We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel and food in Samoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aga Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aga Reef Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel and food in Samoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was recently in Samoa for an elective medical placement. We stayed at Aga for 1 week and could not have been more impressed. Lovely people and great rooms. The food is to die for. We stayed at many different hotels over our 6 weeks and this is hands down the best in Samoa. The staff were very accommodating and always ready with fresh towels at the pool! We stayed with our 3 year old and could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    51
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
111
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here from 9-16 November and loved everything about it. Aga Reef Resort is such an amazing place for some heavenly R & R! We had 5 nights in a Waterfront Villa and 2 nights in an Island Villa. They are identical except for the Island Villa having a bath tub and a second balcony with a sun lounger. The second balcony is located right above the water and there is corals underneath which made snorkelling unnecessary. So many beautiful fish and so relaxing just staring into the water! The food at Aga Reef is amazing and very fair value - I ate fish twice a day. Tuna salad is to die for! I doubt you will find anywhere better ( we tried a few other places but kept coming back to our resort). Lalomanu beach is just stunning, and about 2 km from the resort. We did the cultural tour at the resort which was fun - learning about how to open a coconut and how to make a basket from the coconut leaves. The staff at Aga Reef made our stay special - not the usual 5 star "distance" but a way to learn a little more about the amazing little island that Samoa is! We hope to come back here one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great location. Great service, especially from the kitchen. Food was really very good. Staff seem a bit inexperienced but put forth excellent effort. I bet this will be an outstanding resort once staff have built up some experience providing service at this level. They are building a bar and pool out on a point away from the main building that will be a good place to spend time. We look forward to seeing it again once it's all completed.

Room Tip: All villas face the lagoon. The #1-3 villas are out on the point and have more ocean sound, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dduanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Wonderful in all regards. We stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon and just loved it. The food was amazing, the staff super friendly and the location is perfect. The beach at Lalomanu is stunning. There's a few things to do nearby but really just being there and soaking up the sunshine and beautiful surroundings is enough. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: "Ocean front" villas are just fine with a big balcony and a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

we travelled for 2 weeks around both islands and this was by far the best place we stayed. Yes its relativley new - always nicer than resorts 5-10 years old but it was the whole package that wone our vote ! the food is to die for , the villas are gorgeous and the scenery just amazing, staff were very friendly. the coral reef is still recovering - not a whole lot to see but the marine life is thriving and there is a local turlte you may be lucky enough to swim with. ( we were lucky )
we celebrated our wedding anniversary here and the staff whent out of their way to make it special for us .
highly reccommended !
Thanks

Room Tip: there are 2 rows of villas one row looks over the other - one row looks out to see the other in land
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Aga Reef Resort has beautiful villas with high quality amenities overlooking the water. The food in the restaurant is delicious, the cocktails refreshing, and the whole setting is very serene. The decks are perfect for relaxing, and I would highly recommend this as a place to chill out and recharge. It is on the opposite side of the island from the airport, so renting a car is useful to see the sights. The breakfast is also delicious, but water or juice would have been great to have offered on the buffet table. Work is being done on a bar on the edge of the island so more great things to come.

Room Tip: The waterfront villas look towards the rest of the resort, not the ocean, so be prepared for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Java73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here at last minute as the place we originally had in mind was booked out. We were greeted with exceptional hospitality from the moment we parked our car to the moment up to when we left. We only stayed 1 night, but over the 2 days we were truly looked after while here. The staff were amazing with helping us check in & making sure we felt at home. The rooms were perfect too.The view from the main house is just wow, no words can truly describe the scene you were greeted with every time you looked at it. will definitely be coming back here the only down fall was the food with very limited options to choose from it was alot harder to select what i wanted to eat, but in saying that the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeineMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
24.0 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
23.9 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#11 of 31 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
21.4 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aga Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aga Reef Resort

Property: Aga Reef Resort
Address: South Coast Road | Lalomanu, Apia, Upolu 1522, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aga Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Beach Resort in Samoa in a beautiful and romantic setting on the South East coast of Upolu Island. Perfect for a wedding or honeymoon with or without kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aga Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aga Reef Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing