We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for anyone visiting Samoa and Savaii”
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Chose the Savaiian based upon others reviews and deducing that quality in Samoa might be quite limited.
Am very pleased indeed at having done so as the calibre of the hosts was of the highest standard.
From being picked up at the ferry to the complimentary sandwich on arrival to the exceptionally reasonable charges all aspects were commendable.
Poy (please excuse my spelling) as host was 2nd to none, totally genuine, willing to assist in any way and knowledgeable. The accommodation itself was fine, the restaurant food was lovely and he even endeavoured to provide live music whenever numbers allowed, Car hire was available as were tours and free kayaks.
The setting on the water was also very attractive. Breakfast was very pleasant.
Gratitude to Nola, Mat and Alex as well - nice, decent people - and for the little considerations such as the Uma display and the pointing in the direction of the adjacent ice cream shop. The raised pool is a nice touch and adds to attractions for families.
One other point to note is that the waterfront at the hotel is only suitable with reef shoes (which I believe the hotel provides).However there are nice sand beaches quite close by.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

Wow, what an experience. I am not sure if there is any accommodation on Savaii that matches the Savaiian Hotel. If you do not want the "on the beach experience" in the fale's (we heard many a story, I can tell you) this is the place. While the Savaiian has four fale's available, their fale's are luxury compared to the on beach fale!!

The main stay of the place is the incredible reception hall, an extension of your living room, recently built opposite the original (huge) fale, meeting place. Then there are 4 ocean front bungalows and 2 others behind with lots of space around them and the four fale near the mango trees (photo)

We based ourselves at the Savaiian and explored the island from there. It is a home away from home in that you have your privacy in the bungalow, air con, hot water, queen bed, separate bathroom and very relaxing verendah with an incredible view of the lagoon, the outer reef, the main Island of Uplou and best of all the most incredible sunrise each morning.
Big thanks to Poi for helping with day tours to blowholes and turtles, waterfalls & trips to town & beaches ($5 beach fale all day, all close by and near shops)

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was fabulous whilst enjoying a beautiful view of the island.(Great live band too on Saturday night and by request!)
This was the highlight of our trip! We are so glad we stayed at the Savaiian Hotel for our 7 nights, as many others we met wished they had done the same.

Thank you so much to Poi,Nola,Adria,Alex & team.

We can't wait to come back! We highly recommended the Savaiian Hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stay here for a week and we love it.. The owner and family and the staff were so friendly and we really enjoy staying there.. Mosquito free and its a very family place. We enjoy our privacy and the food was so beautiful... We all love staying there and we will do it again when we go there for holiday... We recommend this place to anyone who want to escape there for privacy and so forth...... Thanks Savaiian Hotel for making our staying there so enjoyable... We love it and we really enjoy it....

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blossom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed in the more basic units which had their own bathroom and toilet but no air con or hot water. The rooms were clean and did have fans to cool the rooms a bit and it is so warm anyway you don't really need hot water. The owners, Poi and Nola are really lovely people, very warm, friendly and helpful and their staff seem well trained and very friendly. The breakfasts (included in price) were fresh fruit, tea/coffee and toast beautifully presented in their lovely restaurant with a fantastic outlook. Evening meals were reasonably priced (about WST25) and were beautiful. We would definitely go back there. The swimming pool was also a great feature to cool off in!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We had a wonderful experience at the Savaiian hotel. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious, and the grounds are big and grassy. Poi and Nola are friendly informative hosts who make you feel at home, ready for a chat and lots of information.The new restaurant has a great setting close to the lagoon, and the food is tasty. My husband and daughter had a great time kayaking out to and around the two islands, and we watched the ferry on it's way back to Upolu from the swimming pool.I had washing beautifully done very cheaply. We loved it, wished we had stayed longer than our 2 nights and had time to visit the local village and ice cream shop. Next time!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

What a fantastic place. Nola, Poi and family were so friendly and accomodating to us. We stayed there with our 3 year old, who was treated like one of the family! The accomodation was clean and had hot water ( i noticed someone mention no hot water!! very strange!) The food was excellent and the restaurant had a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
I would recommend the Savaiian to anyone who visits Savaii. It is less than 10 minutes from the ferry, and nicely tucked away in peaceful surrounds.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robnhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Savaiian Hotel was "Absolutely magnificent!" If your wanting to explore the island of Savaii. I suggest the best way to start your travels is to stay & relax at the Savaiian Hotel in Lalomalava which is about a 10 minute drive from the Salelologa Wharf, market & ATM's. We spent 6 nights which was the highlight of our 3 weeks in Samoa. The owners & staff were amazing we can only praise them for there warm & friendly hospitality we had fun. We recommend this place for all types of travellers. The hotel has a bar & restaurant which was recently built & still new with a great water view of the Ocean, I say it's a beautiful venue to hold special functions. Affordable food & owners were so helpful in accommodating around the menu to suit us.
The fale's were great to stay in with it's own patio. All had a queen size bed & 2 single beds, each fale had there own ensuite, windows were fully screened & had a ceiling & standing fan. No dogs in this village where the Hotel is located which was a bonus for us. They also have a swimming pool great for the kid with a beautiful view..............we definetly recommend this place to everyone it's affordable & will definetly be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mika20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
3.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
240 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
21 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
567 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: £24 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing