We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded every time to a suite without asking (platinum member)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I work in Nogales, mexico a lot and I always stay here and cross the border every morning. i have been upgraded to a suite every time with even asking. There are not a lot of hotel choices in the area and this is probably one of the best. the rooms are clean, the free breakfast is fine. Free parking.

Tip: Don't wait till the last minute to book. There were times that they were fully book and asked me to try their sister hotel next door, Candlewood suite, which is fine too.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't wait till the last minute to book. There were times that they were fully book and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

It might not be a resort, but it's close to the border (particularly the Mariposa crossing)! It's also relatively new, because I can remember driving through to the border seeing it being built.

The rooms are surprisingly large, and each has a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The toiletries are blah, but who uses the hotel-provided toiletries anyway? The showers have those heats that are high pressure but low flow - the kind that shoot out the water in tiny little jets that will take your skin off. The elevators are slow, but there are only 3 floors, so I just took the stairs most of the time.

All in all, an average hotel. The staff helped me out a great deal. This may be TMI, but when I was nursing and needed to ship reinforcements back to my husband, the staff put the milk in their freezer (the room fridges weren't cold enough). And then they contacted FedEx to have them come pick it up closer to the end of the day, since the last drop off is at 4:30, and I wouldn't yet be back from Mexico by then. Thank you, staff, for helping me out and keeping the baby fed!

The fitness center isn't much... the treadmill is quite shaky once you take it over 5mph. I'm not short, but still the ceiling seemed way to close when I was running along.

The breakfast, particularly in regards to the healthful options, is meh. I rely on the bananas and the peanut butter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gte375n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear gte375n,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am happy that you found our staff to be helpful during your visit. I apologize however if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the condition of the amenities in the bathroom and elevators being slow. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thanks for the candid review and we hope to get an opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Coming into Nogales one wonders what the hotels will be like. This hotel has great rooms (large) and they have great service. The wifi worked well. The receptionist really went out of her way to help with giving advice on local restaurants. The lobby was clean and the breakfast was equal to any other business hotel

Room Tip: Get higher floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

For a Holiday Inn Express, this place had a little bit of everything. The people were real friendly and the location was great.

The good -
Location, across the street from a large shopping center
Gym - small but you can get a workout in and that is important
Pool - a good spot to drink beers, it was a little to cold at the time
Breakfast - a little something for everyone, it got a little old after 5 days
Internet - slow but the price is right - free
Rooms - comfortable, clean

The bad -
Sewer smell in the room and in the building
Windows don't open

Its a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariana M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear teerav,

Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing as this helps us become a better hotel for you. We hope to see you on your next trip to Nogales.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Holiday Inn Express-Nogales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed one night at this location when passing through. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. Would go back. I did notice the scented pillow cases and sheets, but they didn't bother me. if you have an allergy problem or adverse reactions to scented stuff, then you might want to try the hotel across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizL31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariana M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear LizL31310,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We changed our detergent so the scented pillow cases and sheets should not be an issue in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Everything was great except for the heavily scented pillow cases that just about did me in. When I mentioned it to the front desk as a hazard for people such as myself they said that they had not had this complaint before so perhaps it was just a load of laundry that had been highly perfumed to the point of being a health hazard. . .an unfortunate detail in an otherwise fine establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariana M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Guest,

I just want to apologize for the unfortunate issue during your last stay. We do not use cleaning chemicals that have leave strong scent on our linens for the safety of our guests. We are now making sure that this problem does not arise again. Thank you for your feedback as we always have room for improvement and you help us be better.

Thank you,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were heading from Tubac and the AZ wine country to Tombstone and this was a convenient stopover. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Nicely furnished. Appears relatively new. We had a king room by the pool and we heard music all night. Apparently, they have no way to turn off the outdoor music which we found out was throughout the exterior, not just at the pool. So, bring earplugs! The "firm" pillows were not, but I brought my own, so it didn't matter. The front desk clerk sent us to Mr. C's Supper Club for Mexican food. We looked at the menu (high priced, pretentious white tablecloths) and left. If we had to, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dle0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Nogales
Fiesta Inn Nogales
#1 of 7 in Nogales
192 reviews
7.3 mi away
City Express Nogales
City Express Nogales
#2 of 7 in Nogales
215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nogales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nogales

Address: 850 W Shell Dr, I-19 and Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621-1150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
Price Range: £74 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nogales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona is designed for business and built for pleasure. We are conveniently located one hour south of the Tucson International Airport and just minutes away from the Mexico Border. Our close proximity to Mexico is great for both business and leisure travelers as it allows our guests access to 109 American companies such as Motorola, Fortune Brands, Kimberly Clark, Xerox, etc. as well as a wide variety of shopping, dining and tour options in Nogales, Sonora Mexico. The City of Nogales and its neighboring towns such as Tubac, Patagonia, Sonoita and Elgin are rich in history, culture and wildlife. With its majestic mountains and untouched desert landscapes its no wonder the area is home to one of the largest varieties of birds and as such, is internationally renowned among bird watching communities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales offers oversized rooms with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed wireless internet, not to mention an unforgettable experience filled with such activities as wine tasting at local vineyards, golfing, shopping, bird watching and unique cultural and historical ventures. Whether visiting the area on business or pleasure we are your ideal hospitality provider. We look forward to hosting you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nogales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nogales Hotel Nogales
Holiday Inn Nogales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing