We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean & Friendly”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped here for one night after a late arrival and were pleasantly surprised. Very clean, with helpful staff. Beautiful pool and quiet fales in the gardens. Staff arranged a taxi for us...be advised, a taxi to the south cost should only cost you WST$80...not the WST$120 we were charged!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    106
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
49
93
78
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here with 5 friends earlier in the year. It was a brilliant choice. For any medical student doing an elective I would highly recommend Outrigger. It was fantastic value, especially considering a great breakfast is included everyday. We stayed for three weeks and were treated to day-trips from the owner, Claus, which were brilliant. We were made to feel welcome right from the moment we arrived and the staff performed a farewell show at the end of our stay which was very moving. Thank you so much to all the staff at Outrigger for making our time in Samoa so memorable. Thank you, Claus, and please say 'Hi' to Nikolai and Christina!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows for more ventilation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ideally located within a short distance from the centre of Apia. The staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and very well presented with beautiful tropical garden and swimming pool. The free breakfast is delicious and the atmosphere is very safe and friendly, and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this place to stay for anyone travelling to Samoa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya1672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Talofa lava Sonya,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a true pleasure meeting you. We wish you all the best and hope to see you back in Samoa again soon.

Kind regards

Staff and Management
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this place for four weeks and had a great time. Rooms are large and very clean, tropical breakfast is great and all the staff are just lovely - it felt like they really cared, and they were very helpful whenever we had any questions. The garden is great (try the hammock!) And the pool is large and very clean.

We had friends staying similarly priced hostels and hotels in this part of Apia and just couldn't believe that outrigger is in the same price category, I would certainly recommend it and come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Markus and rest of the gang.

Just wanted say thank you again for staying at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel and for your kind review. We wish you all the best with your new job in London.

Regards

Staff and Management
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean, tasteful and ideal value for money hotel. Very friendly staff. Very interesting colonial architecture which gives an early 19th century feeling. Run by a danish which has settled on the island so you can expect scandinavian organisation. Definitely recommended for those who plan for a quick stay in the bustling city of Apia. There are some better hotels out there but far more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Harris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back in Samoa again soon.

Faafetai lava,

Regards

Staff and Management
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a great hotel, particularly if you have a car, as it is a bit of a walk down the hill to the centre of Apia. (They hire cars out here as well). The pool is large, deep, cool and clean with lovely chairs and lounges. The gardens are well maintained. I stayed in 3 different rooms during my various times at the Outrigger. The room at the back nearest the fales was great, as it had a cross breeze with windows on two right angle walls. It was also away from the road with the taxi stand. It can be very noisy on the taxi side, and there is less breeze. You can do you washing, and there is plenty of room to dry your clothes. The staff are so lovely, helpful and friendly. It is also quite nice to know they are around 24hours a day, including a security fellow at night. Breakfast was lovely - thin crepes, fruit, toast, eggs, tea and coffee. Thanks for this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road with the taxi stand. Try room 3 or the large family room. At night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in a private room with shared bathrooms which were all very clean and quite nice. Its a lovely and quiet double storey house turned hotel with a pool and grass area behind. The free breakfast every morning was always delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Its a great place to stay to explore Apia and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandDeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
3.3 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
202 reviews
17.6 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
371 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoan Outrigger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Property: Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing