We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Stop in Savaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restful Stop in Savaii”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lucia's Laggon is situated in Salegoa, $5 taxi trip from the ferry takes you there and it's situated over beautiful lagoon. It's about 5min walk to the nearby Market place. The market place is good to have a look and is where bus stop is. Buses that go to Afuafuu Waterfalls and other parts of Savaii depart and arrive from early morning to 4pm. The friendly staffs at Lucia's lagoon is always eager to help and recommend places to visit in Savii and answer your questions.

As I walked into the accomodation, I was greeted with smiles by Tui and he showed me to my chalet. It had clean queensize bed and single bed with a balcony. The traditional Samoan style chalet made the stay feel like an island get away. The room, showers and bathroom were clean, although the ceiling of the chalet was getting a little worn but the construction was happening in the place to upgrade the facility elsewhere. Mosquito nets were good and the house keepers kept the room clean and tidy when it was needed.
I got upgraded to an ensuite sweet room on my last day by mistake and it was a very nice self contained unit which made me see another luxurious side at Lucia's. The upgraded room had nice showers, comfortable queen size bed, cleanliness all around and beautiful Samoan carvings that decorated the bedroom which made a romantic and luxurious atmosphere.

For breakfast Lusia's serve a generous amount of fruits, coconut, coco-samoa , paw-paw and drinks either tea, coffee or milo. I'd recommend scrambled eggs with a toast if you are a medium sized eater. Their seafood selections - tuna on plate was said to be delicious too. Lucia's not just an accomodation but a popular local cafe and restaurant. Lunch and dinner menus are of great quality and value.

Activities do do at Lusia are swimming, diving at the lagoon, kayaking for a 20 tala, a bicycle can be rented out if you are into active exploration and car-rental can be easily booked over the counter. Lagoon water is clear and there are variety of tropical fish that swim. Diving in the lagoon is refreshing and in the humid Samoan weather it's perfect. but there is a warning of protruding corals, so guests have to be at his own risk diving. There's also a pool table and selection of books to read from at the library. Every evening there's a playlist of Michael Jackson songs, bob marley and people gather and play pool or chat, meeting new travelers, planning the next adventure.

Tui, Peleti, Jim and friendly girls at lucia's really look after the guests. I had a late plane to catch and Jim offered me to stay at one of the chalets for a fraction of price until the ferry, this was very helpful. I enjoyed my stay at Lusia's and recommend it to any people that are looking for a relaxing stay at Savaii with warm local hospitality.

Room Tip: The Chalets near the bathrooms are good to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurebae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    109
    44
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
152
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were really, really good but management was slow to support them when trying to deal with a troublesome guest (drunk - for days!). This significantly detracted from the enjoyment of our stay. The self-contained chalet on the lagoon was very relaxing but the thin, shared walls with the other chalet meant we could hear people next door as if they were in the same room with us (and vice versa). Likewise, the access to swimming in the lagoon from our deck meant using the neighbours deck, basically looking directly into their bedroom. The location and garden is lovely, gorgeous water (but no beach).

Room Tip: Ocean chalet lovely - check to see if the ladder into the lagoon is on your deck or your neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights after spending a week on Upolu. We stayed in the over water air conditioned chalet, which was very comfortable, well equiped and picturesque in amongst the forest trees. The food was very nice and the staff were lovely and helpful and they made our stay very special. The lagoon is lovely for a swim and the resort is reasonably close to about half of savai'i tourist attractions (hire car needed, which we hired from Lusias at an ok rate for the type of car).
The only thing that needed updating was the tourist info in room and at the front desk (bikes no longer available for hire, tour packages were more limited than stated and staff as helpful as they could be often had not even visited tourists sites so their advice was limited, maybe management could arrange for staff to visit all tourist sites in the Jason's brochure?)
Overall we loved the place and would recommend staying here to check out the south of Savai'i

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamesMcFuzzyBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangere, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lusai’s Lagoon Chalets is Savai’i’s hidden treasures. Its close proximity to the Salelologa wharf (2-3 minutes via taxi) is perfect convenience for the weary traveler. Nestled within a beautiful section of native trees and plants, hugging the Savai’i coastline, Lusia is an ideal place for a romantic get away, or some lovely quality time with friends and family. The lagoon chalets right at the mouth of the beautiful Pacific ocean are wondrous and beautiful. Private and very clean accommodation. The garden chalet is just as beautiful. Jim and his staff are lovely and very friendly and add to the beauty that is Lusia’s. I would recommend Lusia to all friends and family looking for somewhere different, somewhere exotic, somewhere peaceful and tranquil where you actually get to enjoy the full environment (not just the beautiful insides of the room). 100 stars from me :)

Room Tip: The lagoon chalet is lovely - if you love the water it's perfect. There are stairs which lead do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here in an overwater chalet and it was absolutely gorgeous. Great swimming, good food (try the lobster!), and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We rented a car through these guys and everything was handled really efficiently. Special shout out to Jo, Jim, Lusia and Albert--you guys run a great place and we can't wait to come back! --Matthew and Julia

Room Tip: The over water chalets are amazing if you can manage without a private bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBandJB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Lusia's for five nights in April 2014. It is a lovely spot with chalets set in a garden setting. the first night we stayed in a chalet over the water - but we found this to be too small and too noisy with strong winds and constant noise from the sea. So we asked and were allowed to move to a more inland chalet. Two days later we discovered the other half of Lusia's chalet complex - modern, nicely outfitted apartments. So we asked if we could upgrade to those for the last two days - and we spent those days in lovely luxury.
Throughout all the staff were really helpful and friendly and we felt thoroughly spoilt. Joh at reception was particularly lovely, Rozza is a genius at flower arrangements, and Spencer is the ultimate entertainer. Spencer invited us to come and watch the making and cooking of a traditional umu. Great fun if you get a chance. We also met and chatted with Lusia herself. We loved staying there and recommend Lusia's for lovely and friendly staff :-)

Room Tip: Over the water chalets are romantic in principle but quite small and can be noisy. The apartments a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avmdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 4nights here in one of the ensuite with lagoon view. Everything was just perfect. We ate in the restaurant every night and meals were great. The staff here were the most helpful and friendliest I have ever come across. Rooms were clean and lovely cool air conditioned. We rented a car through the resort and were very happy with it. Only way to get to see beautiful Savai'i.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PamandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salelologa
7.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
218 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
506 reviews
23.2 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
377 reviews
23.5 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lusia's Lagoon Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lusia's Lagoon Chalets

Property: Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Address: South Coast Rd, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lusia's Lagoon Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, boutique resort located on the Big Island of Savai'i in Salelologa. If you are looking for somewhere a little different, somewhere relaxing, we are the place you have been looking for! Located conveniently - get off the ferry at Salelologa wharf turn left. Lusia's Lagoon Chalets is a five minute walk or 1 minute drive from the wharf at Salelologa, Savaii. At Lusia's you can walk through a natural Samoan forest amongst the towering and rare native ifilele trees. Take a dip in our turquoise lagoon, or for the more adventurous, you may like to snorkel or kayak and view the amazing variety of marine life. In the evening, enjoy a satisfying meal in CC's Restaurant & Bar, or you may like to have your meal served to you on our deck situated on the edge of our lagoon. Accommodation ranges from self contained air conditioned units, shared facility "over the water fales" and budget accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lusia's Lagoon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lusia`s Lagoon Chalets Hotel Salelologa
Lusias Lagoon Chalets Salelologa
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets Samoa/Salelologa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing