We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful taste of Samoa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I planned for a budget holiday,and wanted to get a real taste of Samoan life.Arriving at Lusia's a warm welcome awaited.We had opted for a basic fale over the lagoon.Because we booked for 15 nights management had arranged for very comfy mattresses,which were a treat.We used Lusia's as our base and from there traveled all over Savaii in local buses.The wonderful and generous complimentary breakfast consisting of cocoa rice with fresh bananas & pawpaws and slices of coconut,followed by a choice of eggs/bacon or sausages on toast,with a full pot of great coffee/tea/milo set us up for the day.We explored the island hopping on local buses taking us everywhere,only costing a few Tala.We met warm & friendly locals,inviting us in & we experienced great hospitality where ever we went.Coming home to Lusia's was great,the wonderful exotic trees in which the resort is nestled bring welcome shade,and cooling off in the Pulusau (rock pool) is a treat,followed by a swim in the beautiful turquoise waters of the lagoon.Lots of tropical fish can be fed from the balcony of the fale,or the sun deck.The kayaks are a wonderful bonus,best time to take it out is early morning ar late afternoon when the water is very still,to spot fish & turtles.All the staff are courteous, friendly and very helpful.Jim the manager is great and Lusia herself is a true gem.We can warmly and highly recommend Lusia's for any traveller wanting to experience the real Samoa.Excellent value for money as well.

Room Tip: Experience the basic fale above the lagoon,it's basic, but a wonderful experience.This is the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Jim, the manager runs a good place, and understands customer service.The staff are very well trained and friendly. The restaurant has a good selection of food and is nicely cooked and the free breakfast is good.
I stayed in the garden fales and wouldnt recommend them, there are other budget places around that are better value - Lusias has a good atmosphere and if you want to stay there I would go for a more expensive option.
If you are a solo traveller looking for budget accommodation for about the same price in the area I would probably go for the Salafai Inn or 5kms up the road to the Savaiian Hotel.
In the garden fale the mosquito net had holes- and there were lots of mosquitoes, the step up to the room was quite high, the door short - so I kept bumping my head, there were a lot of tree roots on the walk to the bathroom. all in all it was pretty basic and most other places I stayed for that price had better fales/ rooms.
I liked Lusias, just not the mosquitoes or garden fales

Room Tip: dont go for the garden fales
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. We spent a night in an over water chalet and 2 nights in the Honeymoon chalet. Just about everything was great about this place. Very, very different from anything at home in NZ. The chalets were not 5 star though they were the most expensive at the resort. That said, the air cons worked well. The showers had hot water and good pressure. The beds were comfy.
The lagoon was outstanding, particularly for an early morning swim. I highly recommend taking a kayak out around the coast to the breakwater. Beautiful scenery and a great chance of seeing turtles as we did. Very safe.
The rainforest like environment is enjoyable. Look for the bright red lopo seeds on the forest floor. These make good jewellery.
The staff were outstanding. The best we met in Samoa and we've been twice and stayed in 12 different places. Noah was the ultimate professional and Tui was 'Mr Personality' without invading your personal space. Couldn't fault any of the other staff either. The balance of friendliness and professionalism was just right for us. They were all attentive but without intruding. We even met Lusia herself and that was an enjoyable experience.
We loved the food. Please try the Samoan dishes and anything with fish was good, very good. Breakfast was included in our room rate and we really, really, really enjoyed all our breakfasts. French toast and sausages was my particular favourite.
People may not be fond of cats. We love them. They were well behaved and clean. Once little chap even allowed us a cuddle, we were chuffed.
The inexpensive fale's are basic but I tell you they add to the charm of the place and make for good holiday photos.
The only thing that I would recommend that Lusia give some attention to is 'rubbish.' I reckon that a staff member could do a once around in the morning and again in the evening to pick up anything lying around on the ground and in the lagoon. There wasn't much rubbish lying around, the odd empty drink can and a nappy in the lagoon.... but so much nicer if you don't get to see such things.
Overall, a great stay. We had a very happy time here and oh... the cocktails were really good.
Thanks to Lusia and her staff for a memorable few days.
Tania Tennant

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed in July 2013 for 4 nights. Lagoon view chalet. Pro's: close to market: for fresh taro and palusami, and fruit. Close to town: Internet cafe/shops. Good swimming: especially laps, one side of lagoon to other. Fresh water pool after. Staff, Chef and Lusia: great! Genuine Samoan hospitality. Close to Evaeva nite club (clean, great music, Saturday night). Great value for solo traveller, check prices by email. Great for getting day return local buses: East coast/West coast, and get bus timing with ferries arrival/departure.

Room Tip: Solo travellers enquire by email for 'single' prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjawilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on my own, room was basic but clean and beautiful. Mosquito nets over the bed, electricity in the room which is more than I was expecting. Had dinner and breakfast and the food was brilliant. Very friendly people who made my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilive4travel4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent ten nights in an over water fale. The food was very very good. The staff are very friendly & helpful. In fact, the staff made our stay memorable. We would recommend staying based on the friendly staff & the chef's reputation. The shared bathroom facilities could use some attention but please note this did not detract from our stay.

Room Tip: If you're not used to the lapping of the waves putting you to sleep, an over water fale might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a great place to stay for a couple of nights to visit places on the south coast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is in under the vegetation so on a cloudy day is quite dark. This is one of the few places in Samoa that we were offered authentic Samoan food and it was tasty and presented well.
The accommodation needs attention. The bathroom needed a scrubbing brush and a paint job. Some elbow grease and a minimal amount of money would make a massive difference. Some things like provision of a towel each automatically would save the guests having to request.

Room Tip: We appreciated having our own facilities. I'm not sure I would want to be tripping over tree rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJK54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
3.8 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
229 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
23.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
23.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing