We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS VAIMOANA.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS VAIMOANA.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just 24 hours ago we are snorkeling around the jetty at Vaimoana when we bump into a friendly and rather curious turtle. Just one of the many wonderful turtle moments over our 9 day stay at Vaimoana Lodge.

Breakfast follows our last turtle encounter with THE BEST coconut jam pancakes. Crepe thin and oozing with a sauce made of caramelized sugar and freshly squeezed coconut cream. And just to take culinary excellence to the next level the pancakes are served with Samoan bacon. Sweet, succulent smokey bacon that was running around the village a few weeks ago. Truly free range. Truly delicious. Truly.

Breakfast is burnt off by a Kayak around the water front village adjacent to Vaimoana. The local church choir's song drifts across the balmy pacific ocean and little kids gather on a rock squealing at us to come take them for a ride. Another snorkel is followed by some hammock recovery and the finishing up of my third novel of the holiday when today's fishing charter arrives home. Triumphant! Again! This time with 3 x 3 foot long Masimasi on board and a very happy Ozzie bloke. He is eating that fish not 20 minutes later, served up by Ina the chef, it's dripping in a light and tasty coconut and lime sauce.

We polish off our last lobster of the stay for lunch… Mornay or salad. Your choice. And then it is time for us to head home to NZ.

Adorned with fragrant Frangipani and gardenia flower necklaces we are serenaded off with a ukelele performance by the wonderful Sale who owns this place, and his amazing wait staff Nu'u, Tau and Rosie. These guys are wonderfully attentive waiters with great big smiles and sparkly eyes yes, but they are so much more than this. They climb coconut trees, cook traditional food in the umu, sing and dance in the ways of old and Rosie gives a fabulous Samoan massage. Their connection to their culture is humbling.

We promise to return next May. This is a promise worth keeping.

Vaimoana is beyond criticism. If you are looking for something more than a resort experience. If you are looking for a life experience. Vaimoana is your destination. Thanks Sale, Rosie, Nu'u, Rosie, David, Ina and Tau and EVERYONE else for making the world a better place.

Lots of love Felicity and Arani.

Room Tip: The beach front villa with air con, fans and a fabulous covered balcony was AMAZING. But everyone lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felicitymr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    59
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
117
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 2 nights in July. We have to say we had the best service in all of Samoa here! We had a lovely visit to the school and also went snorkelling. The snorkelling was amazing but would have been more enjoyable at a higher tide.
The highlight of our stay was the candle lit lobster dinner on the beach, a truly memorable experience and a very unexpected surprise !
The key behind Va-I-Moana's success is the staff, thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrganicMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed only 2 nights and regret not being able to stay longer. The friendly family atmosphere of this place is possibly its biggest drawing card. This coupled with the fair room prices and generous meals (breakfast and dinner included in our package) made it an ideal place to start our 2014 Samoan Adventure. The boys in our group booked a fishing trip with Sale and were rewarded with an 85kg Marlin which came out at dinner time. Our first night we had dinner on the beach and the 2nd the staff put on a great floor show for our entertainment. Our large group stayed across the range of rooms available here. From shared facilities to the brand new ensuite with aircon rooms. There were no complaints from anyone about the quality of rooms, beds were comfy and rooms were cool enough to not need fans or aircon in the evenings.

Room Tip: Sunset villas with ensuite were really cute and set right in the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_eLLLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at this resort. After a muckup by Expedia in our booking, alternative arrangements were made for us by a very gracious host and he invited us back to his resort for dinner on them,that night , It was a romantic beautiful and delicious dinner by candlelight on the beach. The next day we checked in to this resort where we enjoyed full hospitality at it's best. Very friendly staff and meals were delicious. Swimming was top of the list for an 11yr old son and he had a blast!!, resort setting was breathtakingly beautiful. This place will be top of the itinerary for any future family holidays to Samoa. Very highly recommended. The rooms were very clean and well presented. Thankyou Saleimoa, Rosie and staff. Very grateful for your kindess. It could have been a stressful start to our holiday but you made it a different outcome for our family. Grateful thanks. Faafetai tele le agalelei. Faamanuia le Atua.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teineolelupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short trip with my 2 kids and family. Staff were very accommodating considering we got of at the wharf drove around and decided to stay here .my kids had the best time ever food was good rooms were comfortable but just a bit more attention to house keeping would be good. Other then this I will for sure be back thank you vaimoana

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Vai Moana, Le Lagoto and Luisa's Lagoon Resort while spending a week in Savaii this past June. The Vai Moana had very nice rooms and the best staff and meals. I highly recommend it if you'll be in the Asau area. I preferred this region to Savaii over Manase.
Steve

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Tile, Nu'u, Luma, Lilo, Tavida, Taka and all the other staff at Vaimoana did so much to make our stay the most memorable stay in Samoa. We learnt about Samoa, were invited to a local Fia fia celebration, visited a local school, the local village, etc etc Our 3 boys had a blast and had the best time at Vaimoana even though we only stayed for 4 nights. It has anything you ever want on a holiday, relaxation, cultural experiences, activities for kids, beautiful warm people, etc etc I would recommend this stay to anyone who goes to Samoa!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tineke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asau
25.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
220 reviews
32.5 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
32.7 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
309 reviews
20.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Property: Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Asau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing