We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“de veld p/j/j”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lynn's Getaway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Apia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

October 2013... This is truly a wonderful place to stay, close to the city of Apia, we received top
class service from the Girls, Pina and Fata, Paulus the cook was exeptional with his Lobsters and Island meals, We would stay there again as it was so relaxing and enjoyable, Lynn was a great host, nothing was to much trouble for her, even to take us to the airport late at night.
Lynn did the ferry bookings for us to Savaii, making life easier for us. We really enjoyed our all to short holiday, love to come again, Thanks Lynn and staff

Room Tip: We preferred the Master bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmdeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lynn's Guesthouse in Apia, Samoa is a visitor- friendly hotel with a genuine Samoan flavour. The Samoan staff are friendly, laid back and very helpful. The attitude to a minor earthquake which shook the house was " what earthquake"? There is a great pool, balconies galore around the house for quiet reading or having a drink and great food. You share tables with other guests and hear their stories. I loved its non- Western feel. My room did have the toilet in a corner which I could view from my bed but it was a minor distraction and the prices would fall into the budget category. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This IS the place to stay in Apia. Forget the overpriced resorts, stay here in a homely atmosphere, meet fellow travellers, exchange ideas and suggestions and do your own thing. Other lodgers include longer term medical students working at the nearby hospital. The food, complimentary breakfasts included & dinners, which at $20 tala are very cheap, is terrific (Paulo, the chef, is simply fantastic), the house clean, the staff convivial. The value for money is exceptional. Getting around in Upolu and Savaii is both easy and reasonably priced, and straightforward to do on your own – simply get advice from Lynn or her friendly staff who can assist in many ways, including transfers, local tourist spots and to downtown. Taxis are the most convenient mode but a must is a trip on the local buses. Our car hire from Lynn’s was realistically priced with no hassles. Booking in, making variations to our booking, returning at the end of our break and account settlement was hassle free. We simply loved the way we were treated as almost family by the staff, always on a first name basis, concerned about our welfare, what we did etc. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms are good value however no problems with shared bathroom rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayandLiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited Apia with a couple of colleagues, we ended up picking Lynn's Getaway as our abode for the weeklong trip and I am glad we did. It was not a 5-star accommodation but it provides 7 star service which made it well worth our time.

*Food: Simply amazing, Paulus needs to come to my kitchen. He is the best kept secret in Apia. Breakfast was great and the dinner allowed for camaraderie, it is always interesting to find out what brought people to Samoa

*People: Didn't really interact with Lynn much, but her son, cousin and the domestic staff were amazing. Super attentive, helpful and even willing to go out of their way to ensure we were well cared for and honor even ridiculous requests.

A few negatives (hey no one isn't perfect so deal with it): The bathrooms need to be fitted better, I guess this is in the works, I had an en-suite so no sharing stories. Probably provide better entertainment in the room (TV, cable), the lack did make one more social. If you can try to shop in town, the store next door is way overpriced which is sad because everything else seemed fair till I need to change some money and buy items which I had seen much cheaper in town.

Overall, will definitely recommend Lynn's getaway to anyone heading out to Apia, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerz-chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks heaps for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lynn's Getaway it the very friendly and comfortable place to stay with lots of laughs
this is the place to relax ,rental cars available plenty of close by amenities next door a shop bakery and groceries on hand this is so close by, you can relax by the pool and enjoy Apia at its best Lynn's staff can help arrange tours or take you down town Apia for shopping, why not enjoy a nice holiday at a nice place with nice staff Paulus the chef is a wonderful chef meals are tops, staff really make you feel at home free open plan living clean rooms.
It is my second time I stay there when on holyday in Samoa and not the last.
I will always stay in Lynn's Getaway when I am in Samoa. It is so nice going there and feel that I'm visiting family. I just love the people, the hotel and everything there.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the review. Looking forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On the plus side the staff are really lovely, the common areas are light, airy and comfortable and Paulus is possibly the best cook in Upolu. There's a lovely view from the verandah upstairs and the pool is nice. The food was plentiful, with lots of choices and cooked well, with fish every night and seafood most nights. It is clean and everything is quite well maintained. It is only a quick five tala (cheap) taxi ride to Apia town so pretty convenient, and it is great value for money. It's not a five star place, and doesn't pretend to be, so don't expect perfection.
But there are a few negatives that people need to be aware of. The rooms are small, and the ensuite bathrooms are tiny, without fully enclosed walls. The problem people have reported with room mix-ups and over-bookings is common. We travelled for work expecting not to share, but on the first few nights we had to share with people we barely knew. The lack of privacy with the bathrooms made this a little embarrassing, but I guess it's a bit of an ice-breaker. Lynn and her staff were really apologetic but given that this appears to happen a lot they need to work harder to fix this.
The worst problem is out of their hands. There is a club nearby that has Karaoke some nights which was loud (not to mention some pretty poor singing), but EVERY night, packs of dogs were wandering around the neighbourhood barking and yelping and fighting. The windows are louvres so don't shut out any of the noise. If you are a heavy sleeper this won't be a problem but if you are a light sleeper like me you will be glad to leave so that you can get a decent nights sleep. Our work was tiring, but the lack of sleep made it even more dificult. Maybe the rooms at the back are better but I'm afraid I wouldn't stay there again because of the noise at night.

Room Tip: Upstairs, at the back is better than downstairs. Room 9 is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Talofa Monica,

Thank you for your review. With all reviews Lynn and all the staff will read it and look to ways to improve. We have always believed that travelling with a team or group is a stressful endeavour, and we strive to be able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress. We understand your stay in Samoa must have been challenging. We had offered your team a rate of WST130.00 a night which included breakfast and a dinner rate of WST20.00 a per night buffet style which is way below the average rate in Samoa as a token of our appreciation.

We are glad you enjoyed some of the amenities we offered that we are proud of. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.

Room over bookings is not common as you mentioned. We avoid listings on major bookings engines for this reason and have developed our own booking engine. Unfortunately, we did upgrade and I may have missed or loaded the wrong back up file. As well as Lynn's willingness to accommodate all guests who were in dire need for accommodation. This mostly likely provided the prerequisites for an overbooking. But please know, we constantly look to improve our booking system to avoid these incidents or at least keep them to a very minimum.

The packs of dogs are unfortunate as some belong to people so we can not put them down. But as someone involved with work in Pacific islands I am sure you see packs off dogs often. Bob is pretty quiet though.

The Karaoke bar is most disconcerting as it is a recent business venture that is starting to affect our accommodation. Again, we have made complaints to the proper authorities such as the Police and PUMA but to no effect as shown by your review and others.. We will reassess our options and try and en sure they follow proper noise levels in the evening and maybe find better singers too.

Fa'afetai tele lava,


Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I took a two-month assignment in Samoa during June and July of 2013 and stayed at Lynn's Getaway for the duration of my stay. My experience there was nothing short of outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area. The staff is friendly and takes the time to get to know each of their visitors.

The food is one of the big draws. Breakfast comes with your room and the spread rivals that of any top hotel. Dinner is available for purchase. Compared with other options around town, you get a much better quality for a cheaper price. The chef, Paolo, is the man. If you have any dietary restrictions or just want to have your favorite dish, he will go out of his way to meet your needs. Lynn's provides lunch on Sundays, but no dinner, so be sure to plan ahead as little is open. Giordanos is a great option, with wood oven pizza, and is just down the street.

Convenience is also huge at Lynn's. They have everything available to you for a reasonable price. They can drive you to town for the same cost as a taxi, provide a rental car if you need a weekend vehicle, clean your laundry, and provide reliable wifi. Karl also doubles as a tour guide, at least when I got really bored on Sunday afternoons. Overall, Lynn's Getaway was an unforgettable experience and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house have good A/C and the front facing rooms over look the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
17.6 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
416 reviews
25.3 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynn's Getaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynn's Getaway Hotel

Address: Salenesa Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu 1561, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apia
Price Range: £52 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynn's Getaway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the busy corporate, holiday-maker, and long term student. Lynn’s Getaway is the perfect retreat. Located 2 minutes from the National Hospital. Rooms for the long term student or enjoy luxury amenities such as spa, LCD TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lynn's Getaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynn's Getaway Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing