We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience - Will 100% Stay Again - Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience - Will 100% Stay Again - Value for Money”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

What a terrific experience overall and not an Accor chain hotel (as am accustom to) which is only an advantage because it means Lusia's has some uniqueness and lots of personality.



RECOMMENDED?



9/10 (...Even if you like snorkelling/sandy beaches as they in arms length (15-30mins west) via bus/car so gives you an excuse to venture out and see what Savaii has to offer)



VALUE FOR MONEY?



9/10



REVIEW OF REVIEWS?



107 Reviews in total to date of this review, 6 below average of which 5 are 2+ years old. This tells you Lusia's is only getting better and better and that majority of guests have always been happy.



WHICH ROOM?



We stayed in the Room over the Lagoon ($130 per night) which based on reviews and our experience would have to be the best room to get here if not on a hostel budget. If on a hostel budget other options at approx $60 NZD include the shared garden/lagoon chalets which you will need to refer to other reviews for advice on. Not one mosquito entered our cabin with excellent netting in place. You can jump off into the water and climb up the ladder - Wow. You can sit in bed and admire the sunrise from this cabin - truly breathtaking and amazing.



SAMOA IN OFF SEASON?



Travel to Samoa (and perhaps other tropical islands) in the off-season after the hurricanes have come and gone as you feel as though you are the only tourist(because you basically are). You get the attractions to yourself, you get better service and accomodation is more affordable because it is more competitive, you help the local economy in a tough time and flights are inexpensive (because everyone is put off travelling in low season purely because it’s the low season). Its low season because media inform of a high chance of Hurricanes and almost hurricanes during this period (which is fact) but media inflate the story to sell papers/get ratings and film one-two villages 2-3kms long severally hit which they frame to reflect the effect in which the hurricane has had on the whole country. The result is this deters tourists. I liken it to the media showing Christchurch Earthquake on TV and family/friends outside of new zealand phoning those in Auckland concerned to see if they are safe and ok. Without communication resources (including TV, Internet and Phones) people in Auckland would have been oblivious to what was going on in Christchurch at the time the Earthquake hit.


POSTIVES - LUSIA's?

Wonderful Rain Forest to walk through on the way to your Fale.

Food and beverages are very reasonable and the food is terrific. We tried a number of items on the menu and NONE could be faulted. Lonely planet suggests '...best place to eat...' and they are certainly right. Portion sizes are very good and prices are more than fair. When breakfast is included this means that you can pick ANYTHING from the menu up to $16.00 which should be more then sufficient for most people.



The Lagoon is exactly as everyone suggests - mystical and relaxing.



The rock pool with a natural spring is crystal clean and refreshing.



Excellent Service with the girls in the resturant more then happy to wait on you similar to a butler (esp in the off-season).



Spa is 50 Tala for half an hour. Find it cheaper somewhere else? I dont think so.


Super Clean Room, Comfortable Beds and Girls helped to carry our bags to the room.



NEGATIVES - LUSIA's? (This section is meant to be constructive not destructive as all but one issue can be addressed to the betterment of Lusia)



Music between 9pm-12pm = Not for everyone. A common theme with most complaints on trip advisor and a BIG ISSUE even for me is the music in the bar from approx between 9pm-12pm. The loud music is distracting as it goes against the theme the hotel appears to promote - i.e. rainforest, lagoon, island paradise, serenity, peacefulness, calmness...loud music. The reason it hasn’t been fix I think is because Lusia has only received criticism without anything constructive to help resolve the issue. Obviously saying remove the music completely is unrealistic and some guests will complain because there would now be no music so it would'nt be fair on them. So I suggest (and hope Lusia is reading) a compromise to A) Reduce the bass AND/OR B) put up a removable/temporary cover/plastic blanket over the back area of the restaurant(towards the Lagoon) which can be erected between 9pm -12pm to dampen the noise which disturbs guests who are trying to relax OR C) contain the music in the bar by repositioning the speakers so the sound is facing another direction(perhaps behind the counter or in the bar itself). The walls between the restaurant and the cabins/rooms will act as a sound damper. These are just two suggestions. At any rate SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE as the loud noise which I experienced countered everything else that I experienced and therefore not in keeping with the wonderful serenity and other aspects Lusia's has to offer. Unless this problem is fixed it is going to see a lot of people a) not return and/or b)advise others (in person or on trip advisor) not to go to Lusia's if they want to relax (which is why most go on holiday to a tropical island - to relax). Trip advisor only shows the guests who could be bothered writing about it so im confident there are many more unhappy people out there concerning the noise. Please keep everyone updated on how you get on with this issue. Hopefully by the time you (i.e. Guests to be) read this, changes have taken place.



Background music for breakfast, Lunch and dinner = None. Easy fix - Put some quiet soft background local (Samoan) music on during these times.



Staff in Guest Areas + Billiard Table = Not for everyone. The male staff are avid fans of Billiards and therefore you might be out of luck if you actually want to use this facility. Male staff chill out around the restaurant/bar area. I have no problem with this personally as it keeps the place alive in the quiet/low season BUT I can see this being unfavourable for most other guests looking for secluded serenity. My suggestion to Lusia (hope you are reading) is to close off an area around the back of the bar/kitchen and give the staff the billiard table (to keep them occupied when things are quiet). Guests WILL NOT miss it and WILL NOT say "im not staying there because they don’t have a billiard table" OR "I wont stay there because they don’t have the billiard table anymore". With it gone it will be a huge advantage (it is tacky and again it is distracting as it goes against the theme the hotel is trying to promote - i.e. rainforest, lagoon, island paradise, serenity, peacefulness, calmness...billiard table). Again hopefully by the time you (i.e. Guests to be) read this, changes have happened.



Pawpaw Smoothie = No Good. Remove from the menu or do not use milk (esp UHT milk). Use only pawpaw fruit and ice is cheaper and more natural.



Snorkelling Onsite = No Good. But no/nil issue if you have a vehicle. If no vehicle and snorkelling is a huge desire find accomodation toward the west, north-west or north of Savaii between 15-45mins away from the wharf rather then staying at Lusia’s and writing a really negative comment about lack of snorkelling. Unavoidable issue unfortunately.



Beach Onsite = Nil. No beach as such. Suggest Lusia carts in some sand and create a small sand area which leads into the lagoon (on the right hand side of the spa/massage fale).



It is up to you Lusia to address these things if you want be that little bit closer to receiving an extra half/whole star next to Lusia’s name and repeat guests/good recommendations as everything else was spot on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Room over the Lagoon ($130 per night) which based on reviews and our experience wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelasticHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    109
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
153
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Led by our mate Tui, the staff at Lusias make the stay the best in Samoa for experiencing the local people. Lusias is in a beautiful lagoon setting and is close to everything, the food was good and the vialima (local beer) flowed. But it was the local staff that made the holiday. Tui u da man!

Andrew B

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

If you are going to Samoa you must must must stay at lusia's!
This was an amazing place. The food was absolutely amazing, I just couldn't get enough of it, the cocktails were nice and fresh but most important, the staff were just beautiful! They helped us with everything, always had a smile and were willing to go the extra mile.
The lagoon was stunning, although not the best snorkeling conditions, but great for swimming and kayaking and fishing.
We stayed in chalet Alex, it was cute and the balcony has the best view.
Stay here, you'll love every minute!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My new husband and I stayed here with our 14 year old son. We had the honeymoon suite and my son had a trundler bed , both beds were uncomfortable. We were not told our breakfast was free so we spent each morning worrying about paying for breakfast or looking for a cheaper option. On a positive note the lagoon was beautiful and we loved swimming there. We stayed for five nights

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent six nights at Lusia's in January 2012. We stayed in a room right on the water and could literally jump off of our deck and into the water when we woke up in the morning. The view is breathtaking, the water is perfect and it really feels like paradise. We stayed in a room with air conditioning and indoor plumbing - though non-air conditioned rooms are available as well for a fraction of the price. The staff at Lusia's is incredibly friendly and helpful - after a few hours there you feel like you're a part of the family. Jim the manager really goes out of his way to help out everyone who stays at the hotel. Additionally, the food is delicious - I highly recommend the Poke - with a side of rice it is a perfect meal. Our time at Lusia's was incredibly relaxing and restorative - I recommend it to anyone that needs to get away and is looking for a few days in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were here for ten nights in December 2012 - just as Cyclone Evan hit Samoa.
It is unpretentious and a fun place to stay. The little bar and restaurant there has great home cooked food and the staff are friendly and fun (thanks Tui and Misikopo in particular).
The manager Jim is a great source of local knowledge too.
A couple of types of rooms. The Fales over the water are gorgeous, however those seeking more creature comforts like air-conditioning and a private bathroom suggest you get one of their rooms in their 3 story 'hotel'. This was also a good place to be safe and secure during the Cyclone.
There was a mini bar (thank you) but also the bar isn't far away for top ups!!
The location is perfect - walking distance to the market (which is well worth a visit) and the main town.
Then there is the Lagoon - perfect for swimming and kayaking. We spent many a afternoon soaking up the views, swimming and knocking back the local brew.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Lusia's Lagoon was soo much fun! :) We stayed there for 2 nights to discover savaii, It was only a few minutes drive from the wharf, 5 minutes from town and 5 minutes the other way to get to the markets so its in the perfect spot! It had the most beautiful setting - right on the lagoon a hidden sanctuary, the water was beautiful! There is a nice deck at the back where we chillied out in the sun or a good quiet place for a drink at night The main area was great for relaxing out and was always well kept by the friendly staff which is where we met 'Tui' who knew alot about upolu and savaii so he was great help and he was funny too! . The food was tasty and the breakfasts were great because it was an upgrade of fruits lol (more bacon and eggs style haha).

We stayed in the most basic acc. the garden chalets which we thought was cool! Very basic but I liked that it was kinda traditional lol but the beds were sweet! it was awesome that the lagoon was right behind us so wed pull the walls up when it was hot although it wasnt too bad in savaii. A massage on the private deck over the lagoon was worth it too and a great way to finish off our stay in Savaii. I think Lusia's got everything 'Just Right' not to flashy or over the top and not shabby at all. It was just as pretty as the pictures! Anyways I loved Lusias and would definitely stay there again! I! :)

Room Tip: Put your mosquito net down in the daytime right down to the floor to stop mozzies from gettn in so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarneeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
7.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
220 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
516 reviews
23.2 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
386 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Property: Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing