We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all surfers”
Review of Salani Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Upolu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salani Surf Resort
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Upolu
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If your looking for a surfing holiday this is the place to stay. Our boys 4 teenagers -17 yrs of age had the best time here with Chad and Rosco. They took them out caught massive waves and had the ride of there lives. Unfortunately one of them got hurt when his surfboard struck him on the nose and cut it badly. The boys Chad and Rosco radio through to the resort and when they arrived he was taken to the hospital to get 3 stitches. Chad your a champion Rosco -awesome!!! The Manager of the Resort - "The Best".
Our boys have decided when they turn 18 they will be returning to stay here for all of there holiday. Great place to chill out and kick back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My son & i stayed at Salani Surf Resort for 8 days .......it was a wonderful surfing & cultural experience .......Chris & all of his staff were so friendly & helpful ......the accomodation & food were very good & the location was relaxing & beautiful .......the surf breaks both left & right were a 5 minute boat trip away from the dock right in the resort , with excellent boatmen to look after your surfing experience ......we visited other surf breaks on the island when the Salani break wasnt working that were fun too ........ we did trips to the waterfalls & to the Sua Trench sink holes as well as a day trip to Apia ...........Chris runs game fishing charters from the resort too & the groups who went fishing had a great time & we got to sample their catch each night.......

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baseball_fan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband (a surfer) and I (not a surfer) booked the Salani Surf Resort for 6 nights taking the once weekly flight from Honolulu to Apia. Our early morning arrival was greeted by the resort's van and driver to take us, other arriving guests, and and the surfers' boards on the 1.5 hour drive to the resort. Nestled on several acres of land between the ocean and river, the view from our fale was wonderful. Just as the website promises, all 8 fales have lanais (covered decks) that face the river, the ocean or both. As other reviewers have noted, our fale was clean and bathroom spacious. As a nonsurfer I lucked out that the resort was not completely full so I was able to get a seat on the surf van every time it set out for a different beach or the natural lava tube swimming hole/garden, To Sua, nearby (my personal favorite spot). One day we stopped for surfing at a gorgeous place then traveled on to Apia to spend an hour in the market where we found lovingly crafted items to take home. Another day at another beach was followed by a "happy hour" stop at an ocean front restaurant/bar to enjoy the late afternoon sun over the waves. Owner Chris and his staff from Salani Village were friendly, the main fale caught breezes and was a wonderful spot to enjoy the buffet style continental breakfast, lunch and dinners. One night we were treated to traditional Samoan music and dancing by a large troupe from the village as well as a dinner of traditionally prepared foods. We became friends with the other guests and had great conversations during meal times and van rides but still had ample time to enjoy reading or napping in our fales.
I understand that Chris has plans to air condition all of the fales (there is a large ceiling fan and we were never that hot) and build a pool in the central courtyard which will be nice for non surfing guests or when there aren't surfable waves. While this resort is simple without all the bells and whistles of a posh place, we chose it as because it caters to surfers. All buffet meals with filtered water, airport transport and daily surf site transport was included in the rate (with nonsurfers getting a discount since van excursions were not guaranteed for us). If you want alcohol, soda, bottled water or specialty menu meals then you are charged for them separately. Chris paid the beach entry fee for the van to various beaches as waves were not surfable at Salani during our week (beaches are not public but family/village owned) . Even though the surf was not very good anywhere on the island during our time in Samoa, it was a wonderful and memorable trip. The other guests, while also disappointed at the lack of surf, agreed that it was a great time and we all hope to go again.

Room Tip: Fale #2, 3 and 4 face the river but are angled for ocean views from the lanai - these would be my ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JanieKalaheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Decided to hav a day off and discovered Salani Surf Resort. Best discovery! Rooms clean and bathroom spacious meals staff and owner great. Air con availble but beaut breeze on balcony. A definite must.

Room Tip: # 1 room private cool breeze river view and surf beach view. Did nt need air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We didn't score much surf, but still had a great holiday. The staff were awesome and Chris was very helpful in organizing a rental car for us and generally helping us with whatever we needed. We took our 3 year old son with us and although didn't do much surfing, had such a great family holiday it really didn't matter. I'll be back early in the year to maximize surfing. A big thank you for a great trip, a holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Owners Chris and Shannon are super cool and the setup is awesome. Even though I didn't score epic surf I would go back again. Nice clean bungalows, good food and cool staff. Salani right is a super fun, rippable wave. Salani left has a bit more teeth and is a fun, challenging wave.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OssianFBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I spent 18 days at Salani Surf Resort (SSR) this past February and had a great time. The location is very special, on the south coast of Upolu, Western Samoa. The resort is located between a tropical river that empties into Pacific Ocean and the village of Salani. The resort is a small facility for surfers. Known for great waves, the right and left breaks are only a five minute boat ride from the resorts dock. SSR has of two skiffs, that shuttle surfers to three nearby surfing locations. Several other areas are accessed by van, as conditions require. SSR has a pristine environment, with beautifully landscaping.
Salani is a dedicated surf resort for experienced and intermediate surfers. Their well trained boatmen work very hard to make sure the guest have the best possible surfing experience. All boatmen are lifeguard and first aid trained (CPR) to ensure the safety of the guests.
While I was there, SSR averaged 8 surfing guests. They can accommodate up to 12 surfers. Therefore the surfers are assured quality surfing since the surfing areas near Salani Surf Resort are for their exclusive use! Lodging is in 8 comfortable fales (bungalows). The fales are well ventilated and have ceiling fans. Each fale is situated beautifully. Some face the river while others look out to sea. There are 3 meals (inclusive) a day that are served in the very attractive dinning facility. The food is appropriate for hungry surfers after hours of riding waves.
Al-in-all I was very pleased with SSR. It was a very good value for the money spent. Bring sun block of the highest grade. Also bug repellent is a good idea. Pack minimally since the SSR is very casual. Bringing quick drying clothes is a good idea.

Room Tip: If you want to see the breaks from your fale request an ocean view. However all the fales are well s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaturePhotogUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Upolu hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Lupe Sina Treesort
Lupe Sina Treesort
#7 of 29 in Apia
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sa'Moana Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salani Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salani Surf Resort

Address: South Coast, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Upolu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Upolu
Price Range: £56 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Salani Surf Hotel Upolu
Salani Surf Resort Samoa/Upolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing