We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”
Review of Le Manumea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manumea Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Le Manumea, the room was fantastic, large, big bed and of course those outdoor bathrooms are amazing!! :) The whole complex was great, large open restaurant, bar, pool area. We were travelling with our 6 month old daughter and Luna and all the staff were so wonderful with her (and she loved all the attention!), it was a perfect place for our little family.

It was nice to be a bit out of Apia, and we found it easier to get around (with the baby and car seat) with a rental car the whole time. We hired it at the resort and Luna also arranged transfers to and from the airport for us. I also highly recommend the Island night on Thursday nights, the show was really good, with some humour as well, amazing fire dancers and a lovely buffet meal. I also recommend Kokobanana over the road, really good food!

Loved our stay and hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback, and for recommending us. We are definitely pleased that your time here at Le Manumea was well spent. It is certainly our best interest keeping our guests comfortable, and happy. We look forward to hosting you and your family here once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Le Manumea for 2 nights. The outside shower & loo was an experience. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Luna is an amazing hostess and made us feel relaxed. The complementary breakfast was very good. We loved the pool, very refreshing on those hot evenings. Location is good too. Only a 5-10 minute trip into the centre of Apia. I'd say good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was comfy and the bed was enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

And a huge THANK YOU for your feedback. Grateful that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
Our out-door bathrooms are definitely one of our "best sellers" so do visit us once again,
as we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Manumea hotel.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The outside bathroom is unique and showering under the stars is very romantic. The Island night floor show is fantastic, the MC is very entertaining with a great sense of humor. Food was delicious. Very relaxed atmosphere. Luna is a fantastic host and makes all her guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that your time spent here at Le Manumea was a great experience for you. Our host at FIAFIA night certainly knows how to draw a crowd. Meaning, it isn't a show with that interesting sense of humor. Glad you enjoyed the show. Having said that, we do hope to have you back with us sometime soon.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We intially booked for 2 nights here and loved it so much we extended our stay for another 2nights, the rooms were amazing, spacious not to mention the bathrooms. The staff were great and so was Luna. Location was perfect for us as my mothers family home was meters away from the hotel and town was only a $5cab ride away. The bar would only close when we were ready to hit the sack - a bigger bonus, but the best is yet to come. We ended up in Samoa longer than we anitcipated my son was not fit to travel had an allergic reaction of some sort and was admitted into hospital the night we were due to fly back. Luna had sent one of her staff to the hospital with clean sheets, a towel and pillows for my son, we had no idea you had to provide your own at the hospital.
And then did not charge us the extra nights we spent there.
This is why its home away from home, they made us all feel more than welcome.
Thank you Luna, and thank you Siliva for everything xoxox

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank priscilla_ierome29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

Thank you very much for your response. Making our guests feel at home is the least we can do. It is you we thank for making Le Manumea your choice of destination. It was our pleasure getting to meet/ host your family. We look forward to your return in the (hopefully) near future.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Le Manumea. Sure, it's not a world-class resort but nor as you paying for one!

Positives:
The included breakfast was substantial (2x eggs, toast, cereal, fresh fruit) - one morning we paid for a different option each but the free breakfast was probably better.
Comfy beds and clean and tidy rooms
Outdoor bathrooms add to the tropical holiday feel!
Aircon + fan
The rental car rate (100 tala/day for 3+ days) was the cheapest rate we found and Luna gave good suggestions as to places to visit around the island.
As we had a late flight and they were quiet, Luna very kindly agreed to let us have a late checkout and use of the rental car for another half day (FOC).

Things to note - Keeping in mind we travelled in the off season:
The resort is a fair way out of town - we mistakenly thought we'd be able to walk in which wasn't the case. In the end, a rental car was required (which we made good use of travelling the islands)
The pool was often closed and when it was open, was a bit murky.
I agree with other reviews that the room smelt damp, but once inside you stopped noticing the smell.

When you arrive at the airport, jump in one of the shuttles... you'll pay 50 tala for 2 adults to get to the resort and it doesn't need to be pre-booked.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room further away from the restaurant - as it's an open space, the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploringKiwisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback. The comments you made is a step higher, enabling us to improve in terms of service & hospitality. Noted, with thanks. Glad that your stay here at Le Manumea was a afforable/enjoyable one for you. Hope to have you return sometime in the near future.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this place very much. It wasnt too far from Town but it was out of the hustle and bustle of the town and you could feel really relaxed.

Postives:
Owner and staff were so friendly, welcoming and accomodating. They have a great fiafia night and fire dances and also traditional dances. Rooms spacious, bathrooms spacious and very Samoan inspired. Loved it.

Negatives:
-Maybe a better TV with better reception
-Need a screen door or fly screens on windows to keep the creepy crawlies and mosquitoes out. We were so lucky we had our light on when sleeping because right next to our bed was a massive centrepede I think its Akuloa in samoan.
- Taula Tower at the bar...they only had vailima hehe

Apart from that....Luna and her team were awesome. Id definitely come back again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Travelling_Samoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,

Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely going to look into the comments and suggestions that you have given. Your thoughts simply enable us to improve in terms of service & hospitality. Thank you for your time. We are glad that your stay here at Le Manumea was a great one, and we look forward to hosting you here once again.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

They say first impressions count and unfortunately my stay at Le Manumea left me with a bad taste in my mouth. From our arrival at the airport until the dramas at checking out everyday at Le Manumea presented our group with some sort of issue/drama.

Our taxi driver on arrival to the airport slept in, which left us to organise our own transportation. Rooms were not ready upon arrival to the hotel as pre-arranged and our group was left to wait 4 hours in the dining area. When I finally got to my room it was beautiful and i was most impressed by the outdoor shower and bathroom, however, my room had an overwhelming smell of dampness.

The staff were very friendly however limited in speaking english resulting in many of our requests being incorrect. We were in a large group and our complimentary breakfast which simply consisted of eggs, toast, cereal and fruit seemed to be too difficult to get right and be sent out on time. Most days waiting over an hour and a half to be received and the orders not being correct everyday.

My room was unfortunately double booked on my last night, due to the incorrect check out date they had for us. I was asked to give up my room and asked to stay in a friends room as that was the only spare bed available although at no extra cost it was still inconvenient and unprofessional.

There is so much potential in this establishment however it seems all services are run on samoan time. I unfortunately would not go back here on my next trip to Samoa

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemsmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Talofa Lava,


Thank you for your response. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience' caused whilst your stay here at Le Manumea. Your comments will definitely help us working towards the betterment of our services & hospitality.

Fa'afetai tele lava.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.4 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#19 of 29 in Apia
164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
#12 of 29 in Apia
272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Address: The Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 32" Flat Screen is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing