We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once great, now terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vacations Beach Fales
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I visited this place in 2004 when it was the place to be on Manase beach - it is no longer the case.

This place has been destroyed by cyclone damage - both the over water deck and the fales plus their associated furniture are in terrible condition and have not been repaired even though this happened in 2009.

The restaurant is atmosphere-less. The girls who work here look sullen and make no attempt to create an atmosphere and help you enjoy your stay. They shove the food in front of you, they remove the plates and collect your money - nothing more - nothing less.

The fale's themselves are dark and furniture free apart from a bed and mosquito net. Simple conveniences found elsewhere such as a foot wash bucket are absent - it would take minimal effort to make this place glorious again but there is a profound lack of interest.

Stay at Tanu or Jane's instead. Vacations has been and gone.

Room Tip: Beach front are the only ones worth having, but look next door for better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtmf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We took our 4yr and 6yr old boys to Vacations and it was fantastic. We have been to Savaii before and stayed in fales, and wanted to bring the boys back. The kids loved being on the beachfront, very clean and tidy. Mattresses were on white beds which was nicer than on the floor.
We had a little deck overlooking the beach and were positioned right by the restaurant. This is the only fale that can accommodate a family of four. We were concerned about restaurant noise but even though it was school holidays there were very few people around. Its very safe and we let our kids roam free during the day and night. The food was nice but very european, we had chicken 3 out of the 4 nights just prepared a different way, mostly with rice, but still good for the price. The service is the samoan way, so take a chill pill if you expect any different. A shop with a few supplies is across the road. We wanted to catch the bus, but mixed messages meant it never showed up when we were expecting it. Located on what we consider the best beach on Savaii, with safe swimming and clean beaches (although Savaii' is very clean overall)

Room Tip: Some fales are on the beachfront some are behind, so any of the beachfront ones would have a nicer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Charise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Manase is a gorgeous spot and Vacation Beach Fales has you sleeping almost right on the beach. The mosquito net did its job but we both had an awful sleep - believe it or not the waves kept us awake! Figured that the second night onwards would be much more successful from a sleep point of view. Pillows were lumpy but it's budget accommodation so to be expected. Dinner and breakfast were included and both were tasty (you get served one option though, rather than ordering from a menu). The bathrooms were clean enough but be aware that the shower is just a thin plastic pipe spurting cold water. We're pleased we popped over to Savai'i for the night but as it's such a quiet spot, we were pleased we spent most of our time on Upolu. Definitely a beautiful spot if you want to slow down!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExploringKiwisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently stayed at Vacations for 3 nights. "we" being 2 couples in our late 50es. It was the end of March and we had worried about the weather, but it turned out to be the perfect tropical holiday we had imagined! The good thing was that we practically were in Manase on our own. Hardly anyone in the whole area....which was wonderful :-) . Probably very different in the main season.
Be prepared for basic in the literal sense of the word. The fales are equipped with a bed and a mosquito net, and a string you can hang towels or clothes on...and that is it. Privacy is created by lowering palm leaf "blinds". The walls are trellis. The view is to die for. We LOVED it
There are two toilet cubicles and a shower room for each sex and they are kept nice and tidy....but part of it is up to yourself, not dragging in sand.
The fales are under lovely big shady trees and coconut palms ( safely away from where you sit :-) . We only saw few mozzies but were glad we had mozzie net and coils.

Recent stormy weather has removed a lot of sand on the beach and made the dining room deck unstable, so it was closed off. It did not matter a lot as it was pleasant to sit under the tall timbers with dinner and breakfast, and we still had wonderful ocean views. The beach is still there, but the stairs now stop about a meter above the beach, but you can still safely step down from the rocks. The beach is great at low tide when the water is clear. At high tide it becomes murky, BUT that is when the sea-turtles comes in!!! We sat and watched them for hours, grazing on the bottom and coming up for air. Just walk a few hundred meters to the left and the water is clear again...and the reef there is in better shape....but no sea-turtles ;-)

The food was lovely. There is no menu, you get what the cook chooses to cook and it is served up on a plate. It was a lovely, tasty mix of Samoan and western food. Breakfast was pawpaw, bananas, coconut and freshly baked bread with a variation of eggs. When we got peckish we went to the service station across the road and bought local stuff.
Things were laid-back, friendly, quiet and totally pleasant. Staff was great, Ulu and the the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. At WST 90 pp pr night ( dinner bed and breakfast) we thought it was a bargain!!!

We had booked transport from ferry to Manase and back from Savaii Transfers in Salelolga and it cost us wst 200 for the 4 of us return.
Thank you Vacations Beach Fales...we had a dream holiday!

Room Tip: Get a fale on the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phatsoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

LOVED going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of the waves hitting the shore. Its budget accommodation but for the price you get more than what you pay for. Breakfast and dinner included is amazing. We had gourmet style breakfast and dinner our two nights we were there I was extremely but pleasantly surprised. Service is great. The girls deserve a tip so don't be shy lol. Wished I had of made more use of it while we were there. Definitely be heading back whenever im in the area. Thank you for being the highlight of my stay in Samoa.

Room Tip: The beach fales have shared bath aminities but they are pretty clean and well kept from what I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What an awesome place to stay! My boyfriend and I spent 6 nights here and loved it. Awesome value for money. We paid 250 tala for a beach cottage with private bathroom and a cool outdoor shower. There was no fan as stated on their website but there were plenty of windows to open and most nights there was enough breeze to keep the room comfortable. And it was right next to the beach. The room looked lovely when we arrived with fresh flowers on the bed. Comfortable, kingsize bed and a single bed as well. There was a small table and chairs and we put these on our little verandah overlooking the sea.
The rate included breakfast and dinner. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we weren't expecting the food to be that great but it was really nice. Lots of fresh fruit and delicious homemade bread for breakfast, with scrambled eggs a couple of mornings. Dinner was tasty and filling and it was nice to have island food such as taro which I fell in love with. My only complaint is that 3 nights they forgot I don't eat meat! But they remedied that. I got fish most nights which was great. I'm also allergic to soy which is something they use quite a lot and 1 night I'm sure I got some soy sauce even though the chef assured me there wasn't any used. . They were more than happy to cater for my dietary needs however they may need reminding if you have special requirements! The dining area always looked lovely with beautiful table coverings.
The staff were very friendly, looked lovely in their many, beautiful, colourful outfits and were very obliging. We only had to ask. The towels aren't changed every day but we gor fresh towels when we asked. We both like a cup of tea before bed and they gave us an electric jug to have in our room the while time we were there. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Beautiful beach and the swimming waw great, contrary to some reviews we read. We even got to swim with turtles which was amazing. Luckily there are palm trees on the beach as it was too hot most of the time to be in the sun. There are several resorts along this stretch of coast and Vacations was the only one with shade on the beach.
The staff organised a full day tour for us which cost 75 tala and it was brilliant. Nearby Stevenson's offered a silmilar tour- half a day for more than double the cost! Not impressed with Stevenson's by the way. We had lunch there one day and when we asked if we could get dessert were told the kitchen was busy!!!
Several evenings we went for a walk to the next village and bought an icecream at Aunty Pusi's. Great way to end the day.
We are sure we picked the best place to stay out of all the ones nearby that we saw. We loved Samoa and want to go back and will definitely stay at Vacations again. Brilliant place!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach cottage great if you want a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with some friends before continuing on through Savaii, it was our first night on the island and the staff was very friendly, 90 tala per person gave us each our own fales and included breakfast and dinner. Our fales looked over the ocean and the cool breeze meant sleeping was no problem, even with mosquito nets. Dinner wasn't that amazing but a little of their local hot sauce cured that (they sell it at the gas station across the street). one of only 5 ATMs on island is located right outside the hotel so cash was never a problem. Staff was very friendly. A great stop for anyone making a trip around the island, there are so many places to see on Savaii so we could only stay there one night. Our breakfast was a little light (just toast and coffee) but we found out as we were leaving during lunch that it was because the lunch was the Sunday Toonai (Sunday Feast) which explained the light breakfast. They let us stay and eat even though we were leaving, very nice indeed. It is a nice big sandy beach, away from surf so you can let the kiddies play and sit back and have a cold one. Just make sure there isn't too much of a current first (there wasn't any when we were there but the sign says watch out so there might be one). Unfortunately the snorkelling is not very good, much of the reef is dead and what little life there is is being eaten up by Crown of Thornes Sea Stars. A great place to stay for 1 or 2 nights when visiting Savaii.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
240 reviews
0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
234 reviews
0 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
421 reviews
0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacations Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacations Beach Fales

Address: Manase Street | Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: £122 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talofa Lava and Welcome to Vacations Beach Fales in Manase Savaii. We're more than happy to greet you, assist you with kindness if need assistance and definitely make your stay feel at home. About Ratings it is ST90pp thus includes Breakfast and Dinner. For Self contain at ST400 per day per unit thus includes Breakfast and Dinner, Beach Front Cottage with En-suite Bathroom at ST250 per day per unit with an extra at ST50 includes Breakfast and Dinner. We make sure that you enjoy staying with us and all your needs are accomplished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vacations Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacations Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Vacations Beach Fales Savai i
Vacations Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing