We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Tropical Paradise”
Review of Seabreeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seabreeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Upolu
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxurious Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this resort and used it as a base to explore sites on the south side of the main island. The resort feels small and boutiquey (it doesn't feel like there are many people there), yet has all the amenities you might wish: a nice pool, a swim-up bar, a private beach within a cove with good snorkeling (they provide kayaks, snorkel gear, etc. free of charge), in-room massage, and a good restaurant.

We stayed in the ocean villa which is immediately in front of the pool which is in front of the beach. The rooms were very nicely appointed, each villa was separate (so you're not sharing walls with your neighbors), and what I liked best of all was that each had a hammock out front so you could laze there with your drink enjoying the views.

The restaurant was really good and offered a fixed menu each night plus specials. For breakfast (included in our rate), you had several choices which were all very good & personally prepared. The dinners offered a range of options, seafood, steak, pasta, curry, etc. including vegetarian options. We enjoyed sitting near the windows for both the breeze & the view. As there are maybe two decent restaurants on the south side of the island, people would come from other resorts for dinner at this restaurant.

Each day, our itinerary would consist of breakfast followed by visiting local places (waterfalls, hiking, other beaches), then return in the mid-afternoon, swim in the pool, have some drinks, relax in the hammock, then go for dinner. Certainly not a bad life.

Room Tip: I didn't check out the other room types, but we stayed in an Ocean Villa room which has good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperDave666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    39
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
279
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a fabulous 8 night stay at the resort. As it was a special occasion, we stayed in the gorgeous Honeymoon Point House, and it was worth every cent. The villa is so romantic and private and you really do have the best view in the house. The sound of the ocean crashing beneath you is such a wonderful sound to fall asleep to. The villa has a plunge pool/ spa pool which is perfect if you just want to cool down. The inside shower has double aspect windows that open right out and the view of the ocean is to die for. The bed is very comfortable and the villa has both a ceiling fan and air conditioning.

My idea of a holiday is not having to cook and I can honestly say that EVERY meal we ate in the restaurant was excellent. There is a fantastic alacarte menu along with the specials every night, and pizza's from their own wood oven every Saturday and Sunday lunchtime. In the whole time we were there we had plenty of choice, in-fact I didn't get to try everything! The restaurant staff really made the dining experience special. Unlike the other reviewer we enjoyed the high fives and were even lucky enough to progress to hugs when we left! I found the Samoan staff extremely warm and caring and it made it very hard for me to leave.

The resort facilities are lovely and are very well maintained. We made good use of the large swimming pool and it is the perfect place for a dip to cool off in the afternoon, The fact the resort is small is a real plus and adds to how easy it is to relax as soon as you arrive. We would really recommend the Fia Fia night. In no way did we feel pressured to attend, in-fact it was an honour to be there and something that I will always remember.
From the wonderful welcome at the airport by John who safely transferred us to the resort, to Chris who was waiting when we arrived to show us to our beautiful villa and was always there for questions, and to the wonderful men and women in the kitchen and restaurant, thank-you all so much for making our holiday so fantastic.

A special thanks to Kevin too, Kevin it was a real pleasure to meet you, and we really enjoyed all the conversations you took the time to have with us.

I would thoroughly recommend this resort to everyone - it is a slice of paradise. We will definitely be coming back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Couple616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Thank you Chris & Wendy for your wonderful resort, amazing staff and superb food. We had the most relaxing holiday with you. Loved the pool area and private beach. Snorkel and kayaking right at your doorstep. The highlight was the FiFi night, wonderful singing and dancing plus all the food was world class during our entire stay. Nothing at all is too much trouble. Lovely walks up to the local village and Tu Su Trench is a must visit, only 20 mins walk from Seabreeze. Highly recommend this place and make sure you take a day trip with the Seabreeze guys. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently ate at this resort for a mid day meal. The setting is magnificent. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Samoa. We were greeted with a handshake when we arrived. The menu choice was just what we thought we would want. The tuna was to die for. The staff was very attentive and courteous. The manager in charge stopped by to chat. This is what Samoa should be all about. Price was good, not as cheap as some but excellent value for money. A lovely setting looking out over the sea and an excellent standard of service. We can thoroughly recommend this for a place to spend some time and should be a must do place to visit. Our only regret was that we did not stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We phoned the resort at 22:30 after being let down by the hotel we were booked into. Seabreeze could not have been more accommodating or helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.
The resort is fantastic and worth every cent. Our only regret is that we could not spend more time there. The rooms were clean, well provisioned and private. Dining at their restaurant was a pleasure with a great view and relaxed atmosphere.
We will be back

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Haml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch with our 3 children after visiting the nearby To Sua Ocean Trench. This is a resort that only accepts children under 10 in the restaurant for lunch so we were welcome as long as we kept the kids under control. The setting is stunning - the restaurant is over the water - and the food was magnificent, which is not always the case in Samoa. What a great idea to have a resort with no kids! Might have to come back on our own some time...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Seabreeze is located at the far eastern end of Upolo, about and hour and a half's drive from the airport.
It is very isolated out here and you really do need to hire a car to get anywhere.
Try to hire from the airport as there are hefty charges for drop off out here and again for pick up.
The resort is located in the most beautiful shallow bay, with gorgeous islands and turquoise shallow waters with all-tide access. However it is subject to the wind, and the waves on the reef can apparently get quite big and kick up quite a current in the bay.
This is a tiny, boutique style resort.
The owners are helpful and informative.
It was an absolute delight to stay somewhere that not only advertises being child–free but sticks to that rule and enforces it – well done! This alone would make me come back.
The standard of rooms is extremely high, the rooms are well furnished and beautifully made.
The basic poolside rooms, although lovely and super decks, are very dark, with shaded windows and no sunlight. These rooms are very cramped together and there is little privacy, plus everyone has to walk past them to get to the pool and other rooms.
The beachfront and honeymoon rooms are much better and brighter & more private.
Everything in the room was in good working order.
The rooms seemed to only lack a few things, umbrellas, a torch, candles and matches for powercuts (or romance on the deck!) & lighting! Gosh they are so dark at night, we had lovely chairs and couches but could not use them at night to read as the room was too poorly lit. Really annoying. I actually wished I had bought a lamp with me.
Some batteries for the battery operated candles would have been nice too.
The pool area here is small and right in front of most of the rooms, so not very private, just a few loungers here and there is a tiny pool bar too. The pool was not very clean when we stayed.
There is no covered public are here outside of your room where you can sit and read or chat with friends, except the restaurant, so no shelter from the rain.
The resort grounds are beautiful and wonderfully tended.
The beach is tiny and although not soft white sand, it does offer lovely swimming at high tide and basic snorkelling at all tides. There is no coral at all, but plenty of fish.
The restaurant food was very nice, great variety and beautifully prepared and presented, but the restaurant was sadly let down at times by the complacency and poor service of some of the staff. The only night we were offered a desert menu, or a second drink, was the night the boss was there. Otherwise we were totally ignored once our food arrived.
I hate it when a glass comes with the waiters fingers inside it. I shouldn't even have to ask for a glass with my drink. I don't want to listen to the Samoan equivalent of the Wiggles, repeated over and over at dinner either. And personally, I don't want to be high-fived by the staff when I leave a restaurant, it's unprofessional, I would prefer to be politely thanked. But these are small concerns, overall it is still a very good place to eat.
This brings me to the cultural night – we did not enjoy this. We felt forced to attend, really pressured, you basically have to attend. We were stuck there from 5pm till 10pm, the food was limited and not what we enjoy eating, we were all made to sit together at one big table with the other guests and later forced to do the Chicken Dance, among other things. It was awful. I hate being made to get up and dance against my will. I really think there should be a choice of attending or not. It was also getting expensive at $75 SAT each. Other people may enjoy this - as they seemed to, and each to their own - but for me it was a big negative.
There is no concierge service here and no printed information on tours or what to see, except verbal. There is no information in the room about local sights, tours or walks.
It is a shame for such a nice resort that your first impressions of the are slightly dampened before you even check in by being given a form, where the negative points are super- highlighted in vivid marker, such as no food allowed in the rooms ( so why offer room service?) & that you have to use as little power as possible. From $395 to $695 NZ$$ per night, I do expect to be allowed to leave my air-conditioner on when I leave the room, thank you all the same. I also don't like to be lectured about these things before I have even arrived. A polite note in the room would suffice.
Internet is slow and only works in areas close to the office. If it rains, you have to sit in the restaurant to use it unless you are in the first few rooms nearest the office.
There are kayaks here and snorkelling gear and it is all free and good quality.
Make sure you bring Samoan Tala from home as there is no cash out facility and you will need cash for every beach, waterfall, and sight that you go to – very little is free on Samoa.
Overall the positives here far outweigh the negatives and it's a lovely resort and well worth a visit for a couple of nights.

Samoa tips:
You need cash for petrol - they won't take a card and they are a long distance away.
There are no places for lunch or coffee as you drive around the Island except at the Resorts and in Apia.
The best sights are the Pulia Cave pool, the deep snorkelling hole in Apia ( I forget it's name but it's great, best at half tide, $4 tala each), the Ma Tree walk, the big waterfall nearest the resort ( $5 tala each), the wonderful To Sua hole and walkway, the fabulous 1.8km Coastal Walkway with it's rock arches & sheer cliffs, and most of all the Southern beaches, especially the public Return to Paradise beach area ( $20 tala for two with a day use fale, no toilets) which still has loads of coral, best viewed at mid to high tide. PLEASE don't walk on the coral or touch it or bang your feet on it - there is so little left in Samoa after the Tsunami and we were angered seeing people just standing on it. This is shallow snorkelling here and you need fin, not reef shoes - don't go out if you are not confident or think you might need to stand up or your kids might want to stand as there is very little sandy space once you are in the coral garden. This is not a place to be ruined.
The turtle feeding past the airport is fantastic and free - it looks closed, but park on the side of the road and walk in, the huge friendly turtles are waiting for bread and bananas and pawpaw! Watch your fingers.
All these sights are on the Jasons Samoa map.
BYO water and snacks on the road - they are hard to buy unless in Apia.
Everything costs money in Samoa, even the beaches & waterfalls, so you will need lots of small notes as you tour around.
Driving is a bit hazardous as most Samoans drive in the middle of the road ! They recently changed to the left hand side so it's obviously hard for them to adjust. Most people honk as they pass to avoid a collision if the car you are passing moves to the right ( as it will). Most roads are now sealed, but check with the resort though as there are a few that you should avoid.
Distances are short but the drives are long - and driving at night is a new challenge, there are very few direction signs in Samoa & it is easy to take a wrong turn and can take an hour and a half just to get back from Apia depending on the locals, and traffic, & dogs, and pigs..........

Room Tip: For a bit of evening sun, & privacy, beachfront or honeymoon are the only ones, and that will ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rabbity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabreeze01, Owner at Seabreeze Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are thrilled that you loved our location and our no child policy which is actually increasing to "no children under 15 years for the 2015/16" season to ensure the romantic intimacy that we have become renowned for continues.

To answer a few of your concerns please let us assure you there is no need for candles or matches in the rooms as these would be prohibited as part of our fire safety policy. However for guests comfort Seabreeze has an emergency generator that feeds the entire resort & changes over automatically within seconds of the resort loosing the main power from the grid.
Mainly our power comes from the Islands Diesel generators & as we care for our Island & our planet the conservation of power & water is important to us, however we do not switch off air-conditioners that have been left on for guests comfort when our staff service, our only request is that due to the humidity all window & doors are closed when the using air as the systems can not work efficiently with opened windows & doors.

Umbrellas are standard with every room, we have extra umbrellas down the restaurant, we urge future guests to request one or simply take one from the restaurant or reception, if for some reason this is missing from the room.

Our Ocean & Reef view villas are nestled withing the swaying palm trees and in the case of really bad weather the rooms are not as light as normal, we are now looking at ways to increase the lighting in the rooms under these circumstances.

Seabreeze has daily pool inspections & a full pool hygiene program, despite the pool having a fully automatic salt distributor we also test daily & correct where necessary, when we experience heavy rain this can cause a chemical imbalance which we endeavor to rectify with the utmost of urgency.

Our pool bar is usually where guests congregate and this is the hub of activity with pool side dining set out in the garden setting, the bar stools are under roof but with wind driven rain the stunning waterfront restaurant is totally rain & wind proof, it is most unfortunate that you didn't experience the magic of a sunny stay in Samoa.

We sincerely apologize for the issues in the restaurant, our staff have been hand trained & we have a strong ongoing training program, we had our consultant discuss this with our staff & reiterate standard restaurant etiquette. Whilst we don't profess to be perfect normally we are complimented on our staffs professionalization so this is definitely not our normal standard of service.

Our floor show is normally considered as the highlight of the week - however IT IS NOT COMPULSORY, if guests do not want to participate we are happy to offer guests dining on their deck. Whilst we do not offer "in room dining" we often prepare a private candlelit dinner on either the deck or courtyards, with full waiter service & even with bad weather this is very pleasurable experience. We urge future guests to advise us should they not wish to participate in our Fiafia night & we will arrange a pre-ordered dinner from the A la Carte menu prior to the floor show starting!

Once you have settled in Chris (hubby) & co-owner offers a FULL orientation on all the "must see's" . We can arrange a customized half or full day tour we have photo's of all the attractions in reception, so you can make an informed decision. Whilst we believe strongly in the personal touch & Chris's local knowledge is invaluable, we are re-looking at providing this information in the room, for guests who prefer not to use the tour desk facilities.

We have 3G wifi & is available in most of the resort even on the Honeymoon deck, we can only assume again that the bad weather played a part in the way the service was working.

We have always offered car hire on site (from an Apia Company) but soon we will be operating hire cars from Seabreeze without a delivery charge as these vehicles will be ours! This week we were honoured by receiving our Samoan Citizenship & as the hire car industry is only for Samoan Citizens we will now be able to assist guests who wish to explore the Island without delivery fees attached. This will mean that guests can explore with one or two days hire & still enjoy the resorts facilities & attractions that are close by without having the expense of a car for their entire stay.

We do our best to exceed expectations and normally succeed so if we have failed in any area of your stay we take this seriously and will continue to improve our service whilst keeping personality & fun as part of our daily routine. We respect our guests individuality and encourage future guests to discuss any issues they may have with us whilst in house, so we can make your stay the best possible.

From a warm & sunny day in Paradise Alofas Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Upolu hotels
20.6 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
4.6 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
199 reviews
20.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
361 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
27.2 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Resort

Property: Seabreeze Resort
Address: Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Upolu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Upolu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Upolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabreeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of an extensive multimillion dollar re-build & refurbishment, Seabreeze, is now Samoa’s NEWEST BEACHFRONT Resort. Situated on the South East coast of Upolu, nestled in a small sandy bay directly on the beach, this stunning new resort is designed for couples on that totally romantic vacation that require the ultimate in Samoan Boutique Luxury. Enjoy a cocktail by the pool whilst relaxing in a double daybed, laze on the beach or take a dip within the protection of our pristine lagoon, experience the culture, watch the local fishermen on the reef, swing in a hammock, kayak to the small islets that surround this historical bay, or relax in tranquil surroundings while the waves lap around you. Guests enjoy the use of non motorized water sports equipment at no charge. Seabreeze is small & personal, our friendly staff know every guest by name, you are not a room number you are our VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Seabreeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabreeze Hotel Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Samoa/Upolu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing