We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, special place”
Review of Aga Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aga Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having just returned from Aga Reef Resort I am already missing the place and thinking about when I can next return! The resort is lovely, and we had an amazing, fun and relaxing time. The staff, accomodation, setting and food were all of a very high standard.

Highlights include the peaceful location, spacious, clean villas with very comfortable bed, outdoor deck overlooking the water, and friendly staff. In particualr, Margaret was very friendly and helpful, as were the staff in the restaurant.

We stayed in a watefront villa that overlooked the lagoon. I thought it was creative and considerate how only every second villa was occupied which added to the privacy and seclusion. I assume they do this where vacancies can allow this.

Finally, the resort while located a bit of a distance from the airport, it is in a very nice location, located just down the road from the most amazing beach, Sua Trench, waterfalls and other attractions.

We LOVED LOVED LOVED Aga Reef Resort and hope to come back again soon.
(Lisa and Justin Smith)

Room Tip: We preferred the waterfront Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetjip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had an excellent stay at aga reef resort. The scenery is just beautiful. The rooms are nice and the staff is very helpfull and friendly. One of the nicest hotel we've stayed in samoa. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WiWoWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This Resort is Amazing!! The setup is Great! As soon as you enter you are welcomed with a Beautiful smile and greeting! Amazing front desk staff especially the lovely lady Margaret who welcomed us! She is great!! The Views out to the ocean are breath taking and the resort itself is very beautiful. It has all the modern cons of home with a nice pool and also a rock pool(sea water). Great place for snorkeling etc. All though the weather was a bit overcast with the odd showers. We still swam for at least half a day as it is very humid and the sea water was so warm. It is a very peaceful place, unlike Apia Town. The drive is a fair distance from Apia Town, but it is a beautiful drive and well worth it! We stayed in one of the upper floor ocean rooms. These were great and had a beautiful view! The rooms are lovely as well. We had dinner at the restaurant and omg! the dessert was amazing! It was very quiet and it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! The staff were wonderful! I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to relax and enjoy their time in such a serene place! Thank you so much from Mr and Mrs Leota, Brisbane, Australia!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bucks_n_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

'Aga Reef Resort is located at one of the most remarkable sites I've seen. The expanse of the South Pacific Ocean on the one side and the verdant near-vertical hills rising sheer behind it on the other. Very tastefully designed with all the mod cons in this remote location. Well-appointed restaurant, well-stocked bar with service to match. A not-to-be-missed experience in beautiful Samoa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The service was great the owners are friendly and they care for us, the staff the food the service every one where great I will recommend this place to any one who travel to Samoa. Thank you from Victor & Gladys Sosa from Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We didn't stay here but my word it looked stunning! We stopped for lunch with our three young children - scruffy and hungry - and were made to feel like rock stars. I had the seared yellow fin tuna salad and my husband had the chicken teriyaki. Amazing food, well done! Even the kids' chicken nuggets couldn't be called that - tender pieces of real crumbed chicken. If we ever come back without the kids we'll be knocking on your door!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Okay, my little family and I had the most awesome time, snorkelling, swimming, reading, eating great food, meeting new friends, including the amazingly friendly staff. Stayed in a room built over the lagoon. It was perfect, we could see sea life, waves crashing along the reef, and walk down under and snorkel across the lagoon. They have two pools, with another two under construction. (near the reef) (at the moment, fresh water pool, which overlooks the ocean and the other sea pool) It is peaceful and we only left to go to a Fia Fia night down the road (recommended by staff and well worth the visit) Otherwise we stayed in, relaxed and were cared for by the ever friendly staff. A special thank you to James, Filipo and Jeff, the girls at the office and a big thank you to Mac, Ari and Edith for putting up with our little one and Edith and Apese for making our stay ever special. Thank you
Maesha, Michelle and Phoebexxxx

Room Tip: Fale over the water, especially if 3 or more people All rooms in quiet serenity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandmcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
24.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
24.9 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
23.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
8 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
416 reviews
23.5 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aga Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aga Reef Resort

Address: South Coast Road | Lalomanu, Apia, Upolu 1522, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range: £139 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aga Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Beach Resort in Samoa in a beautiful and romantic setting on the South East coast of Upolu Island. Perfect for a wedding or honeymoon with or without kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aga Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aga Reef Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing