We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you don't mind bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK if you don't mind bugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

When I first saw our room, I was thoroughly pleased with the beautiful decor. However, it didn't take long before my excitement turned to disappointment as the room also came fully equipped with tons of mosquitoes and humungous roaches. We alerted the front desk and they assured us that housekeeping would quickly take care of the situation. Housekeeping showed up at our door with a can of bug spray. Uh hello… that’s your remedy? Are you kidding me with that? Ok so being the good sports that we are, we sprayed the entire room and left for a few hours while the toxic fumes died down. Not surprisingly, the can of bug spray didn’t work. The front desk clerk although very friendly, wasn’t very helpful as he didn’t offer us another room. It’s a shame I won’t be back to the Tanoa because they make the best breadfruit fries & a pretty tasty Mojito.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunBug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry to hear about your experience regarding cleanliness in our room and the way that your concerns were handled. Rest assured that these incidents will be discussed with everyone concerned so we learn from it and ensure that these are rectified and not repeated again. On the positive side, thank you for commenting on the friendliness of our staff and for the quality of drinks we make.

Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment. We hope and are still optimistic that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    247
    93
    24
    20
See reviews for
184
131
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were orginally book in to stay 3 nights but due to air line canceling our flights we ended up staying 5.

The service in this hotal is second to none, when we had our flights canceled the staff went out of there way to make sure our needs were meet and in one case exceeded.

There was a super 15 game on T.V we wanted to watch but due some issue with our room T.V we couldnt watch it there, we could of watched it at the bar.
But the staff insisted that we would watch it in the quite of a nother room, so the organised a private room with live T.V air conditioning and drinks just for the two of us!

I fully recommend the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, its is also so close to the central Apia town ship and markets

We will be back thats for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTS008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Talofa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with everyone in the team. It is heartwarming to know that some of our co-staff managed to create for you a wow experience. They serve as an inspiration and model to all of us.

Again, thank you and we hope that we are able to welcome you as guests again one day soon if ever you find yourselves visiting Apia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauraki Plains
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights after finding out Aggie Greys was fully booked. The place is very clean and has comfortable beds. Very nice meals in the Restaurant and priced on a par with other similar hotels, restaurants etc. The staff were very obliging. Only gripe is I wish they had a shop for things like a newspaper, sunblock, jandals, magazines and ice creams like we found all the resorts in Fiji do.

With Samoa you have to remember the beaches are on the other side of the island. The hotel has a good swimming pool and a toddlers one as well. They did have a hiccup with pool and had to close it for a couple of days which was a pain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Talofa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is great and heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your stay and that members of our team in particular made it a delightful experience for you.

On your concerns, we will have a souvenir shop opening soon that will carry the basics a traveler will require. We indeed had some technical problems with our pool resulting in its closure for 3 days. we have managed to rectify it and will ensure that this does not happen again. We are grateful that you understood the situation we were in and had still managed to enjoy yourselves. We are confident that the next time you visit, you will not be experiencing the gripes you listed above.

Again, thank you and we hope that we will have the opportunity of having you visit and stay with us again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just got back fro, samoa and with a group of 11 of use and we had the best time of are lifes. amazing place. great staff and i really meen GREAT staff. very helpfull and happy. I took my two little girls that are 5months and 22months and they helped out with the kids when we wore eating tea or having breakie. we had one of the downstairs rooms (recomend paying the extra for the downstairs rooms they are amazing). i have read the terrible reviews and i really disagree with them. while staying there, thier was a wedding going on and it looked amazing. really recomend kitano!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamildc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Amazing customer service. very helpful and friendly. the staff all went out of their way to find out information for us, organise cheaps transport, booking appointments. i give this resort an A++ highly reccomend this place. it is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Talofa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and most specially that some members of our team managed to go out of their way to ensure that you enjoyed your visit to Samoa. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with everyone as they serve as an inspiration for us to continually strive to extend the best that we can to guests.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you staying with us again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We loved it, the new Tanoa is 10 times better than what it was back in 2006. The rooms are beautiful, Just love the whole new makeover. However i was not impressed with the food, lets just say we ate out... only downfall otherwise everything else was perfect including staff. Am going back again next month and can't wait!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feelesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Talofa!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is great and heartwarming to know that over all we have managed to make your stay and enjoyable one. Thank you most specially on your comment with regards to members of our team as this shows that we are on the right track. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with everyone.

Rest assured too that we will take your comments regarding food on board and will work on improving these.

Again, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully with food to your liking this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at this property during the April School Holidays, it is a very nice hotel, newly refurbished, and the rooms included all the amenities you would need, our package included buffet breakfast for the 5 nights we were there, the breakfast was quite nice although a little slow on the service at times. The pool area is beautiful, next to the pool deck bar, and the children's pool is excellent. I had an issue at times with the housekeeping, 1 of the day's towels were not replaced and the floors were not cleaned, ther were quite a few ants in our room, i sprayed them myself, and i mentioned this at reception, the matter was handled promptly and i was offered an apology, great service.
The drinks and cocktails were reasonably priced and the food was of very good quality. The hotel is situated in the city area, so it is easily accesible. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Apia.

Room Tip: Downstairs room, easier to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillypilly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TusiGM, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we are able to evaluate, review and improve our services and product. We are very sorry about your housekeeping concerns but are glad that our team was able to do something about it. Rest assured that the ants concern will be looked into as well as service consistency during breakfast.

Overall, thank you for your encouraging and motivating review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
26.7 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to all major offices,and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There is 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features a swimming pool and children’s pool, Tamarind Specialty restaurant, tennis courts and Poolside Bar.Senakai Spa is located at the Hotel, and is the perfect place to rewind, relax and enjoy some wonderful Spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing