We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding FAIL”
Review of Seabreeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seabreeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Upolu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family had booked out the resort for 3 nights while my sister was getting married in Dec 2013.

Unfortunately the GREAT staff and food was let down by two owners and an inexperienced wedding planner named Karleen Rasmussen. The owners called the bride 'Maria' which was incorrect and also happily placed their table at my sisters wedding next to the head table while wearing their everyday t-shirt and shorts while the staff wore immaculate uniforms.

Also the wedding planner came and visited on the Thursday before the wedding and then only showed up on the wedding day expecting the MC to run around and do everything else. Guests had to sort music out and stand next to the stereo for music during the wedding and first dance which should have been taken care of by the wedding planner.

No walk through of what was to happen and no practice took place. She didn't even know who the groom was on the day.

The wedding was delayed by HOURS because of the weather, but Karleen advised that there was nothing to worry about as the owner said it would clear up - obviously it didn't and had to have it inside which took another hour to move and arch.

Whoever decided tall vases on tables at a sit-down function were acceptable was deluded as many pictures and videos were blocking peoples faces and guests could not speak to each other unless they physically moved them.

Couldn't understand why the mirrors were on the side of the wall so you had to turn your head or walk into the shower to view face on and the tea and coffee in each room was in the bathroom next to the basin and toilet.

Unfortunately being a Samoan and having family in the village of Lotofaga and being treated especially by the owners was very disappointing and excusable.

I would stay here again for the pool, the view, the food and for sure the staff - but would never have a function here unless it was planned by myself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CMOldehaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabreeze01, Owner at Seabreeze Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

What can we say but we are devastated that you feel that we failed in such a way. Yes the weather was atrocious & we did do our very best to make sure that we could fulfill the dreams of the couple & create the Beach wedding that they had dreamed of. We probably tried far too hard & should have made the call to change the wedding to the Pavilion earlier, it did look like there was a going to be a break in the weather but unfortunately it was not too be & once the call was made we had the setting relocated in a very short time.! We also had discussed that should the weather be bad that a delay might be appropriate to gain the desired effect, so we were working to a game plan.
I will take responsibility for calling the bride by the MC's name I think that happened when you were checking out (I was taken aback by what you were saying to me at the time) I had only seen Kelsie from the back & apologize sincerely for any discomfort that caused.
With regards to Karleen's experience she is one of the most sought after wedding planner on the Island & I know she spent weeks training & supporting the staff in both the songs that were requested & the procession of the bride & groom, positioning to make the best possible outcome for the couple!
Our floral arrangements were based on photographs that we had been supplied which the florist basically copied & yes we thought we had hit the mark on at least that part of the setting, we can only assume that there was a communications issue with us all not being on the same page! There are many options to music but it was a choice that music was supplied & put into our system, guests usually have a play list that incorporates special dances etc, but this was not the case in this instance??
We do take your comments seriously & can only assure you that we understand your concerns & & are looking at them from a positive viewpoint. It is definitely our desire to Please ALL OUR GUESTS, we have never had a family leave disappointed before & a full book out is usually an amazing experience.
We are relooking at our events policy & will in future make sure that guests are fully aware of the plan B rain option!
As owners we take any criticism personally, we are the owners & the buck stops with us, we hope you DO decide to return someday to enjoy our great view, food & of course our HOSPITALITY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Seabreeze Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 13. We were lucky with the weather, stopped raining e day the got there. Nice time of year to go, escaping the Aussie winter. Being a gay couple we were a bit of a novelty with the staff, being a very Christian Island, which was compounded by us staying in the "Honeymoon Suite", this became somewhat tiresome. However the owner did try to make us feel welcome, as did the other guests. This is a very small resort and you must be up for doing nothing much. Having said that there are some amazing local sites, you can take a car around the island or do a tour which we did and enjoyed (watch up for the pigs all over the roads). The resort itself has amazing food, nice pool and lovely private beach. If you want to curl up with a good book, this is your place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Fabulous boutique resort. Stayed with my daughter for a stress relieving 7 nights. It is in a beautiful location. The Resort is quiet and relaxing with attentive staff and lovely accommodation. My daughter loved the huge hammock on the balcony which is large and overlooks the infinity pool. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We definitely want to go back :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

In my many years of visiting and living in Samoa, I had never stayed at Seabreeze. I've dined here countless times but this time we decided to stay in the Honeymoon Villa.

The room is astounding. From the minute you step from the paved path through the double doors to the private garden with it's own outdoor shower, you will be captivated. The views are truly magnificent and you feel like a king or queen in this room! Pick any window in the villa and the views will enthrall. That includes the view from the shower!

What I loved about this room is that whilst it has a fab balcony where you can dine, drink or just sit and read, it also has two huge daybeds and another small table and chairs. This gives you a choice of relaxing areas to sit and read and watch the scenery.

The food and service at Seabreeze really are something to write home about. The staff all know your name by the end of the first day, and nothing is too much trouble without them being overbearing in any way. I have eaten at most of the establishments along the south coast, and I can honestly say that nothing else beats the food and service that Seabreeze have to offer. They really do approach their menu and food with tender loving care, and it shows.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, and in fact I'm planning on bringing up the inlaws for a short break here; I know they'll love it as much as we did.

Thank you Wendy and Chris and your wonderful team for a truly memorable stay. Alofa tele atu x

Room Tip: Loving the honeymoon villa or the beachside villa, but the garden rooms are also really lovely!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights at Seabreeze in a Ocean View Room as part of our 9 night trip to Samoa. Seabreeze has received some wonderful reviews on Trip Advise and duly so. There are only 10 or 11 rooms that were fully booked whilst we were there, as one couple left another arrived. Although the resort was fully booked it was never a problem to secure a pool lounge or get a good table in the restaurant. Their Fia Fia night on a Friday was great fun and good value. One suggestion I would make is that they offer a buffet at their Fia Fia night rather than a set 3 course meal. This would allow guests to sample more of the traditional Samoan food.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ocean View 3 and it was almost perfect (the only negative was the only mirror in the ro...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin-and-Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Seabreeze to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot. From being personally greeted by the owner when we arrived at 3 in the morning, to being farewelled in song by the staff, it was a trip that we will remember for the rest of our lives. The location, rooms and food are all top-notch, but the biggest asset are the staff - friendly and attentive, and always smiling. We wish that we could have stayed longer than 5 days - but we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Book well ahead to get a room at the Seabreeze...always seemed to be fully booked, as soon as one guest left another arrived. The resort offers airport pickups/drop offs at anytime of the day which is handy considering some of the flight times in and out of Faleolo Airport . Excellent service, beautiful views over Paradise Cove and a great location. Close to the amazing Tosua trench...only 5 min drive, get dropped off there and then walk back (an easy walk) to the Seabreeze via the beautiful Vavau Beach. Make sure you have a chat to Chris (owner) for advice on what to see and do around the island but if you just want to snorkel in the cove or laze on a hammock over looking the pool and ocean with cocktail in hand that's a day well spent too.
Definitely try the banana pancakes for breakfast :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Upolu hotels
20.6 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
4.6 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 29 in Apia
212 reviews
21.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
395 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
27.2 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Resort

Address: Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Upolu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Upolu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Upolu
Price Range: £151 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabreeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of an extensive multimillion dollar re-build & refurbishment, Seabreeze, is now Samoa’s NEWEST BEACHFRONT Resort. Situated on the South East coast of Upolu, nestled in a small sandy bay directly on the beach, this stunning new resort is designed for couples on that totally romantic vacation that require the ultimate in Samoan Boutique Luxury. Enjoy a cocktail by the pool whilst relaxing in a double daybed, laze on the beach or take a dip within the protection of our pristine lagoon, experience the culture, watch the local fishermen on the reef, swing in a hammock, kayak to the small islets that surround this historical bay, or relax in tranquil surroundings while the waves lap around you. Guests enjoy the use of non motorized water sports equipment at no charge. Seabreeze is small & personal, our friendly staff know every guest by name, you are not a room number you are our VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seabreeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabreeze Hotel Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Samoa/Upolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing