We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Our first trip to Samoa and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. The Savaii Lagoon Resort is small and elegant in its surroundings. The added value was the small restaurant run by the managers with the most spectacular fresh fish and vegetables. I had taken food after dire warnings but ate there almost every night. The massage was excellent, too. This was what we needed, a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Excellent bungalows which have everything you need, located on white sandy beach, which is great for swimming (at all but low tide) Water at resort is safe to drink.

Lovely quiet location on Savaii island which is a step back in time and this makes it all the more appealing.

Hired bikes for two days from next door (the pizza place) and rode for a couple of hours in either direction a great way to see part of the island at a leisurely pace

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zeb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have just returned from a week in Samoa, spent six nights at Savaii Lagoon Resort. Stunning sunsets and views from the bungalows, you just walk out the door and into the ocean. Snorkelled every day (it was the best idea to take your own gear as you could go anytime..), and the tides were not a hassle, you just build them into your day. Plenty of colourful fish and the coral further out was amazing, at low tide we just wallowed around near the shore feeding the fish or went over to the deep pool in front of Le Lagoto.
Patricia and Cristoph were very attentive hosts and the complimentary breakfasts were a lovely (and inexpensive way) to start the day with our teenagers. (In Apia we paid $25 tala each for the same thing). We had two evening meals at the restaurant and Cristophs Flaming Snapper sicilian style was among the best I have tasted.
This is not a luxury resort where you are shut inside with your air-conditioning, this is better. The bungalows are spacious and immaculately kept, you pull the blinds in the morning and it's like WOW. We used a couple of electric fans as well as the ceiling fans, and yes the nights can be hot but you are in Samoa. Go for a swim!
We hired a car one day and did a round trip of Savaii which was really interesting and our only wet day. The Blowholes are amazing. Patricia organised the car and taxis for us which was great.
It is quite a way to get there, we went straight fom the airport to the resort and it was a long haul especially as we ended up on the old ferry over. Bit of a culture shock that we will laugh about for years to come. Savaii is like something out of the 1950's, we found the people quite reserved, it was really really interesting. Thoroughly enjoyed our trips to the village store across the road from Le Lagoto. We bought ice-cream, great fish and chips ($10 tala), bbq lunch ($3 tala scoop with rice), coke etc for the kids ($6.80 tala), bread, sweetbread and milk. No alcohol at this one so pick up your Vailima (light beer) at Tuasivi supermarket on the way in. We took our NZ wines with us.
Sunset, deck chairs in the water of the lagoon, tipple in hand - what a way to end the day!
Such a welcome break from Winter in NZ. Thank you Savaii Lagoon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sedgemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

After travelling extensively for the past few years, this is the first time I have felt the need to write a Trip Adviser review. Savaii Lagoon do the basics right which makes for an unforgettable stay. Firstly the location is top notch – probably the best I saw in Savaii. The bungalows are right on a lovely beach and while the lagoon is quite shallow, it is still nice for a dip. While the bungalows have little outdoor space, the inner is well furnished, spacious and most importantly clean. The indoor/outdoor shower is a nice touch.

As for the service, Chris and Patricia were helpful, friendly and always up for a chat – as were the rest of the staff. Such genuine hospitality that is rarely seen.

I will certainly be recommending this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joelmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This resort is low key but total quality in terms of the people, their service, the simplicity of the place, the unspoiled location, yet proximity to good food outlets including their own. There was great swimming and snorkelling, clean sand and seawater and clean running drinking water for the guests and the locals which is a nice touch.There is very good cellphone coverage but no internet which made the holiday all the more meaningful. Water 29c, air 30degrees is hard to beat. For this type of facility I rated it highly. I found it a totally relaxing spot and definately on the return list. Samoa is a delight for many reasons. This lovely place in this very pretty bay is certainly one of them.
!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennyshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I did not stay at this resort, however visited it this June as I am getting married next door at Le Lagoto next year and wanted to check out places for my guests to stay.

My parents and I planned to pop in for a few mintues and take a look at a room, Well the lovely German couple for manage the resort showed us around the whole place, The rooms dont look like much from the outside as they are concrete (but that way they dont leak and they hold well). But inside they are lovely, very modern, with a full kitchen and a nice bathroom. we were really impressed.

We then stayed for a coffee in there lil resturant that the couple own and run, This is real coffee and it was amazing.

After that we came back for dinner that night and had fresh fish with olives and tomato, it came with a complimentary entree of egg plant with herbs (weird i know, but it was amazing)

After that we had a delicious dessert.

All in all the place is a tucked away little treat, from the road it doesnt really look like much but it is amazing.

I will be recommending my guests to stay here as it is just amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saraandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Friends keep asking why we keep going back to Savaii Lagoon.I tell them it is not only the best spot in Samoa but the best in the South Pacific and I can tell you since taking winter holidays since 1978 we have tried them all.Another guest family returning from the "round the island tour" came up to me and said you are right about this place ,we have just seen all the others. The snorkeling is fantastic with a huge range of tropical fish always visible in the clear safe waters of the Lagoon.The temperature is always 30 degrees and on our last 4 visits the rain has conveniently fallen at night.This may have been a coincidence but the locals have told me that at the times of the year we have visited(May to July) this is normally the case.The kayaking is easy in the sheltered waters of the bay and the road is flat for cycling to the adjacent villages.The addition of the restaurant this trip made for additional contact with other guests at breakfast and the service from the friendly staff made an enjoyable start to the day.At "beer o`clock" Christof and Patricia always have a cool Vailima in the fridge!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bcolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
21 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i WS2381, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £88 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing