We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Traditional Style Hotel - perfect Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoa Tradition Resort
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Samoa Tradition Resort is located approximately 10 minutes drive from Apia City (based on my driving habits of course and if you cut through the Sports Complex). It is nestled in private lush green surroundings and if you listen a bit closely, you can hear the burbling of the river that runs behind this natural setting. It is high enough to have views to the township.

Samoa Tradition Resort has given a modern twist to the original Samoan Fale offering a two storey option with two separate bedrooms. The Resort offers Villas, Apartments and Suites, fully air conditioned and of course, with mini kitchenettes. Kitchenettes, have bench top elements, microwave, hot water jug, big fridge and all the utensils and coffee/tea. The place is surrounded with vibrant gardens and plenty of "lemon grass". Help yourself to fresh lemon tea!!! They cost an arm and a leg overseas for a fresh cuppa.

On site is a swimming pool, a delightfully spacious deck, part of which is roofed and the other open to the beautiful weather and starry nights. There is an air-conditioned restaurant on site which can be configured to a conference room, comfortably seating up to 50+ theatre style.

The bar has all your usual drinks, from local to imported beers and wines plus the favourite spirits..my weakness being Jim Beam & his cousin Coke. Loved the music selection of all the old favourites.

The food we had for the two and a half days was generous in portion and price and the best part, it was delicious. First nite, we were served garlic prawns over a fresh salad, and for mains, a large tender steak with fresh mushroom sauce and baked potato, a coleslaw on the side and dessert. The second night was a delicious buffet of "size 2" roast pork...loved the crackling although it does not do much good for one's hips..but then we only live once. That is my excuse any way. There was roast taro, palusami, octopus in baked in coconut cream, fish, both cooked and in hawaiian style "poke" and so much more. Samoans surely do love their food and who can blame them.

Service was excellent!! We had two staff waiting on our group during the two days and we were truly pleased with the friendly and efficient service provided. Thanks Pale and Fiasapapalii. No request was too much for the team.

There is paid WIFI on site and rental vehicles for hire. I believe special rates apply for the vehicles for in-house guests.

A couple of minutes away is the Faleata 18 hole Golf Course, the Aquatic centre, sports gyms and cricket fields, archery field etc.,

The family of Su'a, Alavine and their son Terence are wonderful and very accommodating hosts.

I would highly recommend this property for holidayers, long term stayers, business travellers as well as sports people, given its secure environment, its proximity to town and yet far enough away to be private. The owners live on site and provide that reassuring sense of security for guests.

I suggest you check this property out when you are next planning to visit Samoa with your loved ones.

Room Tip: The configuration of the rooms means that the shared bathroom is either on the top or ground floor...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maligiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Samoa Tradition Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in this fantastic resort last week and enjoyed every moment of it, starting with the pick up by Terence at 5am, the accommodation in one of the suites and hearing the birds singing each morning. The buildings that make up the resort are solidly built with evidence of expert Samoan craftsmanship to admire. As the other reviewers have written the suites are clean, spacious, well appointed and so private. Like the others I too hired one of STR's vehicles to travel into town for work but at the end of each day, as I drove up to Ululoloa, I felt I was coming home. The staff are so friendly and helpful and I was sorry to leave. I will certainly return to Samoa Tradition Resort when I return to Apia. More people need to know about STR to experience what it has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WameB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My family and i Stayed at the Samoa Tradition Resort for 7 glorious days in March 2013. We stayed in a two storey apartment which was just the right amount of space for 4 adults and 1 child.
The rooms were very clean and have all the features you need for a comfortable stay including very comfortable mattresses. You feel Safe here not only because it is gated but because the staff are always around so you never feel alone :). We never had a problem with barking dogs because the area is in the hills away from Apia central. The food at the restaurant is delicious try the fish and chips, and vegetarian engeladas. Drink the Vialima pure it's the best beer in Samoa (tried and tested)

The owners and workers were the kindest people we have ever met. Dan and his son Terry were so kind to My grandmother who was born in Apia and treated us with such respect.
Pale was the lovely man who collected us promptly from the airport and is such a hard worker. Mele works in the Bar and restaurant and had a real bond with my son and was happy to have him follow him around as he worked which was really sweet.

We will be back in July and look forward to staying here again :)

Room Tip: They are all so affordable. The air conditioned rooms are the best choice to cool down after a day i...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanaFrankovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We loved it at samoa traditional resort..stayed in the two level apartment (suite 6) with my sis and our 4kids. Rented a van from them and used there airport transfer service at the end of our 6night stay. The room was clean, well equipped and tastefully furnished with beautiful island style finishing touches....in particular, the curtain and bedspread prints! It was so handy having a fully equiped kitchen (minus an oven) and whats more there is a supermarket around th corner that is well stocked. Also the kids loved swimming in the pool as well as papaseea which is a five minute drive away. The unit was serviced daily with fresh towels....soaps etc. The managers were nice and friendly and attended to any issues we had. They solved the problem we had trying to work the aircon immediately (remote neeeded batteries) and replaced the microwave that wasnt working. Overall excellent accomodations, service and value for money. My only regret is not having a meal at the restaurant. Thankyou Alavine and co.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewZealandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for 10 days in June 2012. The restaurant was not quite up and running at that stage, but the accom is fully self contained, so no probs. We also hired one of the resort's cars, which made travel around the island and trips to the local shop(5 mins drive away) a breeze. Nothing was a problem for our hosts, the Sua family, and we have booked in for 2 weeks again in June this year along with another 2 friends. Looking foward to trying the restaurant this time!

Room Tip: all the accom types are great! We like it quiet, so furthest from parking area suited us.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed here for the first time in January 2013 - best decision ever! The facilities are great. We stayed in the Villas - beautiful set up for our travelling party of 4. Self contained with all the necessities required for the heat of Samoa. Suá, Alavine & Terence are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to ensure that we were happy with our stay. Especially after 2 of our group missed our flights due to weather restraints, Alavine called us in Savaii to see if we were ok! Now that is service! Restaurant is a must! Food was amazing. Having the pool was a bonus! The staff were so accomodating and helpful. Totally enjoyed staying here and will definitely be back to stay in the future. This place has something for everyone - family friendly, couples will enjoy the seclusion of this place, yet still close to the hustle and bustle of town. Thank you Suá family for your hospitality. Toleafoa family

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toleafoa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank killer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apia hotels
3.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
3.0 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
#12 of 29 in Apia
261 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoa Tradition Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Tradition Resort

Address: Ululoloa Heights, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoa Tradition Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talofa lava and welcome to our very own Paradise Accommodation of true Samoan Tradition, nestle amongst the pristine native forest which offers seclusion and privacy for the ultimate get away. Samoa Tradition Resort offers a unique, quiet and relaxing atmosphere where holiday makers enjoy Samoa dwellings expressed in the art of traditional architecture once revered by our forefathers. It is situated at Ululoloa Heights, an exclusive suburban of the capital of Apia which is only 7 minutes drive to the capital of Apia and 3 minutes away from the main Golf Course in Samoa.If you are looking for an authentic Samoan experience with exceptional, modern comfort at an affordable price then Samoa Tradition Resort is for you.Samoa Tradition Resort offers various Accommodations that suit everyone’s budget. Our personal and friendly service caters for the needs of travellers from all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samoa Tradition Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoa Tradition Resort Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing