cucumbers etc for very cheap. Very friendly lovely people. (We couldn't buy fresh veg or fruit anywhere else so stock up here.)

We had a beachfront bungalow at Savaii Lagoon Resort which was fantastic. We'd just spent 4 nights in fales on the beach at Lalomanu, so it was nice to have proper beds and big fluffy towels - plus a hot shower and our own toilet. The hosts, Christophe and Patricia, were lovely and have established a little restaurant there where they use the freshest local ingredients.

The kids had their own beds with fresh clean bedding, and we had a queen size bed in the next room. There was a large fan on the ceiling and a TV with a DVD player and movies available to hire. We also had an electric frypan, fridge, toaster, and tea and coffee making facilities. We were able to get a load of washing done for $20 tala which was delivered to us the next day clean, dried and folded. There were a pile of magazines and Reader's Digests available to read from the office free of charge.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was served in the restaurant. It consisted of a platter of fresh bananas, pawpaw and coconut. We also had cornflakes, fresh toast and jam. More then adequate for us. We took our own peanut butter, marmite and weetbix for the kids. We were also given the option of a hot cooked breakfast at extra cost. We had one meal here the night we arrived which was delicious. Freshly cooked fish for us and fresh creamy pasta for the kids. There was a night watchman who was on duty from 9 at night until 6 in the morning which was reassuring.

The lagoon was great for snorkelling with lots of fish and coral. The water was warm and clear and the sand white. We could stroll next door to La Legoto Resort for cocktails and dinner, and for a small fee the kids could swim in the pool.

We found a brilliant cocktail bar called "Raci's Beach Club" around the other side of the bay in Manase which we drove to. It would be about a 30 minute walk, or you can hire bikes. It's owned by a Swiss couple who make the BEST cocktails. We'd been told about the Pina Colada's which were delicious, but my pick were the Margaritas. Happy Hour was between 5 and 6.30 so we made the most of it. The kids had strawberry dacquiri "mocktails" and played happily on the beach out the front of the bar.

Another gem was "Sekia Pizza", just next door to Savaii Resort. It's a little fale run by an Austrian who makes fantastic pizza's. Great value. We bought fresh bread and noodles from the shop for our lunches.

We cooked dinner ourselves one night as we'd taken some supplies and hadn't realised the restaurant at Savaii Resort was up and running. We also met people who had dinner at "Stevensons" Resort in Manase which they said was great. There were certainly plenty of options for dining out.

Swimming with the turtles is a 5 minute drive down the road which is well worth doing. The turtles were in a lagoon, in a small village, which was blocked off so they couldn't escape, but it was a large area they swam in. My husband and two of the kids got in and swam with the turtles which was amazing. Beautiful gentle creatures. We paid a small fee to the villagers for the privilege.

It was at Savaii we felt the earthquake and were able to get straight into our car and drive up the hill where a lot of villagers and tourists congregated at the school. When it was safe to come down we spent our last day sitting on the beach, unaware of the complete devastation down south. There were a few surges in the bay but nothing major. Sadly we discovered the glorious beach at Lalomanu had been hit by the tsunami, and that the fales in which we stayed at Litia Sini had been completely destroyed.

We had brilliant weather for our entire 10 day stay in Samoa and went through heaps of sunblock. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GisbornePartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Loved the resort but was shocked to find it hard to purchase fresh fruit and veges anywhere- no roadside stalls- well worth stopping at markets at lower end of Island in taxi and stocking up on what you may need. Take wine/alcohol too - and expect to eat tuna for lunch in toasted bread from breakfast- canned foods available in store across the road. Would be good to have a car- was far too hot to cycle and walk far. Snorkelling trip was awesome. Snorkling was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaciouaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £92 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing