We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Apia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Apia”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Hotel for several weeks and it was absolutely the right choice! It is very close to the town and with a car you are very fast on the other side of the island (we also rented a car in the hotel, which we can recommend as well!). There are several lovely restaurants just around the corner. The room we were staying at was very spacious and clean and with a view to the tropical garden. We are certainly coming back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlDel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    109
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
50
95
78
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am a medical student who was staying at the outrigger during my elective in Samoa and I would highly recommend staying here as it is fantastic value for money.

Claus the manager and all the staff were very friendly and there was a great atmosphere around the place. A fantastic breakfast of fruit, pancakes, eggs and as much toast as you want is included in the price (the Samoan honey is well worth a try).

It is in a great location with some of the best restaurants within a 5 minute walk and only a 15 minute walk from town or you can take a taxi from just outside for only 5 tala (£1.25).

I stayed in both one of the fales and a room at different times. The fales are great for budget travellers or for people who want to get to full pacific island experience! The rooms are more expensive but very nice and still great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MProbert111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Talofa MPRobert,

Thank you for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed having you guys here and wish you all the very best.

Regards

Claus Hermansen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked online for two rooms for one night for three people. When we arrived, turned out they booked us in for one room for two nights for three people..and the hotel was fully booked by that stage. One of us was forced to relocate to another hotel Elisa - which had a bar and nightclub next door. They did pay for the other hotel but this mix up was unacceptable as we were travelling with an elderly father. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Talofa SVT001,

I am fully aware of the situation regarding your booking. I know that the girl who made the reservation talked to you the following morning when she sorted out the payment to Hotel Eliza. I am truly sorry for the mix up with your booking and understand your frustration completely. I can assure you that we will do our best to prevent this from happening again. I do apologies for the inconvience this caused you.

Regards

Claus Hermansen
Owner
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 5 days here and met some wonderful people, its central to everything, staff are great and you have a choice of a Traditional Fale a single room or an apartment. theres even a pool to cool of at the end of the day and you get a lovely breakfast as well. if you dont want a rental car the Taxis are really well priced and the reception can organise them as you need them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been staying at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel each spring for 6 weeks for 4 years. It has become my Samoan home. The owners, Claus and Laena, are wonderful hosts, generous, always concerned that you are comfortable and enjoying yourself. The staff are like family...happy to help out and give you a Samoan experience.
There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance around the hotel and the kitchen is equipped for you to make your own meals if you choose.
The pool is very clean and the grounds well kept. There are always fresh flower arrangements and the property is clean and fresh.
I highly recommend this hotel for all ages and groups. I always look forward to coming back!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonaT119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for a clinical practicum for a number of weeks and I was mostly impressed with the staff and their very helpful manner. The rooms were cleaned everyday and breakfast was great. Those that make reports of ants, cockroaches ect., I saw maybe three cockroaches in five weeks, and well, what does anyone expect in a tropical country? Yes there are loud dogs barking at night and I'm not sure you can entirely get away from this in Apia, so where earplugs. This is not a five star hotel, but there was always hot water, clean rooms, a guard, 24 hr staff, and any time I ever needed anything the staff were on it right away. Thanks for making my stay here enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A wonderfull atmosphere, in a nice garden a pool for refreshing after your daily excursions. You can live, if you want, in one of the four Samoan Fales. A simple but delicious breakfast. Other meals you have supply by yourself or visite restaurants nearby. We recommend Koko´s Restaurant a few minutes to walk, closed on sunday. On the terrace you have a nice look. If without car you can rent a taxi which are enough ready for your service and cheep. The hotel has a car hire. In the neighbourhood the Primeministers residence. Going out of the hotel you are on the Main Road across the mountains to the south coast. Only minus was the air condition did not function.

Lothar and Sylvia Schweitzer, Vienna, Austria

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SchweitzerWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.5 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.2 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#10 of 30 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
17.6 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoan Outrigger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Property: Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing