We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of hotel to base yourself in Apia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very large comfortable rooms. Room service hit and miss, small things annoying like the air conditioner blowing straight onto your head while in bed, bathroom really needs updating. It is a large space with just a toilet, one panel of shower screen, 2 towel rails and that's it! Basin is outside the bathroom. Only got water on the first day so we just bought our own instead of making a fuss.
Great Happy Hour for 2 hours, with a nightly special cocktail on offer and a hot savoury platter offered.
Cultural night was shortened to show only due to them paying special attention to a group of travel agents - too bad for us mere mortals. So we missed out on the traditional food - pity.
Evening meals were served at the bar which was disappointing due to the food being cold by the time they brought it from the kitchen.
Walking distance to town and several bars/restaurants so in all, good choice.

Room Tip: the rooms were quiet but would still suggest away from the carpark - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Talofa lava NewcastleCatty,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback following your recent stay with us. Your comments certainly assist us with our ongoing commitment to improving our services and other aspects of the property.

It’s unfortunate that you did not ask a member of our team on how to adjust the air-conditioning unit so that it did not cause you discomfort. There is an air swing button on the A/C remote which changes the angle of the vent, this would have diverted the air flow down rather than out. This can even be moved manually, a very simple procedure, but at least you will know for your future visitation.

Our bathrooms were refurbished as recently as 2010. They are large and sparse by design, so that an area for dressing is provided. The hand basin is located outside of the shower and toilet so that the bathroom can be used by two people simultaneously, comfortably. The majority of guests love our spacious bathrooms, especially families sharing, but I suppose it comes down to a matter of personal taste.

Two bottles of water are placed in all rooms complimentary for your first day of stay, and as stated in our Guest Directory in the room, thereafter it is the responsibility of the guest to purchase. This is standard procedure in many hotels worldwide. Our tap water is perfectly safe for cleaning teeth, tea and coffee making, even drinking, but is up to the client on whether to use or not.

Unfortunately the evening you attended the Cultural Show, the show had been reduced to “Show Only” without our usual glorious buffet. This was not due to visiting Travel Agents, as you have somehow come to believe, but was due to the fact that the Conference Centre had been booked out for a large function that evening by a local Company, who then postponed at very short notice on the day. This meant that we had made plans to move the show from it’s usual location earlier in the week, having to down scale, and again at the last minute had to make the call to move it back again. It was too late to change any dining plans as “Show Only” had already been advertised. From time to time there is a clash on the space but we do our best to provide an alternative and I can assure you that all guests are treated with equal respect and consideration.

Our culinary and services teams are currently reviewing our food and beverage menu options, which will eliminate any possibility of serving cold menu items.

We are seeing Increasing numbers of guests using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, friendly services, cuisine and great coffee.
We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the treasured islands of Samoa and to the Tanoa Tusitala at some time again in the not-too-distant future.

Faafetai and Kind Regards,

Peter Kerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were a group of 13 and everyone was happy with their room and all agreed the staff were very friendly.

The location was very good, close to the markets and restaurants.

The rooms were clean and very spacious. Comfortable beds and good airconditioning.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava KC01,

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Good or bad, it is the only way we can gauge the guest experience from the guests point of view and therefore make improvements or pass on appreciation to staff.

Your positive review is much appreciated and we look forward to having you all here again sometime in the near future.

With best regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff overall are extremely friendly and helpful; however customer services outside of their mandate (assisting with airline loosing my luggage) they were simply wonderful. Tai and the team provide great support which was really appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava Kelly436,

Thank you for your positive comments as regards our Front Office Staff members and for taking the time to thank them personally. We are most fortunate to have a great team, so I will be only too happy to pass on your comments. We continually strive to improve our service so your feedback is invaluable.

We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Recently stayed at the Tanoa and found the experience absolutely fabulous, not only were the staff very professional but they were all willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. Special mention to Tai, Aulofa, Tia and Lisa who provided excellent service. The rooms were very comfortable and well serviced by very polite staff. Loved our time at the Tanoa and would definitely go back again in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava Ana,

We would like to thank you Ana, for taking the time to make your comments on Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to have you, and your family, stay here with us.

We are always looking to make improvements and with constant training and the guest feedback we receive, we are able to pass on both the positive and negative comments to assist in our staff development.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff concerned and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

this was my 3rd stay in last few months - twice I had problems on early morning arrival ie once room was not clean, second time I didn't get the room I had requested and confirmed and took a long while to sort out. once those problems were sorted the rooms were well maintained.
Breakfast has definitely improved but still has a way to go, the fresh eggs are probably the best choice and order the coffee from the bar which costs extra but is worth it.
The staff at the restaurant/bar are always pleasant and helpful, particulary Fuo, Nuu, Tina and Upu who stay cool and professional even when things are hectic.
I give it a Very Good rating as I dont think there many other choices in Apia so relative to the competition its the best pick right now.

Room Tip: 1st story rooms recommended
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank JayDee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava JayDee666,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of the guests experience and your feedback certainly assists us with this.

We are in the process of reviewing all the current menus and restaurant venues, so hopefully on your next visit you will encounter some positive changes, more variety and improved quality.

We look forward to your future visits and further feedback.

With best regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at tanoa in January for 4 days and we both were treated like royalty. Our checkin process was so quick and was shown to our room in a matter of minutes. Our room was really big and spacious and the bathroom was nice aswell

The staff were very friendly and ensure that we were looked after they were also a big help when it came to tourist attractions which they gave us very informative advice which was great!

We both enjoyed the fiafia night which was full of entertainment and laughs and is one way to experience a bit of Samoan dancing and food. Definitely a must see.

The only little picks I would have to say is our shower base was quite dirty and the swimming pool needs it tiles to be fixed as my partner did cut his leg and toe. At night for room service more variety of foodchoices but overall I would definitely come back
Thank you heaps !

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Ariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava Ariana G,

Well thank you Ariana for your positive comments regards your stay here with us at Tanoa Tusitala. We think we have a pretty special team here too, so your comments about their affability and professionalism, is much appreciated.

I wish to let you know that our daily room inspections have intensified to incorporate a spring clean of bathroom facilities now that the property has quietened marginally. Thank you for highlighting the need and apologies for the less than perfect housekeeping.

Also after much planning and preparation we have been able to schedule in a complete overhaul of our pool and surrounding areas. The pool was emptied, retiled and repaired before being cleaned and refilled. Quite an operation, as it requires coordinating with overseas operators as well as incoming guests, but it is now back in full working order. You can imagine the difficulties we had over our busy period to schedule this in, so I must apologise for the conditions you experienced while here, you certainly will not encounter these problems next time.

Our menus and restaurant venues are all under revue currently so an upgrade should be forthcoming in the very near future.

Again Ariana, many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime again soon.

Best wishes

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Am staying here for a week and have been most impressed with the hotel. Having read some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive. Arrived in middle of night staff checked me in very quickly. Although a previous review commented on no lifts a porter was waiting to take my luggage up to the second floor. The room is very spacious, well appointed, very modern. I cannot fault it. Toiletries are replenished each day. The bar serves as the restaurant as well with an adequate selection of meals. I was a little disappointed on Sunday that the caesar salad was off as they had no lettuce!! The other meals I had had very generous portions. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food. The only downside was the wifi which I consider a necessity these days. It was expensive. I used Bluezone which was slightly cheaper and if you bought 2 hrs you could come in and out until two hours was used up.
Although my room overlooks the pool I have not been disturbed.
The outstanding fact are the staff. Without exception from those tending the gardens, the reception or the bar staff, they are all so friendly and always pass the time of day. I am really enjoying my stay and would recommend it without reservation

Room Tip: I am in 221 and it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Talofa lava Richard,

We would like to thank you Richard, for taking the time to pass on your valued comments and observations. It certainly assists us in highlighting to the staff the areas that they need to improve in.

I must apologise for the lack of salad on Sundays. Owing to the heavy rainfall we had encountered prior to your arrival, fresh salad greens became almost impossible to purchase locally, with next to no supply over the weekends. Now that the inclement weather has passed, so has the problem for now.

Unfortunately, I think that most Island Nations seem to bear the burden of hefty internet charges and is more a local Government problem than a Hotel problem. That is in the process of being rectified. We have been promised that in the very near future, not only will the internet be twice as fast, but greatly reduced in price, fingers crossed! Even more of a frustration for those of us who live here full time I can tell you.

Again, many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa Tusitala in the future.

With best regards

Peter Kerr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing