We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vaea Hotel / Motel”
Review of Vaea Hotel Samoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vaea Hotel Samoa
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Apia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Vaea Hotel / Motel”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Vaea Hotel is actually a Motel on two levels with an alfresco breakfast area and an occasional garden bar.

Spotlessly clean, comfortable and convenient.

The rooms have decent size beds, easy chairs, fridge, coffee making facilities, T.V. Air conditioning, and good wardrobe space plus a balcony with table and chairs and a nice outlook to Mt. Vaea.
Breakfasts are continental plus eggs (scrambled or fried) should you wish.

Only a short walk from town it's situated in a residential area making it more homely.
We walked to town regularly, the markets, flea markets, fish markets, The Yacht Club, Aggie Grey's, The Marina.
The latter 3 a decent walk but interesting to take in the local surroundings along the sea walls. Otherwise take a taxi for 3 / 5 tala.
Close also to R.L.S Museum ( 5 tala taxi).

The Bora Bora Bar is seperate to the main building in private garden surroundings and seems to be open on demand.
(Dean makes the best margaritas in Samoa.)

Lupe, Dean and family are wonderful hosts and nothing seems to be a bother to them, plus they seem to enjoy mixing with the guests.

We extended our stay at Vaea from 4 to 7 days and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Vaea is an excellent alternative to the hectic hustle n bustle of other hotels in apia, its garden setting is great and hosts give fantastic personal service to every guest. Excellent value for money and well positioned to walk to town yet away from noisy central streets.
Lupe and Dean are doing a stirling job of making guests feel like family and there is lovely healthy food and lemongrass tea

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arathorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at the Vaea Hotel for 5 nights recently on business. I was looking for a small hotel that wasn't too touristy and after searching on the internet I settled on the Vaea. I wasn't disappointed. My room was spacious and clean, the shower was hot and the bed was very comfortable.

The staff are all very friendly and the owners - Lupe and Dean - are great hosts. Dean makes the best margarita I've tasted in a long time and his tuna sashimi is as fresh as you'll find anywhere.

I'm hoping to get back up to Apia soon and when I do I'll be heading back to the Vaea. Fa'afetai, Lupe and Dean, for a great stay. Don.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor get a bit more breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manuhiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed two nights - a/c or windows, excellent breakfast, friendly owners who go the extra mile. Short walk to the waterfront, very close to the museum which is well worth the visit. Can arange transfers to/from airport. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My company checked me in and though i did not receive the complimentary bottled water and did not taste the Samoan cocoa, Lupe and Dean was nice enough to chat with and really give a hearty breakfast. I would have preferred scrambled eggs than sunny side up but everytime i would ask Emma, she said she does not know how. I loved the healthy breakfast and oil-less cooking of the eggs but i hope that they change the white bread to wheat or multi-grain. I stayed there for 2 weeks straight and could not get enough of the fruits they serve every morning. Emma was also gracious to serve and cover the food so that the flies wont contaminate it. The rooms were pristine and water was strong like a fire hydrant. The place is really relaxing and quiet.

I would surely want to come back but remember that once you booked and reserved to stay for specific number of days, you will pay for all of it regardless if u consumed it or not. Had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Choose the middle ones if you want a cooler room. The one after the stairs is less cooler since its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AABT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here for a short business trip to Apia. Nice being a little away from downtown, and it only costs USD $2 for a taxi downtown.

Lupe and Dean are really sweet and run a great hotel. They are very welcoming and attentive to the needs of guests. If you are looking for a hotel that is not too touristy and quiet, this is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InspiredDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We visited Samoa for a week and are truly glad that we chose Vaea hotel as a base for our stay. Lupe and Dean were truly wonderful, gracious hosts. They went out of there way to make every guest feel welcome and at home. The combination of clean air-conditioned rooms, excellent breakfasts, and a great location make this place a prime choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Entobento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amanaki Hotel
Amanaki Hotel
#4 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 30 in Apia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaea Hotel Samoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaea Hotel Samoa

Property: Vaea Hotel Samoa
Address: Off Vaitele Street, Togafu'afu'a Rd | P.O. Box 3782, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vaea Hotel Samoa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned boutique Hotel offering a personal touch to all Guests, catering to business, group and tourist travelers. We are a good town base for those who would like to check out our local markets/cafes & bars first in town (as we are located only minutes from the CBD of Apia township) before they venture out and explore/tour the rest of the island. We have clean, secure and private rooms (Ground and First floor Rooms) with block-out curtains (for outdoor noise reduction) and offer all the modern amenities to make our Guests' stay comfortable and hassle free. We have an outdoor swimming pool with outdoor seating area, timber decking for R&R, in-house Bar offering mixed drinks, chilled beer (Vailima beer!) and classic cocktails. Free Continental Breakfast is served daily, consisting of fresh local fruits, breads & spreads, coffees, teas and extras. We can book Airport transfers and assist with Rental cars etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vaea Hotel Samoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaea Hotel Samoa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing