We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money, good hospitality”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“value for money, good hospitality”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I keep coming back to the Savaiian because it offers the things that are important for me- value for money, excellent hospitality and customer service, somewhere nice to swim, affordable food with plenty of fish & vegies, nice setting, good facilities...
Its a treat to have a private spacious enclosed fale with a private bathroom for only 75 tala 1 pax (105 for 2pax) and I enjoy the breakfast with filter coffee,fresh fruit and a variety of local food .
I appreciate that the owners are continually improving their place, and care about what their customers think- they are the only place I saw on my visit to samoa that asked for customer feedback.
For all these reasons I keep coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    81
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
59
88
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff at the Savaiian Hotel made us feel very welcome and were always friendly. A peaceful setting with a wonderful sun rise this is what greeted my wife and I when we stayed at the hotel for over two weeks. The food was delicious and there was plenty on offer. We met some wonderful guest that made our stay a memorable one. It was a privilege to attend the marriage of Craig and Maritta, we both wish them a long and happy life together. So our thanks to the management and staff for a holiday never to be forgotten. As for the Roosters get over it. Skid and Lesley. UK

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The first thing you notice is that they are thinking about their roles as service providers. A sign next to reception says "reviews are gems", so here's one!
An excellent first impression. Hello mr .., you are staying for 6 days in room x. Your room is nearly ready ( it was just after 1 pm) would you like a drink and to see the lunch menu. Always nice to see a hotel appreciate that you have chosen to stay there from amongst all the competition.

We ate fish and chips, delicious and just 15 tala. We booked one of the cheaper fale type rooms. Proper wall, windows and doors but no air con, no tea and coffee and cold water shower ( you really don't need a hot shower) the room was basic with 2 single and one double bed. Shower, toilet and a small balcony with table and chairs to sit out. The room was hot during the day as is all of Samoa, but cooled nicely come evening. We slept ok with some minor involvement from stray dogs, roosters and cats 'talking' in the night!!
The dinner menu was quite large for a hotel with less than 20 rooms. Servings were good and a salad was 18 tala, a meal like chow mein or curry 25 tala. The restaurant has a good reputation locally and cater for tour groups and walk- in trade. I can highly recommend it and it is something of which the hotel should feel proud. There were shortages including coconuts for drinks and bananas, both odd as they are abundant on the island but apart from such small oversights the catering experience was very pleasing.

Not a lot to do around hotel. Small supermarket nearby and hotel has a small pool. No beach to speak of only muddy rocks. There are kayaks to use but you have to go someway out for clear water and even further to see reef fish. Good beaches about 15 mins north but they have no facilities and very very limited for shops and restaurants.
A good base for touring the island but more than say a three or four day stay possibly too little variety for some. The pool is coming on but a way to go yet before it is finished. It also lacks any degree of shade - could use some sun shades. Good food with pleasant and helpful staff who offered us lots of tips and advice. I'd feel happy to recommend this hotel and you can tell they are trying.

Room Tip: Cheaper fale type rooms have cold showers and no aircon, TV or tea/coffee. They are also further fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Samoan's accommodation is generally over priced for what you get and this is an exception. It isn't luxurious, but nor does it pretend to be. The bungalows in the gardens are ensuite and provide a double and two single beds. These all varied in comfort and the had basic but clean linen on them. A fan was provided as there was no air-conditioning. The bathroom was very basic and the toilet was not entirely clean but at least it was not a shared bathroom.

The food was the highlight of the stay - in fact we spent more on dinner than we did on accommodation because it was so nice. The menu is eclectic and has a lot of asian influences.

Unfortunately the 'tropical breakfast' did live up the previous evening's food. It was toast and papaya basically, no cereal or juice provided.

I would stay in this hotel again but it's a one nighter rather than a suitable place for a holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Talofa! O a Mai oe? to all the wonderful staff at the Savaiian Hotel. My new wife and I, just spent 2 magnificent weeks in Samoa, and made the Savaiian hotel our base. the central location,the marvellous south looking aspect back to Upolu, the wonderful staff, just added up to the perfect recipe for a holiday. From the moment we first enquired about our stay, to our arrival after an arduous flight from australia(due to the airline) during our entire stay, we could not find fault. To add to our already happy experiences, with very short notice, (48 hrs) the owners and staff managed to organise a beautiful wedding for us. This was something we had thought about doing, but without the passionate, hard work of the owners and staff, it would not have happened.
To the people who said they were treated rudely!!! We find that very hard to believe. to the rooster haters! Try scratching them under the chin. Worked for us. For those that want gold taps!
Go to the French Riviera, you'll soon learn about rude. Samoa is about beautiful people, culture and its natural beauty. No we are not tree huggers. Tofah for now. Craig and Maritta

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed a week with family, we booked the budget fale but unfortunately a very loud crowing rooster sits in the tree right out side the fale and crowed very loudly starting at 1 am and continued through the night every 10 seconds. We advised the staff and they offered us an upgrade to the bungalow and very glad we moved as it didnt cost much extra and was well worth it with air conditioning, fridge, lovely and clean, veranda with table and chairs, and no rooster!! Thanks to Lillian for all her help and advise on things to do in Savaii and also Olivia and the rest of the staff who went over and above our expectations for friendly and helpful service. The food was delicious, restaurant is a beautiful and peaceful setting, The owner brought us over a complementry dish of Tara which was very yummy and a nice surprise. We made the most of the lovely pool situated next to the ocean. Very relaxing. The beach here is too rocky and shallow to swim, however their are beautiful sandy swimming beaches 10 minutes away by car. We will definately be back to stay with you and hopefully the rooster will be on one of your delicious plates instead of the tree!! :)

Room Tip: The bungalows are much better value than the fales at not more added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroljocunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Carol!
Thanks for your review of your stay with us! We are terribly sorry about the rooster and we have made ever effort to rid this annoying little guy from the trees outside the fales. These are free range village chickens who have just gotten a bit too comfortable in our spacious gardens and trees and usually just takes a few days of shooing to make them chose a new place to sleep. So we have all our housekeepers gardeners and night watchmen now in on chasing them away back to the village grounds :) Glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, service and meals:) Like you we hope to see you again in the future and hope to offer you a more comfortable sleep next time round!
Kindest regards
Team Savaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose The Savaiian as it was recommended by friends who had stayed there a couple of years ago. It was ideal for us as we're weren't looking or interested in an expensive flash resort. We stayed 2 nights in 2 double occupancy Samoan bungalows as we were two adults and two teenage boys. For two-person occupancy our rooms were large, simple and comfortable. We chose the rooms with cold water showers as they represented such good value. The grounds are well kept and the building with reception/restaurant area looks out on to the water. Our boys enjoyed the lovely pool and as the surrounding area is still undergoing landscaping there was unfortunately little shade available but I believe this is being addressed along with the early morning rooster call. Staff very friendly and helpful and email communication during booking process was fantastic. We ate at hotel both nights (outside of Apia dining options are severely limited) and whilst meals were reasonably priced, it would be great to see more dishes based on local product. We loved the oka which is raw fish in coconut milk. This was our second visit to Samoa and our next trip will most certainly have a greater Savaii focus and we would stay here again. The Savaiian is within strolling distance of a pretty village area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticketstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi There
Thankyou for your honest review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to Savaii and your stay with us! We do apologise about the roosters. These are sort of free range village chickens that roam freely in and out of our property. we usually try not to let them get too comfortable around our rooms or restaurants and our groundsmen have been working hard in the last week to ensure they no longer nest in the tree you have mentioned. For now they seemed to have moved on from the big mangoe trees and we will be keeping a very strict eye from now on to ensure they don't come back to nesting here! We've just finished laying down wood for the deck extension to the pool from our restaurant and hope to be putting some shade in and around this area soon! Thanks again for chosing to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!!
regards
Team Savaiian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
10.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
307 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
517 reviews
18.7 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Property: The Savaiian Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing