We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Beautiful Savaii”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Yass, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience Beautiful Savaii”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the first four days of our holiday to Samoa and found it to be the ideal introduction to the relaxed and friendly islands. The hotel is ideally situated as a base to explore Savaii. We recommend the Savaiian Tours which the hotel organised.

The hotel is small and basic but clean and comfortable and a bargain at the price. This meant the service was personal and tailored to our needs. We stayed in an air-conditioned bungalow with a great view looking across the water to Upolo. The restaurant provided fabulous food. A must try is the oka, but all the fish dishes were great. Happy hour with fabulous cocktails and the local Vailima beer is also a must.

The staff were always happy and obliging and really made our stay stress free.

The pool was unavailable due to maintainence problems and we couldn't swim directly infront of the hotel. This was our only disappointment.

Room Tip: Room number One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thanks Chris- Was a pleasure having you and glad to hear you enjoyed Savaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    81
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
89
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Savaiian hotel has passed its prime, however the staff make your stay a pleasure, Olivia at reception, Leila and Viauli in the restaurant are extremely friendly and obliging, the food served at the restaurant is great, we had the Masi Masi fish on 3 occasions, the rooms are basic, but pleasant, the restaurant is very well located, with a wonderful view.
The Savaiian has plenty of free off-street parking, and is about a 10 minute drive, back towards the wharf, where you'll find banks and shops. We stayed 6 Sept 2012, and went back for dinner 3 times.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russel-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macksville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We didn't want a "resort" holiday but we wanted 2 relaxing weeks in the one place with no pressure and a chance to get to know the real Samoa and enjoy the people.
The Savaiian Hotel is ideal for this!
It is budget accommodation, basic rooms but spacious, very clean and a most comfortable bed. Room serviced daily.
Gracious hosts - Poi and Nola - very friendly staff. Quality meals which are reasonably priced. Relaxed ambience; Happy Hour and Vailima on tap :)
Take one or both of Poi's tours - he's very knowledgeable of local culture, heritage and Fa'a Samoa.
The Saviaan is conveniently located close to Ferry and Hire Cars (10 mins away by bus).
Bus stops out the from of the hotel (the bus stops anywhere!).
Lagoon in front of the fale, kayaking, snorkelling, etc. Stunning Sunrises and Moon rise. Pool in front of our fale - though it could do with a more regular dose of chlorine ;)

we highly recommend the Savaiian Hotel - we'll be back.
Jonathan+Robbie

Room Tip: Room 4 worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonVentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murchison, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed one night at the Savai'an Hotel before returning a rental vehicle to Salelologa and taking the ferry to Upolu. This is a modern, clean, motel style development and restaurant close to the water front about 15 minutes drive from the ferry. It served our purpose well although it is not the style of accommodation that we would choose for more than one night. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff and paid wifi available. At 105 tala for the two of us including tropical breakfast we felt this was good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

The restaurant and food are great, especially if u can sit out side the main room (we wanted to sit over the sea but the table there was taken in for some reason). The air cond room got quite hot until the air cond was turned on ( and it was a noisier type) and I thought the non aircond fale type units looked cooler as they could be fully ventilated with it seemed fly screens all over (there were none on the doors on the unit). At this time of year in samoa you should be ok without air cond as long as theres enough cross ventilation, like the traditional fales. The chickens were a nice touch and you can feed them although this might be considered strange by the staff! No annoying stray dogs or cats trying to be fed like there are lots of places. Staff were very nice and helpful. Full kitchenette facilities in some rooms would make travel food easier to organise eg making sandwiches, I couldn't see any rooms that had this and you never know in savai'i how remote your lunch will be, so it's good to byo! Most of the resorts do have lunch for day trippers though, which are mostly in the section north of the savaain. The hotel is nice and central, and all the other attractions of the island can be driven to in the day or seen on tours which the hotel can organise. The hotel is a fairly short drive or taxi ride from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Savaiian Hotel over 15 years ago and it was very upmarket.
It appears nothing much has been done since then - it's looking rather tired.
Nice setting amongst the gardens but that's about it.
No beach just a very ordinary swimming pool.

This time we stayed in one of the bungalows at the rear of the garden.
Price was 105 tala - which we thought was plenty!
The bungalows have an ensuite bathroom with cold water shower and ours didn't have water over the handbasin.
Overhead fan for cooling.

The restaurant food is very nice and beautifully presented and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The bungalows have an access road behind them which can be quite noisy until about 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Talofa Lyrebird
Thankyou for your honest review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had enjoyed your meals at the restaurant:) 15yrs ago our hotel had most likely only just been built and no doubt it has "aged" since then. You may not recall but infact our property has undergone many changes and rennovations since then , and what is present now, that was not there before- is our bar and restaurant, our pool, our walkways- the Samoan bungalows you stayed in recently were infact back in those days very flimsy with babmboo thatched walls and thatched roof. We have upgraded these rooms since then to provide a more robust structure which is more tolerating of the weather and keeps the bugs out!:) Im not sure about the handbasin as all the bathrooms have hand basins with a running tap above it- I think you are referring to a preferred larger tap over the basin and we do agree the tap/sinks are rather small in this particular room type which we do hope to change in the future - but the bathrooms do indeed have taps /running water over all the basins:)These rooms are our budget room type and it really is just providing the basics to those who need their own ensuite and a roof over their heads. Our air conditioned units have larger sinks and taps over the basins which perhaps would have been more suited to your preference. You are correct we do not have a beach, and we do not hide this fact nor ever advertise other. We are set in a mangrove area with a pebbly waterfront- -sandy beaches are 10 minutes away and we do provide this info to all our guests:) We hope if you visit Savaii again in the future you may try one of our airconditioned rooms. we have a few development plans up our sleeves but we dont want to stray too far from what we have always been which is a small family run hotel:) Kind regards- Team Management:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Savaiian after reading great reviews of the 'Resort like Hotel' on Trip Advisor. I was particularly attracted by the promise of good food and the rates were very reasonable.

The rooms are fine, dated, but clean and fine. The bed was good and comfortable. The sad thing at the Savaiian is the water, namely you can't swim at the beach and the pool was disgusting. A murky opaque para pool.

The service was absolutely fantastic, the staff and owner were all so awesome and the food was the best we had in Samoa - at a really great rate.

As people wanting a holiday spending a lot of time in the water, we were really disappointed at the facilities available in terms of swimming and beach. This meant we needed to get out of the place each day to find swimming and this would probably put us off staying there again.

But - we would definitely go back to the Savaiian to eat!!!!!! There were some special touches we got too, just those extra bits of service added and if the facilities were better we know we'd pay a bit more - but we'd be happy too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well laid out, and well spaced apart with semi-detached blocks of 2. The ocean si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilary_sumpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
528 reviews
25.2 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing