We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst experience in USA”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel in the Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel in the Pines
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munds Park
Des Plaines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worst experience in USA”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

I'm going to Arizona again and wanted to check if that place still exist. It's shocking but yes, it does .So I can't resist and I'm writing this review.
I'm a low budget traveler. What I need for a night is a clean bed, a clean towel and a shower.
That place was a nightmare, filthy towels, dirty bathroom, a mold in the microwave ,spoiled , leaking food in the fridge, unchanged beds . Place was full of drunk Latino workers.
We showered in shoes and used our clothes to dry our bodys, we slept on piles of our dirty clothes, spread on beds.
First thing in the morning was a laundromat in Flagstaff. I was afraid I was going to bring bugs or germs home.
Stay away from that place. Spend little more money. You don't need a romantic view, what you need is a decent place to sleep.
Danuta

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danusiaDesPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    16
    8
    28
See reviews for
29
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

There was an advertised "Hunter's Special" for a seven night stay, which is the length of the Elk Season for a total price of $375.00 plus tax of course. When we arrived the manager told us that since it was the Thanksgiving Holiday the price had been increased to $600.00 There was very little we could do as we had not made alternate plans. This will be the last time we fall for that one. Then the power went off, no heat, no hot water, no TV, which was bad anyway as the cable is limited, and the only excuse from the manager, "I'm booked solid". Luckily the power came back at around midnight, at least one other hunting party had moved to Flagstaff.

  • Liked — It was quiet at night
  • Disliked — Old, limited businesses, price gouging.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Elkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munds Park hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

This was the worst experience we have ever had at a hotel. The pictures on the travel site do not show how dirty and old this hotel really is. Believe me, I was not expecting anything close to luxury---just a comfortable, clean room for one night. It wasn't even close.

The 10-year-old son was the only one to there at check-in time and could not find the key to the room they had us booked into. So he takes us to the room and opens it with his master key. The room had not been cleaned, the floor was filthy. Also, it was not the room described when we booked. We booked a "deluxe" room with a patio/balcony overlooking the forest. I told him so and he called his father and moved us to another room.

This room's floor was cleaner, but it was still very unkempt. The walls were scuffed and stained. The light fixtures were crooked on the walls, there were cobwebs & dust in the corners and we could feel the coils through the thin mattresses. The patio furniture listed on Expedia.com consisted of a small stained round table and two ripped/stained vinyl diner-style chairs.

I had been to the Munds Park community a long time ago and knew the area was beautiful (and still is). However, this motel is an absolute disgrace.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank harobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

My husband and I were very pleased with the accommodations of our room. We travel often and know value when we see it. The bed was comfortable and we really enjoyed the cozy fireplace. Our porch faced the open forest, giving us privacy. It was our anniversary and we are glad we picked the right spot for a romantic get-a-way.

Helpful?
1 Thank LLLArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2006

We have stayed here before. This trip was met with a heater that did not work, Phone that did not work. The owners nine year old son was left in charge the day we arrived. We were moved to another room. The same night the owner returned and came to our room telling us we had not paid. I reserved the two rooms through expedia, yet he was insistent that we had not paid and he had the names for both rooms mixed up. It was not until we showed him the paper from expedia that he was satisfied. Will never stay here again!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank terrylc825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munds Park
4.8 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
10.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#4 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
13.0 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#7 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel in the Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel in the Pines

Property: Motel in the Pines
Address: 80 West Pinewood Road, I-17 North, Exit 322, Munds Park, AZ 86017
Region: United States > Arizona > Munds Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel in the Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel in the Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel In The Pines Hotel Munds Park
Hotel In The Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing