We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The greatest place on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The greatest place on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Vaimoana, the most remakable place I have ever staged at.
All staff members where incredible, lovely, warm people who made our stay 100% perfect.

Whatever your needs were, they were catered too straight away.

The food was delicious!

We stayed in Sunset Fale 1, and what a view, and what a basic but incredibly homely room it was too :)

I high recommend anyone on a trip whether it be business or leisure - to stay at Vaimoana.

Thank you very much, this place has a spot in my heart forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWTGallagher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    57
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
113
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although a long way from the wharf (about 1 3/4 hours) it was worth the drive. The setting is idyllic,the food delicious and the staff so friendly, helpful and obliging. We thoroughly enjoyed having a sunset fale over the water. I would have no hesitation recommending a stay at Vaimoana and would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Sunset fale with AC/fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacifictraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I cant say enough about Sale and his team...what a great time we had at Va i Moana.
the staff were attentive and the food absolutely delicious. We visited in March which was the rainy season...gorgeous hot days, with the odd rain shower thrown in to keep you cool. The beach had a safe lagoon, and it didn't really matter what time of the day it was, you could swim, snorkel with the colourful fish, some lovely bits of coral, jump off the end of the jetty, relax on the pontoon, swing in the hammock or just sit back and chill. We spotted so many of the sea turtles swimming by ...why would you pay money to go and see them in captivity??
The rooms were comfortable enough and spacious...while not 5 star, they were more than adequate, with a small refrigerator in the room and small table and chairs and a large comfy chair and air conditioning.
Our room had its own deck, with its newly built verandah was great to chill out on and watch the world go by, in between swims and snorkelling...seriously they built the verandah while we were there! Drinks were fabulous, sorry but 15tala for a Pina Colada...too good to turn down a few of those! the freshest of fruit and seafood was heaven.
We took up the use of the rental vehicle for a trip round the island, seriously those Samoan kids really do smile and wave incessantly..makes you smile. We took a massive bag of sweets with us for the kids, and would hand the treats off as we drove around the Island..could the smiles get any wider!
Our trip to Samoa was for our wedding anniversary, which we didn't tell Sale or his team about. We did ask them on the day, if it was okay if we opened our Champagne and drank that on the jetty in the afternoon to celebrate, they were more than obliging. Ice bucket, champagne glasses... then for our dinner, they set up a special table for 2 on the end of the jetty, candle lit the whole way out, placed flowers and plants all around just to make out day even more special....thankyou.

We would not hesitate to recommend Va-i-Moana to anyone...be it couples, families or friends. So many different types of accommodation to choose for all budgets...we will be back one day!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Va-i-Moana was the highlight of our holiday in Samoa. We loved everything about this beautiful seaside lodge, from it's welcoming and friendly atmosphere to the genuine warmth and hospitality shown to us by the management and staff. For a small 3 star lodge the care and service we received was superior to any 5 star accommodation we have experienced. We will be back.... for the atmosphere, for the food, for the beautiful surroundings, the snorkelling, the kayaking, but most of all, for the people. Thank you to Rosie and her amazing team... Nu'u, Tilli, Tapu, Lilo, Pora, Nai, Sara, Luma, Taka, Tau, the chef and everyone else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartsong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I were cycling around Savai'i and were recommended this resort, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a lovely room overlooking the sea and close to the clean and tidy communal bathroom. The staff were excellent, very friendly and looked after us well. They remembered our names and always called us by them. We enjoyed the food and the whole restaurant setting overlooking the ocean was great. We have already decided that a return trip to Samoa would definitely include a stay here. We would definitely recommend Va-i-Moana.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you head to Samoa you must go to Savaii!! My favorite place to feel relaxed and to get refreshed from it all. I had heard about Vai-i-moana and decided to do a road trip with some girl friends. The little beach and the view were superb-I slept on the hammock on the pier and awoke to beauty of creation. The service was nice and the food was good. I loved the atmosphere, that I could choose a spot to read and relax or take a dip or challenge myself, if I wanted to...you can swim to a floating platform in the sea or across to a deserted island or use the kayak instead. Good for a family or group of friends wanting to getaway by the sea with a few things to offer for entertainment. If you are like me and love to know about the culture and history of people it's good to have someone with you while you go around the island to tell you of the deep history of Savaii or get a book in Upolu from the Samoa Tourism Authority to help you out. You won't just admire the beauty of Savaii but truly appreciate the place, the people and their history. Thank you Vai-i-moana for my last weekend in Samoa, I totally enjoyed it - I will be back and hope others will stop in and stay with you!!

Room Tip: There are different types of room for different people- you can have an air con room, basic Fale sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was exceptional value, good snorkeling provided at 10 tala per person or use the kayak to access the best coral gardens i have seen in Samoa. Fishing was great, both from the charter and from the beach. Excellent sunsets.
My family and i were spoilt by the staff and Sale the owner we intended to stay 5 days but ended up staying 11. The babies were taken care off during meals and nothing was to difficult for the staff.
We will definately be back for another perfect holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side get a good sunset view. The cottages on the east side would also get a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asau
25.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
32.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
18.0 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Property: Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Asau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing