We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had heard that Lalomanu Beach was one of the most beautiful in the Pacific and it didn't let me down. Litia Sini undoubtedly has the best views and access to the beach so you can't go past it for that. We had a beachfront fale and our three children had one set back in the next row. They are clean and comfortable with beds off the floor, power, a ceiling fan and mosquito nets. We had a stunning view of the beach from our balcony.The heat is pretty intense at night so I would recommend leaving windows open. We weren't bothered by mosquitos at all. Fluffy hotel quality towels are provided but there is no water pressure so having a shower is pretty difficult. I think they would be better off removing the shower heads altogether and letting the water flow directly from overhead (as the neighbouring beachfront fales do). Another alternative is to ask for a plastic basin, fill it up with water and have a sponge bath in the privacy of your fale. Breakfast is lovely and while overall food quality is average there is plenty of it and you won't go hungry. Staff are friendly and helpful but having stayed at the beachfront fales next door on our last night due to a booking error on my part, the overall atmosphere lacks warmth and hospitality in comparison. Tours and activities are available but you have to ask. If you're not too fussed about the luxuries, the beachfront fales next door offer a very similar experience for half the price. But Litia Sini is definitely the place for a little more luxury and privacy. Probably the best advertisement for it is that many of the people we met there were returning customers. We would definitely go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the beachfront fale
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    138
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
101
159
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location - the beach at Lalomanu really is quite lovely. The coral is regenerating after the area was devastated by the Tsunami in 2009 so the snorkelling is not amazing, but it is pretty nice. There are dogs further down the beach in front of the other resorts, but they didn't seem to come up to Litia Sini if you're worried about that. Although they do have a resort cat that hangs around. Unfortunately you have to hire kayaks at $20Tala/hour.

This is a family-run resort with family and local villagers as staff. The staff were lovely - especially Soli and Maddy. Sometimes the staff children were a little bit annoying (knocking balls when you're trying to play pool etc, interfering with the fiafia night) and they seemed to never be told off, but they did add charm some of the time! The resort did seem to favour children and most guests were families so this would be great for families.

They did advertise tours but they didn't seem too frequent so I would recommend hiring a car for your duration so that you have the opportunity to go and explore other areas (eg. To Sua Ocean Trench, Namua Island, nearby waterfalls etc).

We stayed in a beachfront fale which was basic but lovely. It's enclosed, had a double bed with two singles, plenty of louvre windows, no aircon but a fan and a mosquito net. We were able to sleep without getting too hot. The bed was comfortable. The little balcony with small table and chairs gave us our own private views over the beach.

The toilets and showers are shared. Toilets always clean. Shower pressure was pretty average and showers are cold but with the temperatures so warm, it wasn't really a problem!

Dinner and breakfast are included. The food was very basic and I have to be honest, pretty average. There are lots of choices and child-friendly options but it was often a bit bland. It was a good mix of local and 'Western-style' food (eg. pizza or spag bol offered alongside sushimi or coconut fish) and always lots of fresh tropical fruit (yum!). The daily soup was always good.

Bar service was excellent with a great range of cocktails and mocktails. Darts, pool, cards and a small library were all nice touches. There's also a small gift shop too. Internet was available on a computer but no wifi.

They keep the place clean. Your room is cleaned daily and they seemed to be forever sweeping out the dining/bar fale. Bowls of water outside rooms and toilets were a nice touch to clean sand from feet before entering.

I was extremely disappointed in the fia fia night. We'd been to one at another resort and it was fantastic. Litia Sini's however, was not. With just four men and two women - most were teenagers who didn't really look like they wanted to be there and laughed mockingly throughout the performance. They didn't take it seriously at all. They played one or two songs with a guitar and traditional drums but then the rest was music and singing played through a laptop and huge speaker system. They did stay on afterwards and play western pop music and hits for about an hour afterwards (a disco I guess) which many enjoyed... but if you would like to see a traditional Samoan fia fia performance then I definitely DO NOT recommend theirs.

Overall, I'd recommend this resort as a 'step up' from simple beach fale resorts and a nice friendly place to stay, but don't expect a 4 or 5 star resort!

Room Tip: Beachfront are obviously nice rooms, but the ocean view fales are still only 10 metres from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwilassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a Beautiful location, great beach great Snorkeling and even though there was a lot of damage from the Tsunami it is still worth the effort getting there. The staff are superb as well as the meals. nothing like waking up and going for a swim right outside your Falae. Make sure you ask Lydia whats available to do and what trips she can organise. You can do as much or as little as you like. Enjoy
Thanks Lydia, Joseph, Maddie, Souley and the rest of your staff for a great time we will be back.
Chris Leisha Tony and Andrea

Room Tip: Choose the beach front Falae, the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We attended a wedding at the resort on the 24th June.

The entire organisation was just superb I couldn't stress enough just how professionally
the management and staff put together this event.

The bride and groom were treated to something special in a location that is just beautiful.

I would recommend the resorts services to anyone.

The accommodation is basic but of the kind that typify's the beach fal'e style on that side of the island. Comfortable enough but some people might find it a bit too basic but most people will thoroughly enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth NZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I have just spent a wonderful 5 days at Litia Sini's and found the fales clean and comfortable on a superb beach. Staff always very friendly and make an effort to make guests feel comfortable and Lydia very friendly and efficient so much so that we seemed to become friends before we met purely as a result of frequent e mails. It is such a lovely resort that I am reluctant to make any criticism but I mention this in the hope that Lydia may be able to resolve it. It is the unsatisfactory water pressure in the communal showers which frequently produced only a mere trickle of water making taking a shower difficult. But Fa'afetai lava Lydia and your friendly staff.

Room Tip: All Beach front fales beautiful and clean and although not air-conditioned have the benefit of lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iansnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is truly A paradise not to miss, the beach Fales are located by far on the best beach in Upolo Samoa, All the staff were very welcoming & friendly. Breakfast and Dinner was included and had a great variety with something for everyone, We will be sure to return again. Thank you for your warm hospitality. David & Jamie

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for a beach front fale
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastbourne_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were so happy when we arrived to Litia Sini Beach Resort. After driving past a lot of open, very traditional looking, fales we were a bit worried!

We ventured around the whole island and were very confident that we were staying on the best beach on the island. Surprisingly there aren't that many white soft white sand, safe swimming beaches.

The accommodation includes breakfast and dinner which creates a lovely community feel as everyone gets together at the beginning and end of each day.

They hold a fiafia night on Friday and the fales next door hold theirs on Wednesday night.

The shared shower and toilet facilities are adequate. Even though the showers are cold water, you're always so hot that it is not a problem. Perhaps just a bit of a shock at first!

I travelled there with a friend and I will be going back again one day.

Room Tip: You can see the beach from each fale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.1 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 30 in Apia
202 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
373 reviews
31.5 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litia Sini Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litia Sini Beach Resort

Property: Litia Sini Beach Resort
Address: Lalomanu Beach | P.O. Box 2795, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Litia Sini Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litia Sini Beach Resort (fales) are located on the South Coast of Upolu Island where the white sand beach and lagoon in Lalomanu village really does look like the travel brochure. Litia's beach is most popular for snorkeling, scuba diving and other water activities in the clear blue waters of Lalomanu. The natural beauty of ocean views and swaying palms makes Litia's beach resort a paradise to relax and re-energize the tired mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Litia Sini Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litia Sini Beach Hotel Apia
Litia Sini Beach Lalomanu
Litia Sini Beach Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing