We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun!”
Review of Taufua Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taufua Beach Fales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I've been to Lalomanu beach before, but this was my first stay in a beach fale and I loved it! My fale was right up on the shore and somewhat isolated that I spent an awful lot of time just laying inside to look out at my incredible view of ocean. Samoa has such beautiful scenery and clear water that it Hawaii doesn't even come close.

Now this particular resort is a bit more basic and rustic than what some people may expect. Keep in mind your in a beach hut and there's lots of sand around you. This may seem silly to point out but I happened to observe a couple who came and seemed uneasy with it as it was not what they exected. However, by the next day, I also noticed that they got into the vibe with that understanding and began to have fun. So, you need to be open to real island feel of things.

I love that the family who owns and runs it puts their heart into it and truly welcomes you so much so that you understand why Samoans are referred to in Polynesia as the "happy people" of the Pacific. I appreciated that hospitality while still running a business. Again, as I always do in Samoa - I ate too much and loved every minute of it. I drank a lot and met some great people from Samoa and all over the world. It may have to do with the communal feel of things since you all eat dinner together at large table. This is a Samoan tradition I gladly welcomed.
The family puts on a Samoan fia fia at night that is really great to watch, be a part of and to engage with as part of the culture.

Thanks ! It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexNRP069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Taufua Beach Fales
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

From the time we arrived we were made welcome and part of there family with just the basics it was 5 star accommodation with million dollar views. The food was great and always plenty of it and this was included in the package, the water is crystal clear for snorkling with tropical fish to view in abundance and I dare you to challenge the staff to a friendly game of volleyball if you have the energy, you will sure have plenty of laughs.
The beauty of Taufua Beach Fales is that it runs on Samoan time, very relaxed and a fun place to stay with wonderful staff, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at taufua. We chose transport by taxi from Apia , That cost 80 tala one way for the trip , which was over an hour -very good value. As soon as we arrived I realised I was staying in paradise, the staff were all fantastic( thanks to the boys for showing jesse how to weare his lava lava) and the place has a very fun and casual feel about it which is what I wanted. our enclose fale was only meters to the water , and even less to the bar!!!! dinner and breakfast is served at a communal table - it was great talking to the other guests about their travels. There is always plenty of food for everybody and it was all delicious. The highlight of the stay was the Friday night Fia Fia show and fire dancing, followed by a traditional samoan lunch the next day - AWESOME. There is a good variety of fish to see while snorkelling, and its great to see the coral starting to regenerate after the tsunami. We had a blast at taufua and will definitely be returning
FAAFETAI TAUFUA!!!!

Room Tip: we booked an enclosed fale. which I would recommend as they are much more private , but are still ri...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were hesitant initially staying in the open fales with 3 kids, but we all loved it! 5 of us fitted easily. As we had a hire car, we didnt need to bring all our luggage in, just one suitcase, much more and it may have been a bit full, with 5 of us. People were friendly and helpful, amazing value with breakfast and dinner included. Ample food, and kids were accomadated for, one night there wasnt much that the kids liked, so the staff happily made some chips /toasted sandwiches for them. We would definately go back. It is worth being there on a Friday night for the Fia Fia night!

Room Tip: I thought the closed Fales looked a bit dark and cramped, but depends if you want walls or not. The...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheG00dies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've been a regular here for many many years and it just keeps getting better and better. If you can cope with basic facilities (think camping on the beach) then TBF is for you. The beach is stunning, the people are fun and real, and the food is great!

If you're looking for a 5 star resort with beach loungers and an a la carte menu, then perhaps look at Aggie's or Sinalei. TBF is a family oriented property where kids are welcome and fun is mandatory! Meet new people at the communal breakfasts and dinners that are cooked for you on location by Litia and the girls in the kitchen.

Book a trip to the To Sua Trench, or do a day trip to Na'mua island, just 15 mins drive away and then a 10 min boat ride.

If you feel like being away from the beach at night, then there are Ocean View fales up the hill at the Taufua family home, and these have ensuites and are lockable. There's always someone to take you up the hill or down to the beach.

Have fun :o)

Room Tip: We love an open fale on the beach to catch the ocean breeze!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you go with the right attitude, Taufua Beach Fales is a fun and relaxing place to stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the resort is kept very tidy - there was always someone sweeping, picking up leaves or tidying up! We had two enclosed fales, one with a bed and the other with mattresses, both were clean and tidy with lovely fresh bedding and mosquito nets. I was fascinated with the traditional roof - how could it possibly be waterproof? - but it was! The woven mats on the floor and walls added a lovely natural touch and we enjoyed sitting out on our balcony reading or just looking out at the lagoon. The food was plentiful and even included lobster and shrimps - you have to remember what you are paying here and you should be fairly happy with it. A great way to meet other guests, we liked the family dining style, the big, open dining area and the Wednesday fiafia. This has got to be one of the most beautiful lagoons you could find anywhere. We travelled with our children who really enjoyed the swimming and snorkelling, and you could do this any time of day here - no exposed coral at low tide. The water was clear and warm the sand soft and golden and there was no need for reef shoes. If you're not sure this style accommodation is for you, give it a go for a night or two. There are even a couple of fales that have ensuite bathrooms if you're not brave enough to share with everyone!

Room Tip: The open fales are beach front, most of the enclosed fales are in the second row but still on the be...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalsundae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed here twice both in open fales, closed fales and at Ocean View in the rooms. Everywhere you stay there is friendly service and you always feel comfortable. The kids have a great time and the setting is one of the most perfect you will ever see! Rock on Taufua!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to ensure quietness stay up the hill.Otherwise just immerse yourself in the fun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammianthwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalomanu
0.0 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 29 in Apia
212 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
10.0 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
394 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taufua Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taufua Beach Fales

Address: Main South Coast Road | Aleipata, Lalomanu, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Lalomanu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lalomanu
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taufua Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist service provider of accommodation, bar & restaurant. Tours on or off the island are arranged on the premises. About 1 and 1/2 hour by vehicle from the International Airport. We operate in 2 locations: 1) On the beach of Lalomanu; and 2) on the cliffs of Lalomanu overlooking the beach and the Pacific Ocean along with Islands off the beach of Lalomanu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taufua Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taufua Beach Fales Hotel Lalomanu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing