We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taufua Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taufua Beach Fales
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We love this place. This was our 2nd time here in 3 years. You can't beat the beachfront fales, but you have to walk to the shared bathroom. They also have hard sided fales with bath, but sleeping right on the water with the "flap" up can't be beat. The staff are friendly. It's a family run place. Breakfast and dinner are included and served family style. Way more than you can eat and very tasty. The restaurant/bar is a great place to hang out during the day or in the evening. Sunday a traditional lunch is included and Fia Fia night is Saturday with traditional dancing mostly by staff and family members. The price is cheap compared to most anywhere else we have stayed. Will return on next trip to Samoa.

Room Tip: We love the beachfront fales, but they are rustic. Just a mattress and mosquito net on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    119
    32
    10
    18
See reviews for
88
150
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We only stayed here the one night as a result of not booking enough nights at the beach fales next door but I would definitely recommend it if only for the friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The fales are very basic but clean. Important tip: make sure you bring a bath towel as well as a beach towel as they aren't provided. The food is great and the staff are happy to pull up a chair and have a chat with you. The communal dining set up throws you together will other travellers and contributes to the family atmosphere. They are very proactive at promoting the sights and activities on the island and provide transport at a very reasonable cost if you don't have a rental car. More luxury and privacy at the beach fales next door, but 10 out of 10 for atmosphere and true Samoan hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is definetly the best place to visit in Samoa. Friendly staff make your stay a pleasure. We visited the fales with four boys and all of us loved it. Good variety of food for breakfast and dinner which is included in your rate. The place is clean and oh so close to the Ocean. At night can be a little to noisy because of the waves.
On our arrival on Sunday we were invited to join all the guests for a traditional Samoan feast which included rosted suckling pig, palusami and taro.
Fia fia night on Wed was good with the locals showing off their skills in the traditional dancing and a fire demonstration.
We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs for the open fale experience. Enclosed fales are more comfortable with innerspr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Taufua Beach is an amazing destination for a great getaway from a busy lifestyle. Its located on the south-east of the Upolo Island of Samoa, well away from the busier towns/villages between the airport and capital Apia. ts a long drive, but well worth it! (We had a hire car for the whole time which allowed for a lot more flexibility with travel to places of interest).

We stayed in the enclosed on-suite fale, which has a very basic en-suite, proper bed, power and lighting. Friends were in the Open fales, which had better views out to the ocean, but really are very basic. Despite being basic they fit perfect with the setting and really make you feel like you are living the samoan lifestyle, we loved it, but if you are expecting posh accommodation then you may want to look elsewhere!

The staff are really friendly and helpful, always trying to make sure you are having a good time and that you feel welcome, plus they can help arrange taxis and excursions for very cheap (NZ) prices including an amazing day trip round most of the island.

Meals and the food are amazing, you get breakfast and dinner included for the price and there is always a good selection of food and amazing quality considering the location and what is available. As a note the meals are served at 9am and 7pm and everyone eats together at on large table passing different dishes of food around, which really encourages you to talk to others and helps create an amazingly friendly atmosphere. For us this was perhaps the best thing about the accommodation as no-where before have I seen this done, yet it led to making good friends and encouraged people to head off together to sites and share experiences...such a simple but great idea.

The snorkelling at the front of the resort is a mixed experience. There are a lot of diverse fish and large amounts of them, plus we were even lucky enough to swim with a turtle just 15 meters from the shore, but the coral has been badly damaged by the tsunami, so there are only small areas that are now alive and colourful (try the deep reserve in Apia for more spectacular coral). It was still a great experience and especially good to have in a safe shore location.

overall a great location, friendly staff and guests,a great base to explore the more remote areas and a true Samoan feeling...plus they gave us a gift on leaving :)

Room Tip: Enclosed fales or those on the mountain with a fan at night can be a blessing on a really hot day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_S_Houghton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lalomanu is such a beautiful location, and Taufua Beach fales is where you should stay if you want to experience the real Samoa.
We stayed in an enclosed fale and were glad we booked one rather than an open fale to allow for some privacy and a private balcony...and because it rained for alot of the time we were there (May). That said, we still swam 4-5 times a day rain or shine and started each day with a dip before breakfast in the beautiful, clear, warm water.
The accomodation is basic and unless you rent one of the 2 ensuite fale you will need to use the bathroom block across the road. It's very good value for money with dinner and breakfast included. Prepaid meals are shared and you will sit with the other guess for meals, which is great if your a social person and enjoy meeting people from all over. I really liked the food but I know that if your preference in food is salad and vegetables you might not.
Lalomanu is not near anything! So make sure you have everything you need and transport if you intend to do day trips or you will need to arrange a taxi to go anywhere.
I really enjoyed living at the beach but Taufua has a reasonably vibrant night life so sometimes sleeping in the evening is not always possible but...you can always nap during the day because at Tuafua lifes a beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cest m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Taufua Beach Fales is the best place in Upolu, the beach in front is excellent, the fales are very confort and very clean, every wednesday and saturday there is a party after dinner, the meals are very good, the buffet is delicious, the attencion in general is good, if you want spend fanny and relax days go to Lalomanu.
The toilets need a renovation, sometimes they were a little dirty, and only is 4 showers, 4 toilets, and 1 sink, isn´t enought for all people, the internet is very expensive, is 50 SAT per hour, or 200 SAT per week, and the breakfast could include more fruit, is very dry if you like the fruits and natural juices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Paz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful beach - this is it. If you are looking for good value for money - this is it. if you are looking for a place where the staff make you feel right at home - again this is it. I have just returned home from Lalomanu and already I am planning my next trip! Loved it so much.
Taufua is not a resort, its a small family run operation with a family like atmosphere. If you want something upmarket and flash then this is not going to be for you. It's very basic here - which for me was precisely why I chose it. My week here consisted of listening to music in the dining fale, hanging out with lots of awesome people I met, drinking coconut juice, reading books, swimming, eating and thinking about the next delicious meal, joking around with the staff, getting massages, sleeping and lying around on the beach. Perfect.
I am a light sleeper so the only thing I found mildly bothersome was the dogs howling and barking at night, but it really didn't detract from the overall experience.
:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeksskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalomanu
0.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
31.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taufua Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taufua Beach Fales

Property: Taufua Beach Fales
Address: Main South Coast Road | Aleipata, Lalomanu, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Lalomanu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lalomanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taufua Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist service provider of accommodation, bar & restaurant. Tours on or off the island are arranged on the premises. About 1 and 1/2 hour by vehicle from the International Airport. We operate in 2 locations: 1) On the beach of Lalomanu; and 2) on the cliffs of Lalomanu overlooking the beach and the Pacific Ocean along with Islands off the beach of Lalomanu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taufua Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taufua Beach Fales Hotel Lalomanu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing