We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Samoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Tatau

Bistro Tatau
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Smart casual dining in cool air conditioned comfort. Full bar and the most extensive wine list in Samoa served by professional wait staff. Global roaming menu with daily specials sourced from local suppliers and markets. Are you by yourself? - No worries - welcome, we have a table just for you. Have a group of up to 40 for sit down? No problems - come on in and enjoy our private/ VIP dining room. Unique menus created for your special events. All food allergies and dietary preferences catered for. Decor includes a wide range of Polynesian artworks on display. It doesn't get better than this!
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Samoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the best restaurant in Samoa. Seriously, don't waste your time anywhere else, eat here every day of your trip! No other restaurants comes close.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    39
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Attentive and professional staff, delicious food and great wine list meant we ate here 3 times in our Samoan adventure.

The tuna sashimi was divine, paulisomo (?) ravioli delicious and my companion said the twice cooked duck was the best he had ever had - anywhere...we ate delicious fish dishes, prawn entree with chili pineapple relish was tasty and the meringue roulade for dessert was enjoyed, I guess the only criticism would be that the lamb ravioli was a bit disappointing but it was ordered in error.

Fine dining in Samoa - don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elvigray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great tasting and well presented food. Friendly, professional service and recommend to any one wanting a lovely place to dine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwichick506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“1st Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bistro Tatau is one of our favourite restaurants in Samoa. We have had many dinners, birthdays and occasional lunches here. The food is top quality, consistent, fresh and beautifully presented. The menu and wine list are extensive. The service from the attentive waiters is sensational, lovely restaurant ambience, and first class chef! Friendly owners Bill and Ross certainly know how to impress!

Perfect also for special occasions - Bistro Tatau will not disappoint!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had dined at Bistro Tatau a few years ago on a previous trip to Samoa and the food was so good, we decided to return on this trip. They did not disappoint. The chef very creatively brings together european and samoan influences to create a truly unique menu. A personal favorite was the "palusami ravioli".

The restaurant itself is immaculate inside, with air conditioning (which can be a real relief after wondering around in the sun!)The waiters were polite and very attentive without being over-bearing. A great place to enjoy a meal whilst on holiday, highly recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaseveDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Tatau also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Tatau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing