We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lack of towels”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My only negative for this hotel is that they have to wash your towels and then bring the same ones back, there doesn't seem to be extra sets. I had so much trouble with the towel situation it made it very frustrating. I was staying there for a family reunion and the most important function was starting at 5pm and I had no towels to shower with, extremely annoying as they had taken all of them (even the ones hanging up) before noon. The next night I got in to my room about midnight and there was not one towel or face cloth in the room, quickly remedied by a call to housekeeping but also annoying. This was an every day occurrence and it should never happen.

Room Tip: Because it is a tropical country they have louvres with screens on the outside, because of this you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Talofa DPS

First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us as we are a very popular hotel for guests returning to Samoa for family reunions. Apologies for causing you anxiety as a result of our failure to deliver a basic service. As with any business we must continue to execute the basics correctly. We appreciate this being brought to our attention.
Otherwise we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next reunion.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    253
    94
    24
    20
See reviews for
188
137
40
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skien Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is among the best hotels in Apia. Convinient located opposite the western sea wall between parliament and the local markets (fish, flee and local produce). The busstaion with all the want to photograph or ride colourful buses is just 200 meter down the road. Large and clean rooms openening to garden level ground floors and blaconies in 1st floor. Equipped with fridge and tv.Nice semioutdoor restaurants and bar and a nice central pool. You pay for wifi with good access all over the facilities. The staff was mostly smiling and helpful as we expected.

Room Tip: #104 garden level towards pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerUrdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Talofa Per Urdahl

Thank you for highlighting the services and amenities that we offer at the hotel in addition to our proximity to Apia town and all it has to offer.

A ride on the unique Samoan buses is a must do as well as an early visit to the fish markets (Sunday is the best day to go).

Your trip advisor profile shows that you have reviewed many hotels in various cities around the world and we are encouraged that we were able to meet your expectations.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Clean and spacious room. About 40 minutes drive from airport but that is how far Apia is. Handy to the town. Good service. Staff very polite and friendly, we only had breakfast there. Probably needs to provide more of a selection for the price. Had to use ear plugs as there was a "night club" somewhere on Saturday night, our room over looked the tennis court. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Not near tennis courts on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Talofa Rachel

Thank you for taking time out to recommend our hotel and services.

Unfortunately on a still and calm Saturday night there can be a little noise from a night club several blocks away that could disturb a light sleeper so I am glad to know you had some ear plugs handy and the disturbance was minimal.

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very pleasant resort close to the old Apia markets and shopping area...fair hike from the airport but there is a lot to see on the drive.

Rooms were large and spacious...try not to get one near the restaurant as there is a fair bit of noise..trolleys and staff chatting, which although not offensive goes on all hours of the night. All the wait and house staff were very charming...just be careful in the bar and restaurant, although computerised, everything you order you will be charged for, even if it not available. We needed a break from fish and fruit, so ordered a pizza, which they didn't have so ordered something else, both items were charged for. This happened 3 days in a row, but items were deleted when we explained. Just be aware. The food is quite basic, lots of burgers, there are some great restaurants outside the hotel to get a better feel for local food.
Sometimes towels etc were not replaced, but very prompt service when we called. A great base to live in while exploring ... Great picture of Robert Louis Stevenson behind reception - hence the name Tusitala - "Teller of Tales"

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elvigray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Talofa Elvigray

Thank you for your overall positive review. As you have mentioned we are conveniently located in the heart of Apia, 45 minutes from the airport. Apia is an excellent base to explore all that Samoa has to offer with a number of attractions nearby and others accessible through tour operators.
I will mention to our lovely staff to curb their enthusiasm in public area as I do concede they can become quite excitable at times and take "whistling while they work" to new dimensions.
Of concern to me is charging you for items that you have not received and I will look into this immediately as this may well be a systems error that can be rectified immediately.
You have clearly immersed yourself in everything that Samoa has to offer and it is very astute of you to recognize that Robert Louis Stevenson does indeed look over all our guests from behind reception.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First time visiting Samoa...loved staying at the Tanoa...great facilities and close to town...some things to watch for though are;
1. Great hosiptality, frinedly staff but service is a little slow...well actulally a lot slow
2. Wifi available and is costly...actually internet connection for NZers is over costly...there were often times the Wifi connection cut out...like in our room!! It worked fine the closer to reception you were
3. Watch the taxi drivers...#js
4. The markets are full of great things to buy...but the stall owners stalk you
5. If you like diet drinks from the Coke or Pepsi range...they are extremely hard to find in their supermarkets...and definitely not in 2 or 2.5 ltre bottles...so bring them with you

Room Tip: Rooms are great - but just check your tv...Fox broadcast kept cutting out...annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mere A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Talofa Mere

Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Samoa and particularly staying here at the Tanoa. We also appreciate the "pointers" that you have provided for future guests and agree in principle with what you have mentioned but conversely, whilst inconvenient, it are these drawbacks that add to the charm of Samoa and the "little touch of Paradise" that you refer to.

I too look forward to the day when internet and service are faster. We are working on both and have an external trainer arriving month end to assist with our customer service development..

Again thank you for your feedback and hope you return soon.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great location in heart of Apia a family of 4. 2 kids 3-5 years old good pool good rooms modern reception thought their service need to improve otherwise good hotel great location a little over priced but would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cj003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Talofa Cj003

Its wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a relaxing environment for you and your family. As with anything we can always improve and our service is something that we need to continually focus on to ensure our standards are maintained and expectations matched.
We look forward to you and your family returning to Samoa.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Stayed 7 nights. Very good service. Very clean. Safe. Beautiful buildings and gardens. Friendly, well dressed, professional staff. Nice decent sized rooms. Good aircon. Good location, close to services and shops, and to use as a base.

Cons:
Food abit pricey.

I recommend this hotel. I would stay at this hotel again. Thanks Tanoa!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mataio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Talofa Mataio

We appreciate your positive review and the fact you have highlighted what we do well. Whilst we are always striving to improve I am delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations over a 7 day stay.

Regards

Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
24.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
19.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
361 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Property: Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing